We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful staff tasty food and cocktails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaston

Gaston
5/50 Hastings Street, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
07 5447 4566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 229 Restaurants in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $26
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The new cool in Noosa dining is at Gaston Bar Bistro. A stylish and edgy fit out, the restaurant boats an incredible selection of food and wine. The service is relaxed and friendly. Snacking is something Gaston excels in. If you are just dropping in for a glass of Ribeauville pinot blanc or a Peroni - hit the Chinese chicken or the pizzetta or maybe a little iron pot of sizzling garlic prawns to share.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“wonderful staff tasty food and cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

having just arrived in noosa, we were starving.. parked right in front and thought we would give it a go.. I had the flat head fillets battered and fries, hubby had steak sandwich and fries, the food was served quickly and very tasty.. the staff couldn't have been more helpful without being all over us. Attentive enough to see if we wanted another drink or something else to eat.. close to the beach they do a great lunch deal as well.. if you are around, add this to your list.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
You were lucky to get parking :)
Glad you had a great meal - hope to see you next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    151
    28
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, victoria
1 review
“Dined consecutive nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Dined at Gaston two out of our three nights in Noosa. The first night we had a reservation for 12 for a friends birthday. Restaurant was busy, yet staff were attentive, friendly (and knew their menu), some had entrees yet all mains ready at the same time. Sat in the back section close to the bar. Eye fillet and the Barramundi delicious.
After walking both sides of Hastings St at 9pm to find a place for dinner (some restaurants stopped doing meals prior to their advertised meal times) we ended up at Gaston again and were not disappointed. My manfriend had the eye fillet, after food envy the night before and I had an entree sized prawn and preserved lemon spaghettini followed by caramel slice. We will certainly be raving about this place when asked about our time in Noosa. We'll done Gaston

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks Nicole - We sometimes suffer from food envy too ;) so not a bad thing to come back twice to enjoy the eye fillet. Catch you next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun place for lunch, just don't order the Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The food was fresh, the lunch menu specials are an absolute bargain. I has the Bang Bang chicken salad that had a glass of wine included for $17. It was huge and even though it was part of a cheap lunch special, they certainly had not cut the corners on the quality and fresh exploding tastes presented in this dish. However, it fell apart when My partner chose some tapas dishes for his lunch and one was $13 and came with two tiny seafood dumplings on the plate, I don't even think they were made on premises!!!They unfortunately were less than impressive and the serve size was utterly disappointing. The other tapas dish he chose turned out much the same and I had to share half my enormous salad with him! Stick to the menu items and you will enjoy this busy little place.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thumbs up for the bang bang chicken!!! Thumbs down that you weren't impressed with our Tapas size:( We’ve passed on your feedback to the kitchen team and hope you'll join us again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great start to the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The price and quality of coffee is always a consideration. This place is just off Hastings street and is absolutely fantastic. efficient friendly and great coffee to start the day. Next trip i will eat there

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Coffee IS a great way to start the day, hope you will join us for a bite next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

What a wonderful lite meal we had at Gaston, seeing it was the first time I had been to Noosa in 20 years I was really looking forward to see how much it had changed which it had not really. My wife, Son and I enjoyed a wonderful lite lunch at Gaston. The service was wonderful, staff were really friendly. We certainly will look at visiting again next time we are up that way from Hobart.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Don't leave it another 20 years! See you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaston also viewed

Noosa, Sunshine Coast
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Gaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.