We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel? More like a hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flashpackers Noosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Flashpackers Noosa to your Saves list
Flashpackers Noosa
102 Pacific Avenue | Sunshine Beach, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hostel? More like a hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed in Flashpackers, Noosa back in October 2011. This hostel is better than some hotels I've stayed in. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful that I ended up extending my 3 day stay to 3 weeks! The beds were extremely comfortable and it is the first hostel I've stayed in where I was given 2 pillows!! There was a small pool at the front of the hostel which is perfect for a quick dip and the hostel is perfectly placed by the beach. The hostel offered free surf and body board hire and the beach was about a 10 minute walk but the hostel offers a free bus service there every hour or so (and pick up). The beach has an amazing costal walk with some beautiful views out over the ocean. The hostel staff are very knowledgable of the area and they will always be there to give you information and advice on places to see in and around Noosa. The hostel itself is very clean with a large kitchen area and there is a cool TV area with some comfy sofas and a great movie collection. Highly recommended hostel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashpackersN, Manager at Flashpackers Noosa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are so pleased that you loved our hostel and to say that we are better than a hotel shows that all our hard work we do here is appreciated. We pride ourselves on creating a home away from home for you.
We are very proud of the cleanliness of our hostel and work hard to keep it clean and tidy for all our guests. We are also pleased that you thought our staff were always friendly and helpful, we try our best to look after our Flashpackers guests and help in any way we can.
Our hostel is purpose built to be the best choice for travellers looking for an environment of personal service and luxury accommodation that is affordable and great value with some many extras.
Many guests plan to only come to Noosa for just a few days and end up staying for weeks or months once they get to experience Noosa’s beautiful beaches, scenery, National park walks, rivers, surfing, Eumundi Markets, Fraser Island tours and so much more that backpackers have been enjoying for many years.
We hope you get to come back and stay with us again soon. Safe and happy travels from all the staff and Noosa Flashpackers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    58
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
5
81
78
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

For our stay in Noosa we decided to try this hostel. We've chosen a room with an private bathroom and toilet. When we arrived we directly noticed the nice atmosphere. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Our room was very clean (including the carpet and bathroom), large with and a little terrace which included two chairs and a table. The rain shower is very good as is the water pressure. The room has a LCD TV and an air conditioning which is very quiet. However it automatically turns of after 9 AM. The bed was ok but the pillows are a bit flat.

There are more then enough facilities available and the also organise special events such as wine and cheese, all you can eat pizza and movies nights. There are also two computers available and there is wifi. Unfortunately the wifi didn't worked during our stay (good signal but no IP address, maybe because too many people were using it) and wasn't available in our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashpackersN, Manager at Flashpackers Noosa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks Michael for your honest review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and apologise about the WiFi. We did have an issue for 1 day which unfortunately must have coincided with your visit but all is working now. We found with the AC if we don't have it on automatic cut off, then guests leave it on which is very environmentally unfriendly and I guess the pillows being flat is a personal choice-you should see mine at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

After staying at some crappy hostels I was so happy when the bus pulled in to this hostel even if it is for one night!
Lovely friendly chilled hostel. Stay here!!!

Positives...
Free shuttle bus to and from the beach and town at least every hour.
Modern looking hostel, water feature, palm trees etc.
Lovely small pool to cool off.
Big open spaces.
Sparkling clean, very happy with how clean it is.
Very comfy bed - lovely clean linen and huge mattress.
We did have a private room and the shower was huge.
Only 45 dollars each for private room, well worth the extra money.
Free good signal WiFi.
Free breakfast.
Friendly helpful staff.
Clean kitchen that doesn't get busy or crowded.
You can drink alcohol anywhere in the hostel even next to the pool.
Nice outdoor areas by the pool to eat and drink.
Chilled out place.


Negatives
There are none! All I can say is that I didn't stay in a dorm but the rooms look nice and the mattresses look huge which is obviously not a negative!

Enjoy :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashpackersN, Manager at Flashpackers Noosa, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thanks very much for your wonderful review. Hopefully next time you visit it can be for more than one day to really relax and see the best that Noosa has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was definitely the nicest hostel we stayed in! Beds were so comfy plus we had DUVETS which we were seriously excited about. We stayed in the girly room which was cute. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you could ever need so we were able to cook ourselves a proper meal for the first time in ages! Nice pool and swinging seats too

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashpackersN, Manager at Flashpackers Noosa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for a lovely review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you get to come back to stay with us again soon. Safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is definitely the best hostel in Noosa, I was responsible for choosing a hostel in the area for a group over new years and it was definitely the right decision.

Although the location isn't as great as other hostels in the area (inbetween noosa/sunshine beaches) everything else makes up for that.

The pool/bbq area was great for drinking around or sunbaking at after the beach.

The common area was always alive with people watching movies, or cooking dinners in one of the best hostel kitchens I've seen (they have every utensil, pot, saucepan etc you could wish for).

The rooms are clean and linen provided is comfortable, individual reading lamps, power points and working air con were a nice touch. We couldnt get wifi from the rooms though. The lockers are a bit silly as they are split into two compartments so you can't really fit a backpack or suitcase in. I never saw a cleaner over our three nights and the floor did start getting a little sandy so I'm not sure how regularly they clean (other than emptying bins).

The split of people here are probably half come and goers, half live-ins, and a big range of ages - not a party hostel, but everyone is still up for fun.

The only downside was sometimes not being able to find staff (but that might have been because of the festive season), you can usually find staff wandering around but unless you know who they are (as they aren't in any sort of uniform and usually not wearing shoes) they can be hard to distinguish. I would recommend a name tag or bell, although there is always a card left with the owners contact details if you need something.

Special mention to Wendy on the desk who always made us laugh.

Oh and free breakfast is nice, very basic - some cereal, bread, toast and jams.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashpackersN, Manager at Flashpackers Noosa, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are so pleased to add you as another satisfied guest who loved Flashpackers and everything our hostel has to offer. We are stocked you mention our fantastic kitchen; we don’t ask for deposits for dishes and make sure it always is fully equipped with good quality equipment for all our guests to use. The free security lockers we provide everyone are not designed for backpacks, they are more or less just for your valuables like lap tops and hand bags! Over the festive season (Xmas day, Boxing Day and years year day) we did have minimum staff working over those 3 days. Sorry if you found it hard to find a staff member in those 3 days but every other day there are plenty of staff always around in uniform and easily found. We will tell Wendy you mentioned her in your review as she is a true super star. Also we are very proud of the cleanliness of our hostel and work hard to keep it clean and tidy everyday for all our guests, We have won awards from Trip advisor and hostel bookers for our cleanliness, so we are really sorry if you thought there was a lack of cleaning done through those few days, we really appreciate your feedback on will take it on board so it won’t happen again next year. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels; hopefully you will get the opportunity to come and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I would live here. Its awesome, free computers and free wifi, free movies, movie nights, cheese and wine nights, free continental breakfast and some of the best staff I've ever met! Special mention to Wendy who jigged the rooms about to fit us in for the few days we stayed here and to Nic for picking us up in the blistering heat to save us the 15 min walk from noosaville. Some of the best hostel rooms I've seen along the way, clean, plug socket next to your bed even on the top bunk so you can charge your phone/laptop in bed, en-suite toilet/shower and lockers so peace of mind about leaving valuables etc. Air conditioning in the rooms too! pool and loungers area is small but really nice and the kitchen part of the hostel is the cleanest I've seen. Unlike most hostels you dont need to leave deposits for plates etc, everything is provided. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Choose the en-suite rooms facing the pool, they have balcony doors and are just that little bit nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashpackersN, Manager at Flashpackers Noosa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for an awesome and enthusiastic review of our hostel, its reviews like this that show that the work we do here is appreciated, We do have many guests that only book with us for a few nights and end up staying for weeks to months! I agree our staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome, at home and enjoy your stay to the max. We are very lucky to have Nic and Wendy working here, they are true stars. We are glad you liked our dorm rooms, I think having your own light, power point and security locker makes a big difference and it’s those little extra touches we are proud of. We continually strive to achieve high standards with comfort, cleanliness and interaction at a personal level with all our guests.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope you get the opportunity to come back to Noosa one day. Safe and happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotland, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Best hostel in whole Australia! Very clean kitchen, nice and friendly stuff, really nice rooms and good free wifi. I stayed there for one month but I could stay there forever!
I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashpackersN, Manager at Flashpackers Noosa, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, this is the kind of feedback we love to hear. We are so glad you thought so highly of our hostel as we work very hard to make it, as you say, the best hostel ever!

We would welcome you back at any time, until then safe and happy travels.

Flashpackers Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flashpackers Noosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flashpackers Noosa

Address: 102 Pacific Avenue | Sunshine Beach, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Flashpackers Noosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flashpackers Noosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.