We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna on Hastings Street

Save Saved
You added Laguna on Hastings Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laguna on Hastings Street
32 Hastings Street | Noosa Heads, Noosa, Queensland QLD 4567, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 130 Specialty lodging in Noosa
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A nice break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a long weekend in Noosa, staying at the Sebel run "Laguna on Hastings" apartments and it made our trip. The room was a great size and nicely decorated, as a couple we felt very spoilt in regards to the room amenities and such like. It was during the school holidays but in room 618 it was away nicely from the main pool area and the meeting point of the 2 legged peace and quiet killers lol. Parking was easy and secure and the reception staff very helpful. As my first visit to Noosa, I def will return and make my stay at these apartments again

Room Tip: Room 618 was great, close to the main st and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Laguna on Hastings is actually part of the Sebel complex - confused??? OK, the complex consists of privately owned apartments many of which are managed by Sebel. Quite a few are managed and serviced by various real estate agents with varing degrees of service, so you need to choose an agent carefully. So what's the difference? If you book a one bederoom apartment through Sebel you receive the usual hotel service which is fine for a couple of nights stay and you will pay around $220 per night on special in the low season. For longer stays it is worth booking through one of the agents. We have booked for July 2013 and negotiated the price down to $168 per night for 28 nights. (one bedroom)
You also need to check the room, as because they are privately owned the decor varies and some are quite odd - bath in bedroom for example. Decor is a little dated but in the 10 years we have stayed here there has been no problem with cleanliness and minor problems have been fixed the same day. We use Accom Noosa who are just across the road from the complex.
One final point, for accommodation in the middle of Hastings Street at $168 per night is outstanding value.

Room Tip: There are 6 blocks all 3 stories with lifts - try for a unit on level three facing Hastings Street i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Husband and I stayed at Laguna on Hastings for 3 nights for our birthdays. Having stayed here on a previous occasion and at that time booking through the Sebel Hotel itself, we knew what a great place it is to stay and what the standard should be. We were not disappointed. Our check in with Accom Noosa was friendly and efficient and when we entered our room on 3rd Floor we were surprised by a lovely gift basket containing wine, cheese and biscuits and delightful nibbling indulgences. The unit was very well equiped, clean and cosy. I am very particular about cleanliness and good quality bedding and fixtures and this particular unit was just great. Ducted Air conditioning was quiet and efficient, bathroom shower and spa bath was of a high quality and functioned efficiently. Queen size bed was very comfortable. Plenty of good quality kitchen ware and utensils to make our stay just wonderful. My comment to previous negative reviewers and having some knowledge of how private rentals work, a unit can only be desirable if owners are prepared to spend money on upkeep and updating furnishings and fixtures, otherwise they must face the bad reviews placed on such sites as Tripadvisor. Our experience was really great and I would certainly stay here again with AccomNoosa as the letting agent. They offered great customer service and were a pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We only just stayed in this room, it was in a great location and easy to everything. The room itself was dirty, the couch and tables needed a good scub with Jiff (this is the white room) It also had this really bad musky smell to it that we couldnt get rid of, we even bought an oil burner to try and get rid of it!! It looks like they have a problem with their roof leaking, as out side the door the roof was really bad leaking, very dangerous! The TV was old, the fans were noisy and was hard to sleep with them on, we stayed for 4 nights and if we wanted extra towels we had to pay for them and we even had to take out our rubbish!! Not what i would expect for the price you pay for them!! I wouldnt stay with this company again, maybe if you like this resort, try the sebel side, they might look after you alittle better and their reception is on site!!

Room Tip: Look at the Sebel, and find out their conditions
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Selected this private apartment as opposed to through the managing hotel (The Sebel). Disgusting and would not recommend this room. Room had a stale odor and the balcony looked like it hadn't been cleaned for quite some time. Ants on the balcony. The managing agent Richardson and Wrench was a joke. The airconditioner broke down and being a weekend, they refused to call maintenance in to fix it. They suggested I ask the hotel front desk for assistance who kindly declined to assist considering this apartment does not fall under their management. This is understandable. With two young children, we spent two days in a hot room with no airconditioning on consecutive 30+ degree days. Suggest any prospective holidays maker not make the same mistake I did. Book through the Sebel hotel and pay the slighter higher room rate. Overall resort is great but room 211 at the Laguna is a disgrace.

Room Tip: Book through the Sebel Hotel chain and give the private rooms and dealing with the managing agent Ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This is actually a few independently owned rooms within the 6 towers of The Sebel hotel complex - a bit confusing, but not a detraction from the overall experience.

The accommodation wings of the hotel are set amongst a collection of ponds, pools & fountains. Not only does it set the beach / river theme quite well, but is effective in drowning out most of the noise from Hastings Street (can get noisy on Fri/Sat nights) and other patrons at the hotel...more on that below.

My partner and I stayed in a single bedroom apartment (3311?) located on the top corner of building three. It was quite tastefully decorated, featured an LCD TV with Austar (tuning in was by coincidence - no instructions on how to do this), a kitchenette complete with cutlery, crockery & cooking implements and a dishwasher, an expansive bathroom (shower was great!) featuring a spa bath and a balcony overlooking Hastings Street with sea glimpses.

Central airconditioning is provided, though it's quite lovely in the evening to sit on the balcony with and enjoy the sunset (albeit obscured behind buildings). The queen bed is reasonably comfortable - a king would have been nice - but the bedroom is probably the smallest room in the apartment.

The hotels main feature, aside from the decorative water features, is it's pool, which is almost constantly occupied by children (though there is a smaller children's pool), and therefore the primary source of noise at the place - magnified by the manner in which the hotel was constructed. I would strongly suggest staying as far as possible from the pool, it can get seriously loud and unpleasant if you are trying to relax. That being said, the pool is quite lovely and can be enjoyed sans kids on occassion.

A single carspace is provided, and contrary to the agent's allocation, we were informed by hotel staff that parking is permitted anywhere within the secure garage, which is accessed via Noosa Parade (thankfully - Hastings St is almost permanently crawling with traffic). The Sebel is conveniently located at the South end of Noosa Parade / Hastings St, and like everything other hotel, within easy reach of shops, restaurants (check out my review of Sails), beach etc etc.

One last note - different agents / booking websites that sell Noosa accommodation base their prices on different states' school holiday dates. The dates I selected (early October) were variously described as "low", "high" and "peak" season by a variety of sources. In the end I found a website which offered the same room for exactly half the price of some other booking agencies...the lesson here is to look around!!

Overall, 7/10...it's a nice hotel, worth a look.

Room Tip: Stay as far from the pool as possible to avoid noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed in apartment 318 in the Sebel complex but managed by Laguna on Hastings.
The apartment was large and the main bedroom was very spacious but that's were the good stuff ends. The room was dated and the rug and couch were stained,old and dirty. The wall tiles and floor tiles looked like they hadn't seen a mop or cloth for a very long time. You could see marks from other guests on the floor and walls. Coffee marks on the side tables when we arrived and the air conditioner/heater had one setting cold the rest didn't work nor did the fan speed. Curtains were dirty and missing tie backs in the walls. This apartment needs some serious cleaning and some money spent on it. It was cheaper that booking through the Sebel but I now know why.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laguna on Hastings Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna on Hastings Street

Address: 32 Hastings Street | Noosa Heads, Noosa, Queensland QLD 4567, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 130 Specialty lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laguna on Hastings is located on fashionable Hastings Street, across the road from the beach and only steps to cosmopolitan restaurants and boutiques. Noosa National Park is a 15 minute walk up the street. Themed in clean, classic lines, the elegant Laguna on Hastings is beautifully appointed with light airy decor and is fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Laguna on Hastings Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna on Hastings Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.