We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RACV Noosa Resort

Save Saved
You added RACV Noosa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
RACV Noosa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   94 Noosa Drive, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AUD219 (AUD)
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Noosa
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great family destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the RACV Noosa Resort for two weeks over the New Year's break.

The resort is somewhat distanced from Noosa itself, but is very self contained offering most things you'll need for a stay. There is a free shuttle bus to Noosa and surrounds, but it only runs every hour and finishes in the afternoon, so you really do need a car if you are staying and want to get around the area. It's $10 in a taxi if you are heading into Hastings St for dinner at night.

We had ourselves and our 11 year old son staying in a two room apartment. The rooms are very spacious with lots and lots of room, great kitchen, living space, bedrooms etc. There was also an outdoor area and setting for alfresco dining, and additionally a strange rooftop area accessed via a spiral staircase. The rooftop contains, well ... nothing actually. Not even a chair. I suppose you could lay on the concrete if you wanted a tan!

The room itself did have a lot of non-major things wrong with it, blown light-bulbs etc. TV channels not working, cupboard hinges etc. We left a list of things that needed fixing when we left so I hope they fix them up for the next guest.

The pool area of the resort is really great, well laid out with a beach, and the kids love it. You can even order drinks and food while out there. Bonus!

We ate a couple of nights at the resort, one night with wood-fire pizza, and another night in the casual dining, and one night in the restaurant. The food is disappointingly average, and I think (other than the pizza) comes out of the same kitchen. Fairly bland and over-cooked would be the best way to describe it. The pizza takes a long time, and again is quite average. However the beer is cold and plentiful!

Note the "free" internet is a limited byte download allowance. Our son chewed it up in the first couple of days. According to the sign on you then have to pay.

Overall it really is a great place for a family break. The facilities are good, the rooms are nice (and quite reasonable if you are an RACV member) and the staff are really fantastic and friendly. I don't think there is anything they won't do for you and go way out of their way to help.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that doesn't have a bedroom facing east. The sun comes up early in Que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVNoosaResort, Manager at RACV Noosa Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear MichaelBTraveller,

Thanks for such a comprehensive review and some very useful feedback. I was delighted to read your positive comments about our accommodation, heated lagoon pool and in particular staff. I was not as thrilled with your feedback about the food and will discuss with our Executive Chef and Food and Beverage Manager. I was reviewing results from our feedback forms today that we hand out to guests at the completion of their meal and the results indicated 75% of people rated their experience as ‘excellent’, 20% ‘very good’ & 5% ‘average/poor’. Your feedback inspires the team to work even harder to receive an ‘excellent’ rating from 100% of all guests.

I am pleased you had a great family break and appreciate the praise you provided to our staff.

Thanks again.

Regards

Darren McClenaghan
Resort Manager
RACV Noosa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    143
    32
    5
    3
See reviews for
223
142
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast QLD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here over the Australia Day weekend 2013. Yes the cyclonic weekend! We were pretty much stuck in our unit as the weather was simply too dangerous to venture out. We had a bottom unit 2bdrm self contained. We found it to be very comfortable and spacious. (Although the couch not so much) There is not alot for kids to do but there is a lovely pool, which we didnt use due to cyclonic winds and torrential rain that ripped our brolly arpart as soon as we left the unit! The only downside was that the unit above us sounded like there was a herd of elephants jumping from the bed onto the floor for hours every night! Not during the day, only at night! Apart from the weather and the thumping, it was a lovely place and we would definately stay again. The price was great and reasonable and if we got the same deal we would go again. It is a drive to Hastings st and to the beaches which means finding parking but we did like the quietness of the location.

Room Tip: Maybe a unit at the top so no thumping. However there isnt a lift so you will need to navigate the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVNoosaResort, Manager at RACV Noosa Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear GympsyGoldCoastQLD,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. You were very unlucky to experience the torrential rain during the weekend you stayed and despite that I was pleased you found the resort to be a lovely place. Typically our apartments are very good to absorb noise so I was surprised to read you heard thumping during some of the night from above - I too am curious what on earth could have been happening up above given feedback such as this is very rare.

I hope you get the chance to visit us again on a weekend with more typical Noosa sunny blue skies. I am confident your experience in Noosa and at the resort will be even better.

All the best.

Regards
Darren McClenaghan
Resort Manager
RACV Noosa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

our family of 2 adults and 4 kids stayed in a 3 bedroom townhouse with a hot tub on the roof. the resort is gorgeous and clean and we were really impressed with the accommodation.

the kids swam in the pool despite the torrential rain and we loved hot tubbing in the rain too.

the staff were excellent. positive , happy people who made us feel welcome

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVNoosaResort, Manager at RACV Noosa Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear nusstafa,

Thanks for your comments and it is great that your family had a wonderful stay. After around 3 months of sunny blue skies you were very unlucky to get the rain associated with the cyclone up north. What I was impressed about is how your family did not let that get in the way of your holiday, enjoying your apartment’s private rooftop spa and our heated pool in the rain. Actually, I can recall enjoying swimming in the rain as a kid so I should not be that surprised.

I hope one day you get the chance to visit RACV Noosa Resort again – next time I will order you blue sunny skies and no rain!

All the best.

Regards
Darren McClenaghan
Resort Manager
RACV Noosa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay if you have your own transport. Noosa resort is a good 30 minute walk from the beach so don't stay there if you have children and don't have your own transport. The upside is that the staff were great, especially the bar staff, the food fantastic, and the accommodation was first class. The pool, unfortunately, was a long way from the rooms we stayed in. All in all a pleasant stay, except that the beach wasn't close.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVNoosaResort, Manager at RACV Noosa Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Timberl,

Thanks for your review and it was great to read you enjoyed the accommodation, food and staff.

For the benefit of others I thought I would provide some of my thoughts when you are considering if RACV Noosa Resort is the right location for you in Noosa:

We are around 2km or a 25 minute walk to Hastings Street or a 7 minute walk to the Noosa Junction shops.

We provide a free shuttle bus service to Hastings Street/Main Beach and to the Noosa Junction shops if you do not have a car or feel like walking or driving. This runs around every 2nd hour during quiet times and hourly during our busy times.

If you need a cab, it costs about $10 to Hastings Street – a guest worked out the other day that was staying with us for 5 days that they used a cab 3 times ($30) during their stay but saved $100 a night ($500 in total) than staying at a comparable property in Hastings Street.

We are receiving a large amount of return guests who enjoy visiting the beautiful Hastings Street/Main Beach but prefer being able to retreat for some peace and tranquillity at RACV Noosa Resort from the hustle and bustle of Hastings Street.

I hope this helps. Thanks again Timberl for taking the time to post your comments.

Regards

Darren McClenaghan
Resort Manager
RACV Noosa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aust
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

My family, comprising two young children (aged 2 & 4) recently stayed for 5 nights at RACV Noosa Resort & can only provide full praise & commendation to this fabulous resort, & in particular the staff that are employed at the property. Customer service was absolutely outstanding, children were welcomed & staff willingly interacted & accepted their presence. The resort is Immaculately clean & our 2bedroom sanctuary apartment was filled with everything we needed & was very spacious. I cannot recommend this resort highly enough!!! Restaurant food was divine & wait staff attentive & informative. Congrats to all involved, it was a pleasure to be guests at your resort, where staff actually appeared to be enjoying their work! We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVNoosaResort, Manager at RACV Noosa Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear justash7,

Thank you for your kind words. I have worked in many different teams over the years and I must say that the RACV Noosa Resort team is the happiest and friendliest I have ever experienced. I am proud of them and it makes it a pleasure to come to work every day.

Staff read these reviews and will appreciate your praise and recommendation to others.

See you next time!

Regards
Darren McClenaghan
Resort Manager
RACV Noosa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our recent stay at the RACV Noosa Resort can best be described like the feeling you get when you arrive home after a long trip - bliss, contentment, happiness and excitement all rolled into one.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom sanctuary apartment, and though the bedroom and living area was on the compact side, it was more than adequate for 2 people for a short stay.

The kitchen was fully stocked with cutlery and kitchenware, tea towels, laundry and dishwashing liquid and tablets, and additional quilts, pillows, umbrellas and clothes airers were available in the bedroom cupboards. We didn't want or need for anything in that respect.

The outdoor balcony had a beautiful view over the trees, and it was peaceful to enjoy the view from inside or out.

The resort is large and very modern, and we couldn't fault the design.

There were car parks available for all, though they weren't allocated to the apartment you were staying in so when it got busy you had to park further away. Not a problem for us but it might be for older people or people travelling with young children.

The tennis court was lovely, and the reception and both casual and formal dining areas were absolutely stunning, modern, understated, large spaces with earthy creams and dark browns. These areas were well designed and overlooked the beautiful pool, which unfortunately we didn't try.

Meals wise, breakfasts were reasonable but there was room for improvement in terms of the variety available, quality wise the breakfast was very good. Additional payments were required for some items.

The rooms are very close together, so we could often hear other adults and children talking and playing (respectively!). Having said that, once all the windows and doors were closed, the sounds were muffled and this didn't impact on our stay at all.

The staff were pleasant for the most part, and when we had to order additional toiletries we received a prompt response.

The resort was very, very clean, to our very fussy standards, so we were very impressed with this aspect.

There were no lifts to the upstairs apartments which required us to carry some very heavy luggage up ourselves. A porter or 2 wouldn't have gone astray in this respect.

The evening wood oven pizzas weren't fantastic, and the wait time was over an hour during our stay. We ordered a pizza with bocconcini but couldn't find the bocconcini when it was delivered, it was all just yellow cheese and too much of it, the worst pizza we have ever had and in fact we didn't eat it. Also in the time it took to receive it we could have walked to the main street in Noosa. We had originally tried to order a pizza to be delivered as room service but the lady we spoke to was very rude in her tone and said that we could only order the pizzas on the in room menu and no we couldn't have any of the toppings available for the wood oven pizzas, unless they were on the in room menu. Seemed a very strange issue to be rude about, and seemed peculiar that a small concession regarding the toppings etc couldn't be accommodated. Nevertheless, not the end of the world, and I think it was more a reflection of that particular staff members unwillingness to listen or assist.

Location wise, the property was a good 30-60 minutes walk away from the main street depending on your fitness levels and the heat, as there are a lot of steep roads that take you there. It was only 5 minutes by car, and 5 minutes by shuttle bus which is complimentary and provided by the resort, and our preferred option to avoid the hassles of looking for a park. We did the walk once and actually enjoyed it. Other than that, it's very close to Noosa Heads, Tewantin and the Eumendi Markets, only a short drive away to these and multiple other attractions including the Sunshine Coast beaches either side of Noosa.

Noosa itself was absolutely gorgeous but perhaps lacked a little of the charm of some of the other towns we stayed at along the way. We attribute that to its popularity (ie the number of people in town at the time of our stay) and the development in the town but the benefits of a larger town of course is that there's more to see and do.

The beach is stunning and the National Park enjoyable to explore.

There were a few small issues with the TV channels but these were resolved by management promptly and to our complete satisfaction.

Overall we had a lovely stay, though we felt for the location it was perhaps a little pricey. Some of the staff could have been a little more accommodating and a porter would have been useful but regardless of this we will definitely be returning to Noosa and to the RACV resort.

A tip for management if they read this - the name "RACV Noosa Resort" conjures up a group of old car enthusiasts or mechanics to some of us, and I daresay may put some people off. Perhaps Noosa Resort by the RACV might get you a look in from younger trendier potential guests who will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVNoosaResort, Manager at RACV Noosa Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Makerina,

Thank you for such a comprehensive review - it was great you had a nice visit. You have provided some excellent feedback that has been discussed with the team. Your thoughts regarding our name were also very interesting. RACV now has 8 properties (6 resorts) in Australia and we are optimistic that as more members and guests stay with us the 'RACV Resorts' brand will become more recognised as a place people can trust to have a memorable holiday (in addition to our traditionally breakdown and insurance business).

I appreciate your recommendation of RACV Noosa resort to others and hope on your return visit we can go a step further and make an "almost perfect" stay to a "perfect" one.

Regards

Darren McClenaghan
Resort Manager
RACV Noosa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at RACV Noosa and can't praise it enough. This is the second time we have stayed at this resort and both trips have been perfect.

We were very warmly greeted upon arrival by Vivian at the front desk and she was very helpful and friendly. The shuttle bus into Hastings Street is great and allowed us to have a wander around town without the stress of having to find a car park. The driver is very friendly and welcoming.

After a trip to your gym we met the managers wife, Jodie, who was lovely and very helpful with information on local areas to exercise etc.

Overall we found our stay to be most relaxing and enjoyable and we look forward to visiting again.

Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVNoosaResort, Manager at RACV Noosa Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear C M,

Thanks for your review. All staff have read it and appreciate your recognition and I agree Vivian is fantastic ! I am also glad you had the chance to meet Jodi - she is very passionate and active with the local triathlon/running groups in Noosa so I am not surprised Jodes had plenty of ideas in where you could exercise.

We look forward to seeing you again during the Noosa Triathlon weekend and if you need any further advice on exercise options or anything else feel free to contact the team anytime.

All the best with the training for the Triathlon!

Regards

Darren McClenaghan
Resort Manager
RACV Noosa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RACV Noosa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV Noosa Resort

Address: 94 Noosa Drive, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — RACV Noosa Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Queensland’s Sunshine Coast in the tranquil surroundings of Noosa Heads, RACV Noosa Resort offers a memorable holiday in an iconic holiday destination. Stylish, contemporary and only 2 kms from the renowned Hastings Street, RACV Noosa Resort offers brand new spacious accommodation overlooking a pristine wetlands sanctuary. The Resort is located close enough to explore Noosa’s award-winning restaurants, chic cafes and bars, farmer’s market and miles of pristine beach yet far enough away to enjoy the serenity of the resort’s secluded location. Alternatively make use of the full resort facilities, which include a heated lagoon pool with beach entry, restaurant, wood fired pizza oven, cocktail bar, gym, floodlit tennis court, day spa, lounge and free shuttle bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your RACV Noosa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV Noosa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.