We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melaluka Budget Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Melaluka Budget Accommodation to your Saves list
Melaluka Budget Accommodation
7 Selene Street | Sunshine Beach, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We were in an appartement and there were bugs everywhere...in the kitchen ants where all over the sink... Very not cool at all. Also the appartement smell really bad!!! What's nice it's that the beach is beautiful and near but there is nothing else near you need to have a car...we stayed 2 nights and it's was enough!!!!!!! Never want to come back there and there is better hostel in Noosa for the same price!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Noosaville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Easily my favourite place to stay in Noosa,

VALUE- fully self contained and serviced apartment, if travelling alone or as a couple you can get your own room, sharing the entire spacious apartment with only a few others. Families or groups can book the lot and have a great holiday right on the beach.. for cheap! wow ive spent almost 5 years in noosa and you honestly can not beat the value for money and hospitality of brothers Bruce and Peter at Melaluka Apartments.

LOCATION- 100m to the beautiful sunrise beach, council lifeguard patrolled, short walk to noosa heads national park, public buses every half hour, local cafe and general store
SLEEP QUALITY- Comfortable beds in a quite suburban area
ROOMS- Bedrooms have bedside tables, most with lamps and mirrors and large curtained windows. Furnished living areas with TV, couches, dining table, well equipped kitchen and laundry
CLEANLINESS- Very well maintained and reguarlary cleaned throughout

SERVICE- Excellent

SECURITY- If you lock yourself out you cannot get back in!! haha i have tried, and peter was very helpful in that instance as always.
Overall the managers do an excellent job and are always friendly for a chat or to share their combined knowledge of the local area.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This place is close to a very gorgeous beach but that is the only highlight of our stay. The rooms was very outdated but the bathroom was clean. The place doesn't have much of an atmosphere either. We wanted to get away from the party places for a while but this was a bit too far out - The only shop nearby closed at 3pm so for food and drinks we had to go into sunshine beach which was a 15 minute walk- most of that being along a highway. Also, there is no reception area so if you need assistance you have to find one of the brothers and that means going to their house which made us feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Manager at Melaluka Budget Accommodation, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Actually, our rooms are not outdated, all furniture is modern and the tiles etc of the apartment are RETRO, and RETRO is IN.
As for atmosphere, we provide private rooms at $25 each, 100 meters from the best beach in the world in very spacious and fully self contained apartments with up to only 5 people in an apartment, no dorms, so very quiet. If you want atmoshere further than what this provides, then that falls on your character.
Our local shop does close at 4pm, but if you walked up the beach to the shops, like I showed you on the map I gave you at checkin, it would have only taken a beautiful10 minutes, and a 10 minute walk, I have found in my past trips, is nothing when you are travelling around the world. Also, as to being "too far out.." it's easy to see how far we are from town because I have written it in our listings, and everyone knows how to use google maps? We are 100 meters from the beach, I reckon you can't beat that.
We DO have reception, our office is in my apartment 2 doors up from yours, I'm sorry that you found this uncomfortable, but I have found most people don't, such as climbing over my gate at 10pm to knock on my door? Also we service the apartments daily, so mostly see everyone when doing this to answer any questions:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystradgynlais, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked to stay here for 3 nights and when we arrived we were showed to a basic room - which was fine! But then we realized the window had broken and the room was very cold because of this.

We then got upgraded (which we thought was great!) because the previous occupant STILL had a room key and might come back during the night!!!

W got moved to a very nice room and were very happy. Then Bruce the landlord started accusing us of not washing out dishes and the importance of being clean (they had only been there half and hour!).

He also kept walking in and out of the room at his own leisure without even knocking. I know we got upgraded but we still paid for a room and therefore expect privacy! Made us very uncomfortable!

There was a spare room in the apartment - which no one occupied and we did not enter. Bruce accused us several times of going into this room and claimed he could see us going in! This ruined our trip! We were two young girls and this made us feel very unsafe.

Would NOT recoMmend this place. Awful. Ruined our Noosa trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Manager at Melaluka Budget Accommodation, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We did upgrade the girls to a 4 star ensuite apartment with ocean views for their $25 each. They paid for 1 bedroom and bathroom, and the 2nd was available for our next arrivals. I did go into "their" apartment a couple of times to take care ofthings needed for the other bathroom and bedroom, & to check if their bin needed emptying etc. I didn't go into their room at all. When I went in the their shared apartment they had their dirtry dishes left in the kitchen and lounge room & the 2nd bathroom had been used and the light was on the 2nd bedroom, so had obviously been used. This would be fine if they had booked the whole apartment, but had only booked the bedroom with the shared apartment facilities. So they call me rude because they didn't have the courtesy to clean up after themselves in a shared accomodation, and had the audacity to use the facilities not payed for and resulting in extra cleaning for the next guests. I was never rude to the girls, their review here is just a childs tantrum. Their last line of the review is a direct reflexion apon themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Melaluka Appartments is a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious and the kitchen is well equipped. Bruce and Peter are two really nice guys. Helpfull and funny :) . Everything is clean. The place is a bit away from the city center but directly at a nice beach, away from the crowds. I totally recommend the place and would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

i had a room to myself for $25 & shared the apartment with 2 other people. I found the apartment to be nice and quiet. there was plenty of space and close to the most beautiful beach i have ever seen,
Thank you Bruce & Peter for all your help & a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed at Melauka Units and had a great relaxing holiday. It's right on the beach and very spacious, not to mention cheap. The manager brothers Bruce and Peter were very helpful and funny guys. I think the place smells of flowers:)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melaluka Budget Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melaluka Budget Accommodation

Address: 7 Selene Street | Sunshine Beach, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Melaluka Budget Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melaluka Budget Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.