We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, dingy, noisy and cramped - very average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Noosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Noosa to your Saves list
The Sebel Noosa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Hastings Street, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Noosa
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Overrated, dingy, noisy and cramped - very average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

My wife and I stayed here for a week recently. Overall we were very disappointed with the Sebel. Far from being the luxury resort described it is in fact nothing more than a crowded series of apartment blocks with no views, no decent pool and little privacy.

The compound (I call it a compound as it is guarded by prison-style gates) is located on Hastings St... the wrong side of Hastings St with neither a view of the sea or the lagoon/river behind. The pool is laughably small with just (consider there are 80 1 or 2 bed apartments in the Sebel) 10 sun loungers. But you wouldn't want to use them anyway as the adjacent apartment blocks are so close to the pool and crowded with palm trees that the area spends 23 hrs a day in darkness. You couldn't use them at all unless you got up at 4am to place towels on them. The spa pool nearby was crowded with the same family throughout our entire stay.

Our 1 bed apartment was a good size, clean with all the standard stuff you'd expect. The bathroom was bizarre with three (yes, 3) awkward and pointless sliding doors. The spa bath and shower were nice though.

We had a balcony, but it was pointless to use, in shade for the whole of the day its view gazed into the kitchen of the apartment opposite, about 10 meters away.

You may feel I am being harsh. I am not. Although the staff were good, the complex modern, well-maintained and clean, the Sebel sold itself to us a luxury, top class resort. It isn't, therefore I feel its shortcomings should be described.

There are far better apartments nearby on Hasting St. Personally (unless being 5 minutes walk from the beach is vital to you) I would choose a river fronted location in nearby Noosaville instead for considerably less money.

  • Liked — The carpark
  • Disliked — The view
  • Tips/Secrets — Look elsewhere for a luxury resort
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    204
    62
    27
    5
See reviews for
113
234
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

All I can say is do not stay in apartment 517. A strange damp/sewerage smell pervades through the entire apartment. The curtains in the main bedroom may have been the source of some of the smell but the sewerage smell could not be traced to anything in particular. 2
The apartment was on the ground floor overlooking the pool and received very little natural light. Anyone using the pool had a great view into the apartment so the curtains had to be kept closed most of the time for privacy. We did ask for an alternative apartment at the outset but were shown a one bedroom apartment as an alternative (where would our daughter have slept I wonder?) It is also worth bearing in mind that the kitchens are really just kitchenettes (not that anyone would want to cook a meal given all the lovely restaurants on the doorstep but....).
We booked directly with the resort and payed the price. At A$610 a night this resort was not value for money.
The only good thing was the resort was in a fantastic location.
Look out for the sunlounger hoggers who put their towels (and books, sunscreen etc) onto the limited sunloungers that actually are in the sun and disappear for the day.
I appreciate that my review completely conflicts with all of the others on this website but I am just being truthful about my experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The smell
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't book a ground floor apartment
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

The Sebel Resort Hotel could not be better positioned on Hastings Street in the heart of this delightful, if a little chi chi, seaside town. The apartments are fantastic, everything you could possibly need (and more); swimming pool at the heart of the complex has 'Tuscan urns pouring water in from all sides and surrounded by palm trees. This could be very tacky but it isn't. No restaurant but with a branch of the delightful Aromas cafe/brasserie outside the door (you can put meals on your Sebel bill) and a wonderful selection of eating places all down the street, why would you want to eat-in.
When we were there the early September the jazz festival was on, so Noosa was heaving, but full of wonderful music - the apartment, however, was completely quiet.
Couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Liked — Very spacious - more like an apartment than a room: Lush, tropical surroundings
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room overlooking the pool. We didn't know to ask for this, but even rooms without a view are gd.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2006

The Sebel Noosa is a small apartment type of resort.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable. There is a beautiful lounge and a kitchen which has every possible utensil you could want along with a very well stocked fridge. The bathroom was super, a lovely bath and separate shower, the sink was set in black granite and the whole apartment had a sort of really smart Japanese tone to the furnishings.
The sebel is right in the middle of Hastings Street (next to the Sheraton Hotel) which is the most popular street in Noosa with chic little cafes and shops. Across the road there are also waterfront restaurants where you can watch the sunset over your cocktail before dinner - heavenly !
The pool was clean and had sun loungers around it. However, my husband and I ventured down to the sea where we had a super time with the waves and then sunbathed for a while on the beautiful white sand.
There is a great little cafe next toTthe Sebel that opens at 6am and you can sit and have any type of breakfast you want 'al fresco of course' while you just take in the Sunshine Coast, read the paper or just relax. Everything is relaxing in Noosa, the most stress I had was deciding which bikini to buy from all the lovely shops in the street.
We had been in Australia, for the second year running, for three and a half weeks and made this a stop before we caught our plane the next day. We would love to go back to Noosa and would definately stay at The Sebel again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Sebel for a couple of nights last week.

We were extremely impressed by the self contained units. They are very modern, have premier furnishings and we can't wait to get back and stay there. The pool is just geat and is like an oasis amoungst the units and the Spa pool is just perfect.

It's right on Hastings street, so we were so happy we cancelled our previously booked room at Sheraton Noosa and went to the Sebel instead.
We saved approx $300/night by doing so.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the units have everything you need for a stay in Noosa.

In fact I'm going to call now and book for some more nights closer to summer !

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2005

The Sebel Resort Noosa is a great alternative to a hotel for a sophisticated beach vacation. This small resort offers condominium type units that offer all you can need for a vacation stay- small galley kitchen, washing machine and comfortable living/dining area in additon to bedroom and deluxe bath. No views, but the beach is right across the street. Great places to eat in town. Noosa National Park is within walking distance. You may even spot a koala on your hike through!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2005

We had a wonderful stay at the Sebel a couple of years back. The apartment was fabulous and the the service excellent. The gardens, pool and spa are superb. It's so handy for enjoying 'life on Hastings Street' - you're right in the heart of things, yet the Sebel itself is an oasis of tranquility. We can't wait to visit again next time we're downunder

  • Stayed October 2002
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Noosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Noosa

Address: 32 Hastings Street, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Noosa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Noosa
#12 Luxury Hotel in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Noosa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sebel Noosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Resort Noosa Hotel Noosa
The Sebel Hotel Noosa
Sebel Noosa
Sebel Hotel Noosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Noosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.