We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“party hostel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Noosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Noosa to your Saves list
Nomads Noosa
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   44 Noosa Drive, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“party hostel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

as any nomads hostel, i was not disappointed. the bbq area is lovely, heaps of people to meet and a nice pool. i cant rate the rooms because i slept in my campervan inside the hostel (paid 8 bucks which is a great deal!!). the kitchen was a mess, dirty dishes everywhere and about 50 degrees. apart from the kitchen it is a great place to hang out and meet various ppl. by far the best thing at the nomads noosa is KB's! :D
great party tunes and cheap beers are a perfect match. had a few of the sickest night there. amazing.
overall score 4/5

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer M, Manager at Nomads Noosa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to place feedback, stoked you had an awesome stay with us! We have addressed the kitchen situation as it was getting extremely messy and now have cleaners rostered throughout the day to ensure this is kept clean at all times.

Thanks again for your feedback and all the best for your future travels.

Cheers
Nomads Noosa Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    78
    42
    39
    51
See reviews for
Families
0
40
58
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here for two nights back in January, for the Fraser tour. I'm glad I didn't have to spend more time here. Reception staff were unhelpful, the room was unbelievably basic for a nomads hostel. Security non-existent. Luckily there were only four of us in our room and it was a 8 bed dorm but had it have been full there would have been nowhere to put your bags etc.

The pool was dirty, the beach was a good 15 minute walk away, and all uphill on the way back. The only good thing about this hostel was a free drink at the bar (and I don't know how I got this!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer M, Manager at Nomads Noosa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Donny

Thanks for your feedback on your stay with us back in January, sadly at this time we did have a staff member who wasn't particularly friendly and was removed from the business not long later! We have since worked on increasing our standard of cleanliness and are ensuring daily room checks are performed by management.

We are a ten minute walk from the beach, slightly uphill however we do have a shuttle bus which rotates frequently from the Junction as well as the National Park/beach for those who don't feel like getting their heart rate up a little :)

I am sorry to hear of your experience during your stay here and can assure you the property is much improved since January, thanks for placing your feedback and all the best for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay here whilst in Noosa, but used kb bar as a drinking place. Really fun atmosphere, loads of young people so can be a bit of a party, but lots of nights just the pub quizzes and cheap drinks. Awesome place to meet people

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer M, Manager at Nomads Noosa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, stoked you had a great time in our bar! All the best for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very accommodating staff! Lovely shared 8 bed dorm with 2 showers and a toilet in the room- just what we needed. Thought the drinks deals in the evening were really good, as well as the free pizza! We had the best social night we had had in a hostel and made some friends for life!
Very clean and overall a really good stay!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I am 50/50 on Nomads Noosa....it has the feel of a holiday camp for teenagers. when I was there I felt extremely old as a mid 20's compared to everybody else on their gap years i felt slightly out of place. Having said that the party atmosphere was fun and we met some lovely people and hostel offered us free food and a drink on arrival. However as alot of hostels in Oz there was a strict alcohol ban in hostel dorm and security checked rooms too. The staff were ok and did help us trying to contact our whitsundays company, however some members were rude on reception.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer M, Manager at Nomads Noosa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us, glad you had a good stay with us even though the crowd in house at the time was a bit younger. Stoked you had a great time though and hope to see you again in the future!

Cheers
Nomads Crew :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Me and my friend were travelling about the East Coast of Australia. Admittedly our own fault, we didn't book accommodation, thinking we could just turn up to Noosa. Surprising every single place was fully booked. After spending the night in a lifeguard hut, we turned up at Nomads thinking things could only get better. To our surprise check-in starts at 1.00. So we slept outside Nomads from 10, and when it got to 1.00, they said they couldn't check us in till 2:00, got to two, and another half an hour went by till we finally checked in at 2:30. Rooms were okay, nice en suite, best thing by far about the place was the free sausage fest (bbq)- however that's not every night.
Overall its an okay place to go I suppose... if nowhere else is vacant.
Cheers,
Thad out

Room Tip: Do not turn up before 2! You shall not pass.... check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer M, Manager at Nomads Noosa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Thad

Thanks for your feedback and apologies you found the staff to be incompetent, to be fair in peak season we cannot guarantee check in prior to 2pm although we always try our best to check guests in as soon as the rooms are available. In peak season often there are a lot of beds to make up and as check out is 10am the turnaround can take a few hours although we do our best to make them up as quick as possible.

Hopefully the nap in the sun was refreshing and you enjoyed Noosa all the same. All the best for your future travels and thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Pro's: Free BBQ on Paddy's day & pizza the next day. Discounted drinks at the bar, good atmosphere some nights. Nearish to shops & a couple of pubs. Easy links to Australia Zoo (go there!) & pretty National Park 20 minutes walk away.

Cons: Disgusting kitchen - do not cook here! 15 minutes walk to the beach over a massive hill. Squatter in our room one day - poor security as cleaners left the door open. Dense & unhelpful receptionists (no suggestions when we had no hot water & our friend needed a light fixing) & some sleazy members of staff. Very party orientated (wet t-shirt competitions etc.), hence the title.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer M, Manager at Nomads Noosa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi there

Thanks for taking the time to place feedback and thanks for pointing out both the good and bad parts of the property. We have recently built a new team at Nomads Noosa and are working hard to lift the cleanliness of the property as well as making it a more fun place to stay - the kitchen has been deep cleaned and we have constant cleaners on to make sure it stays this way! We are upgrading all bookings to eight share dorms with ensuites and now provide new linen for all guests.

Thanks again for your feedback and I can assure you we are working on these issues to make Nomads Noosa a nicer place to stay! All the best for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Noosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Noosa

Address: 44 Noosa Drive, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Noosa 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Nomads Noosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Noosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.