We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaston

Gaston
5/50 Hastings Street, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
07 5447 4566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 250 Restaurants in Noosa
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The new cool in Noosa dining is at Gaston Bar Bistro. A stylish and edgy fit out, the restaurant boats an incredible selection of food and wine. The service is relaxed and friendly. Snacking is something Gaston excels in. If you are just dropping in for a glass of Ribeauville pinot blanc or a Peroni - hit the Chinese chicken or the pizzetta or maybe a little iron pot of sizzling garlic prawns to share.
South Island, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Gaston was highly recommended by the helpful staff at the Noosa Information Centre in Hastings Street and rightly so. We started with the new 1 + 1 = 8 menu which was a one drink and one taster for $8 from a set menu and then progresses to the main menu. Great service and great food. Book early as it fills quickly. Would definitely go back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    123
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Noosa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived in Noosa, Gaston was shut for a few days following a hectic holiday season. Having seen all of the great reviews we visited on the first day it reopened for dinner and quickly booked for the following night after a wonderful evening. The two meals and a bottle of wine for $50 offers the best value in Noosa and the food was wonderful. I would really recommend the duck curry with Thai spices which was delicious and easily the best food we had during a week in Noosa. The staff are helpful and attentive and the setting is understated and friendly. I can't recommend Gaston enough!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Love to see you again when you are next in Noosa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It's the little things that count”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Firstly, my husband loves the corn fritters there and went back 3 times, so this is my review not his. Staff were excellent; helpful, polite, and efficient. But I ordered a radichio salad for lunch and got a dressing that tasted like it came from a bottle. And the iceberg lettuce that was tossed through really didn't match, plus in wilted on contact with the said dressing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and fresh atmosphere - not always easy to find in Noosa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Love the afternoon nachos and margaritas! Real croissants at breakfast and great muesli, good coffee

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“TOTALLY BLOWN AWAY!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

So we are MAJOR foodies and there's nothing I like better than a new dining experience... And this one certainly did not disappoint!

We unfortunately holidayed in Noosa at the Sheraton during the worst floods so the weather was shocking... We walked along the main strip and decided to stop and have dinner here and so glad we did.

Wait staff had a perfect blend of being attentive but not in your face. Always smiling :)

We had a cute table right near the main road watching the rain.

The wine list was fantastic. Great range of wines and all very reasonably priced!

We shared the tuna sashimi - we wish we had our own as it was probably the best sashimi I've ever had.

We then both had the duck curry... TOTALLY not what you would expect. It was a crispy, seasoned and cooked beautifully duck leg that took up the whole plate and was sitting on top of a small amount of curry that was just so beautiful!

Unfortunately there was nothing on the dessert menu that was hearty! Just panna cotta, parfais etc... The food was so good we wanted to indulge in something heavier - but hey, we were so satisfied... We've pretty much eaten at every restaurant in Noosa - and this is BY FAR the best. The highlight of our holiday :) :) :)

Thanks guys!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for such an awesome review, it means a lot coming from a foodie such as yourself! We've passed on your great feedback to the staff, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaston also viewed

 
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Gaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.