We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaston

Gaston
5/50 Hastings Street, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
07 5447 4566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 249 Restaurants in Noosa
Price range: $3 - $28
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The new cool in Noosa dining is at Gaston Bar Bistro. A stylish and edgy fit out, the restaurant boats an incredible selection of food and wine. The service is relaxed and friendly. Snacking is something Gaston excels in. If you are just dropping in for a glass of Ribeauville pinot blanc or a Peroni - hit the Chinese chicken or the pizzetta or maybe a little iron pot of sizzling garlic prawns to share.
Girona, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We ended up there by chance since our hotel was right next door. We were lucky to get a nice immediate seating on the terrace for four. Fast service and excellent house wine from NZ. Fair price considering the fine location.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for a great review! See you at Gaston soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    123
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value and fine food too...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had dinner here earlier this week, taking advantage of the $50 meal deal - 2 mains and a bottle of wine. The options for this deal are a limited range of the available mains and change nightly. I had the Vietnamese pork salad which was absolutely delicious and full of flavour and my husband had the Mediterranean chicken which was equally good. The wine on offer wasn't too bad either! All in all this was a good deal - and the service was attentive too. The atmosphere was a little more laid back than the usual Noosa Heads style, but that too me was part of its appeal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to submit a great review. We will let the chef know that you loved your meals and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the laid back atmosphere here at Gaston! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Walked in at 6.30 for dinner and when we finished at 8 there was not a spare table in the restaurant so would suggest booking.
Our waitress was pleasant and efficient
I had the twice cooked pork belly and my wife had the crispy skin Barramundi.
Both dishes were super.
Very well prepared and presented.
Prices for Noosa were reasonable and this restaurant on my list for our next visit

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for submitting a great review! We look forward to seeing you when you visit Noosa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not Bad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We only stopped in for a coffe, which was excellent I must say.
After reading the menu, I couldnt resist to try some of the food too!
we had an excellent meal and and will definately return to Gaston next time we are in noosa!
It was reasonably priced and the staff were kind and helpful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Unplanned dining experiences are always the best aren't they! Thanks for taking the time to submit your review, and see you when you are next in Noosa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food -great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having read a few reviews, we decided to eat at Gaston last night. It certainly lived up to the consistenly good reviews here. I had the corn fritters for entree -totally delightful. Very tasty and well presented on a bed of iceburg lettuce (not usually my favourite lettuce, but, perfect in this instance). For a main I had a thai salad, very nice, however getting two slices of chilli in the mouth at one time certainly cleans the sinus out! But, it is a thai salad, so its meant to be hot.

My partner in crime had the cripsy Baramundi curry and sang its praises and the boy had the fish and chips - scoffed the lot. A couple of glasses of wine and some other drinks bought the bill to around $125.00. Not cheapeats, but I didn't expect it to be.

My overall take - very good food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! The chilli in the salad adds a wonderful kick to the dish doesn't it, and we think iceberg lettuce is such an underrated ingredient! See you soon at Gaston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaston also viewed

 
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Gaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.