We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Noosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Noosa to your Saves list
The Sebel Noosa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Hastings Street, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Noosa
Nashville, Tn
Level Contributor
193 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

While the Sebel is described as being on Hastings Street it is actually located behind the shops and restaurants on Hastings Street with pedestrian access between two shopping areas (we figured this out as we drove up and down Hastings Street looking for the property--you actually enter the garage from the rear). Our unit was a one bedroom apartment with a kitchen and a washing machine--perfect for a family beach vacation. There were a couple of odd features--the safe in the bedroom closet was installed too close to the closet door so you could only open the door to the safe two or three inches. The wi-f only worked in the hotel office (and then not all the time). The proximity to Hastings Street is the biggest plus. Once you park your car in the garage you don't need to drive anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelNoosaGM, General Manager at The Sebel Noosa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you Nashville1,

I appreciate the feedback, and we will look into the safe in the room. We only had the new ones installed not long ago, and one must have been placed a little too much forward. Thank you for bringing to our attention.

We are set a few meters off Hastings St, while it such a short distance it is a blessing in disguise as it really makes any noise from a random late night pedestrian that may be there not be an issue for our guests.

I will also take a look at the wireless router in the lobby. With anything technical they sometimes have a mind of its own. But we need it to be consistent 24 hours a day. We will most definitely look into it.

Thanks again,
Cameron (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    215
    64
    27
    5
See reviews for
120
249
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Ive stayed about 5 - 6 times here on an annual winter break from sydney and its always pleasant.. This time a bit disappointed as we were given a room right at the back with no outlook and no sunshine reached our room at all so it was cold... the place was empty so we thought it was poor on their behalf not to give us a better located room... as I had requested with our booking

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelNoosaGM, General Manager at The Sebel Noosa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Good day Gabrielle,

Thank you for your response. We do appreciate that you make Noosa your destination for your Winter escapes...it really is perfect here most of the time in Winter.

Apologies that you did not like your room. Even when we are quiet we like to spead our guests around the resort so it doesn't feel like we place guests all together. I always tell our guests to never be afraid to ask to change rooms if you don't like the room that is allocated. Our only aim is to ensure our guests are happy with every aspect of their stay...it doesn't help yourself or us if you don't like your room. The obvious exception is when we are 100% occupancy and no opportunity to move to a different room, but that is not normally an issue in Winter.

But we would love to see you back here next Winter, or sooner if time permits.

Regards,
Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A hard one for me to describe - some mixed feelings on the resort. For starters it has a great location on Hastings Street and walking distance to restaurants, bars and shops. However, the Sebel doesn't seem to be a believer in having a prominent sign on the street (unlike the neighbouring Sheraton) which meant I had to waste time on foot trying to locate it (ditto the carpark at back) which was a bit annoying after a 3 hour drive. The room itself was quite nice and the bed and bathroom quite spacious. But little touches like slippers (the lounge/kitchen is completely tiled) and more than one bar of soap in the bathroom would have been nice. I signed up for the room + breakfast combo, which actually meant that I could choose one thing at a neighbouring cafe - If I had got my room separately I could have done the same thing, but cheaper. There was also no gym which was disappointing. All in all, probably not terrific value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelNoosaGM, General Manager at The Sebel Noosa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you Ash,

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay to the level that we aim for.

We did have a sign out in Hastings St, however it was destroyed recently in an accident and we are currently in the process of getting it replaced. It should be up fairly shortly, just going through some design challenges and council regulations.

It is interesting to read about the soap as this is the second time it has been raised in as many weeks. There is a 2nd bar in the vanity drawer, however I have just now contacted our Housekeeping Manager and from this afternoon we will have the 2nd bar relocated to the shower shelf. Makes a lot more sense...thank you for raising.

Also with the gym, I hate to say it, but you missed it by 'that much'. The resort has never had a gym, but only last Friday we have completed the build and have opened the brand new gymnasium to our guests. While a little too late for you on this visit, again it is after comments like yours and a number of guests over the years that made it easy for me to get the funding to build this guest facility. So again thank you...it goes to show that guest feedback is always vital for us to grow our product.

I will also meet with the restaurant operators about your breakfast concerns.

Again thank you for your valauble feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Regards,
Cameron (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we only were there for a one night stay. The rooms are very clean, spacious and have everything th need. The bathrooms were gorgeous. Didn't have time to use the spa, but will certainly make use of it next time. No room service, but as we discovered the next day. Aromas delivers to the rooms. We will definitely be back. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelNoosaGM, General Manager at The Sebel Noosa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you Homer_888,

I appreciate your feedback...but you have to ensure you stay for longer than one night next time!

I have printed your comment o place on the staff noticeboard, as they will appreciate you noting they were frinedly and helpful I am very proud of the team here.

Aromas does a great service for the hotel by delivering their same menu to the guest rooms. A very rare feature for a restaurant to deliver their identical menu...and the best thing is that they do not charge a tray charge for their service. Make sure when you come back, put your feet up, put on a movie and get your dinner delivered to your room...it's what holiday's are for!

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our Apartment (612) had no wireless connection. The TV remote control worked only intermittently. When started, the image was fuzzy and colours weird. The aircon/heating did not work. It was cold and wet. No blanket in the apartment. There was one single soap. At midnight Sunday (when this is being written) there is only one employee at the hotel. He identified himself as the "Night Auditor". He has no idea about hospitality-except perhaps to count money for Accor. He is rude, incompetent and arrogant. When staff were hospitable things were bearable. It is unacceptable for Accor to leave this 4+star property exclusively in the hands of someone who sees clients as nothing more than numbers on the hotel's bottom line.

Room Tip: Avoid This Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelNoosaGM, General Manager at The Sebel Noosa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you RightisMight,

It was a pleasure to personally discuss these items with you, and once again I do apologise that you did not have an experience that our guests normally rave about.

As mentioned my initial primary concern was your experience with our Night Manager. Your experience is most unusual as he is normally one of our star performers, and has been praised by many guests over the years. In saying that though I will not let your concerns go without discussion with him.

We always say though that nobody works alone here. We have a security company engaged who patrol Hastings St who not only spot check the resort every 2.5 hours, but they are always within 50 metres of the resort, and can be here very swiftly if our overnight staff ever need assistance.

In regards to your concerns, I have had the Maintenance team take a look at the Airconditioner along with the television. As mentioned in another Trip Advisor response, I have already instructed our Housekeeping Manager to move the spare soap from the vanity drawer into the shower. We are also looking at moving the spare blanket from the wardrobe onto the sofa on days when the overnight temperature will be chilly. We definitely do not want our guests having to search for these amenities.

I will also use your feedback to forward a funding submission to have wireless installed in all hotel rooms. Currently we offer complimentary wireless 24 hours a day in our lobby, but you are correct, often our guests wish to relax in their room when needing to do some online work.

Finally, as mentioned your feedback is always welcome. If it was not for feedback like yours, we would not know where we can improve, so I thank you again for your response.

Regards,
Cameron (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night in a one bedroom apartment on a short break away and enjoyed the location and amenities.

The location is right on Hastings Street so is convenient to restaurants, shops and the beach so leave your car in the undercover car park and explore.

The apartment was spacious and well equipped and would be ideal for an extended holiday.

The staff were very friendly and check in and out was effortless.

We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelNoosaGM, General Manager at The Sebel Noosa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you Morobe,

It is always a pleasure to read feedback such as yours.

You have highlighted a number of our key resort features which I appreciate. We do get a lot of Brisbane guests who stay with us on short drive holidays...and a lot of them also recognise the complimentary undercover secure carparking we offer as a big bonus.

Next time you are ready for a drive back up the Bruce Highway, we look forward to again looking after your Noosa escape.

Regards,
Cameron (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wandandian
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had the best hotel experience you could hope for. The staff were so friendly and the location was amazing. The rooms were gorgeous and the bathrooms the cleanest I have ever seen in all my hotel stays ever. The bed was so comfy I never wanted to get out of it and the fact that I was reminded that we were on holidays and not to do any washing up or anything was the best. Every other apartment we stayed in you have to make sure you kitchen is clean and that you have done the washing up or the charge you extra.
We are already planning when we can come back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelNoosaGM, General Manager at The Sebel Noosa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you LennieWandandian,

You have certainly made my day reading your feedback...again thank you.

I read out your comment to our Housekeeping team this morning and you now have about 12 new fans! In fact now a few hours later they have that little spring in their step which is just awesome to see. So again thank you.

They do love to tell guests "You're on holidays...leave it to us".

You are more than welcome back at anytime, and look forward to checking you in again.

Regards,
Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.4 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#8 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Noosa Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Netanya Noosa Resort
Netanya Noosa Resort
#5 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sails Lifestyle Resort
Sails Lifestyle Resort
#1 of 9 in Peregian Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Noosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Noosa

Address: 32 Hastings Street, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Noosa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Noosa
#8 Luxury Hotel in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Noosa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sebel Noosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Resort Noosa Hotel Noosa
The Sebel Hotel Noosa
Sebel Noosa
Sebel Hotel Noosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Noosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.