We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delivers as promised.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaston

Gaston
5/50 Hastings Street, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
07 5447 4566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 250 Restaurants in Noosa
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The new cool in Noosa dining is at Gaston Bar Bistro. A stylish and edgy fit out, the restaurant boats an incredible selection of food and wine. The service is relaxed and friendly. Snacking is something Gaston excels in. If you are just dropping in for a glass of Ribeauville pinot blanc or a Peroni - hit the Chinese chicken or the pizzetta or maybe a little iron pot of sizzling garlic prawns to share.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delivers as promised.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

We tried dinner here recently & were struck by how straightforward & pleasant the overall experience was. The staff were efficient, knowledgeable & friendly, and always two moves ahead. It all seemed effortless, but I suspect it's more a matter of the staff being a well-oiled (and well-trained) machine.

My king prawn spaghettini was just the right level of lemony, and I polished it off. My co-conspirator's barramundi special left him raving. He especially loved the honey-roasted pumpkin.

Overall a stress-free and straightforward dining experience.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience. Such great feedback for our team! We will make sure we pass it on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    123
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local's new favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

Fell in love with Gaston after our first breakfast there. Ended up taking the whole family three days in a row. Noosa at it's best. Swim in the ocean followed by delicious food in a relaxed, friendly place.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Honoured to be labeled a local's favourite! Thank you for you support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely for morning tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Recently had morning tea here on a number of occasions- special price of $6 for coffee and muffin. Coffee was excellent and muffins absolutely delicious- best place for morning tea in Noosa/Hastings St vicinity.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Therese thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the morning tea special...we certainly think it's a great way to start any day. Hope you visit us again when you are next in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

Went to Gaston yesterday for a bite after the beach. We are on holidays and we're not too familiar with the restaurants in Noosa but we are so happy we came across Gaston.
The spring rolls are divine and my husband said the prawn spagettini was amazing. The service was efficient without being fussy and the coffee was the perfect ending to a great meal. We'll be back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you!! So glad to hear you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing - the best on Hastings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011 via mobile

After a hard day selling Christmas trees to backpackers I love visiting the friendly staff at Gaston for a great cocktail, amazing corn fritters and friendly atmosphere. Honestly the kingfish sashimi is a thing of beauty it's both playful and subtle delivering an intoxicating blend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastonnoosa, Owner at Gaston, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Happy we were able to provide a welcomed recovery after all your hard work during the festive season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaston also viewed

 
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Gaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.