We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SandCastles Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SandCastles Apartments to your Saves list
SandCastles Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Hastings Street, Noosa, Queensland, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,097 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 735 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Wasn't absolutely sure what to expect reading these reviews, but we were more than happy when we walked in.

We were in room 18 on the top floor which had some sea view (I'm guessing you don't lower down).

The furnishings and kitchen/bathroom was very modern and comfortable, although the hot water seemed to be limited in the shower so short showers if you all want hot water! It looked like it had received a recent makeover from an original 1980s-odd set-up.

The location is great. Right on Hastings Street and direct beach access but also right next to the park on the spit with calm river beaches only a couple of minutes walk and the ferry to Noosaville's eateries close-by (eating out on Gympie Tce in Noosaville actually is far better value than on Hastings St, and we enjoyed our lunch ferry trips!).

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My partner and I have stayed at SandCastles twice and very much enjoyed it on both occasions. Our last visit was late last year. We love having an apartment on the beach with its own kitchen which gives you the choice of either going out for dinner or grabbing some supplies, cooking it up and eating in . The also have a excellent BBQ area around a well maintained pool . The location is great with the beach to the front and the old Noosa common next to you . Being at one end of Hastings Street means that it is also reasonably quite and private . The managers are good and only too pleased to assist .
We are going overseas for our holiday this year but we have already started to plan our third visit to SandCastles next year. I certainly recommend it to everyone

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the ground floor are the best as you can walk straight out onto the pool deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We love Sandcastles, we have stayed in two different apartments both were really nice. The kids loved the loft! Excellent location on the beach. Great pool! Will I stay again next year - absolutely!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandcastlesnoosa, Manager at SandCastles Apartments, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks for your response. I am so glad to hear you loved your stay in both apartments, and yes, our lofts are always very popular - with the kids and adults as well ! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We had five nights at Sandcastles and even the torrential rain couldn't ruin it for us. The location would have to be one of the best in Noosa, so close to everything, yet far enough away from the busier end of Hastings St. Gary and Debra we so friendly and helpful. We had a 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the park and it had everything we needed - a well equipped kitchen, plenty of hot water and decent water pressure in the shower, a nice balcony to sit and enjoy a drink at the end of the day and off street parking. All this, as well as body boards for the kids, beach umbrellas and buckets and spades. Not many beachside apartments go to the trouble of having this sort of family friendly gear. To top it all off, the pool was fantastic. The kids were in the whole time, even in the rain, as it was always warm enough to enjoy. Once we had enough of the pool it's just 10 metres and you're at the beach! All the staff were super friendly, as was everyone we chatted to in the local shops (we were regulars in the awesome kids games shop, given the weather). Hoping to make this a yearly trip, but less rain next time please!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandcastlesnoosa, Manager at SandCastles Apartments, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
It's really nice to see a family having a great time regardless of the weather ! Well done! We were certainly happy to be of service and look forward to welcoming you back next time (and I 'II see what I can do about the weather !)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Booked a weeks break at short notice without wanting to break the bank. Found Sandcastles the price was good and was very pleasantly surprised. While Sandcastles is not a 5 star like some other properties it is clean, comfortable, has a fabulous pool area and is right on the beach. What more could you ask for.Hosts Gary and Debra do a great job and take very good care of their guests to ensure their stay is a pleasant one.
Time spent there was out of school holidays so was quiet and relaxing may be an issue if you do not have any kids with you.
Indian restaurant across the road good value.
Recommend Sandacastles highly.
.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandcastlesnoosa, Manager at SandCastles Apartments, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay!! Thanks so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We recently stayed at "Sandcastles" (yet again!). Had a fantastic time- weather was gorgeous, shopping was great, eating out was all that we were expecting. "Sandcastles" was, as usual, the best place to stay and made our holiday even more special. The pool area is resort-like: sparkling, very blue water, meticulously clean with relaxing sunbeds. Our apartment looked out over the pool and towards the beach. We had everything we needed in the apartment. If you want to stay in a fabulous, value-for-money accommodation in Hastings St, on the beach, with all the amenities then "Sandcastles" it is!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandcastlesnoosa, Manager at SandCastles Apartments, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay with us. We are happy you have chosen Sandcastles Noosa as your preferred place to stay when in Noosa.
We look forward to looking after you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I'm sorry but if there are signs in the stairs asking people to respect the comfort of others to keep noise to a minimum, it won't work for families with small children and toddlers unless it is 'policed'. Due to Queenslands lack of daylight savings and dawn being stupidly early, the little fellas are sent out to play at 7.00 in the morning. I'm a morning person.......but not that much when on hols. The rooms are a little tired, decor wise and a note slipped under the door the evening prior to leaving to ensure room is tidy and rubbish is removed for a $300 a night self-contained unit is a little rude. It is not as if we would be leaving dirty nappies and a childrens bomb site behind. The half roll of toilet paper (and no more to be found) and non functioning TV remote with leaking batteries was not a good impression on arrival.
Queenslands concern about a depressed tourist economy at present should not be using the exchange rate as an excuse. The general poor value, under performance and simple overpricing of the entire tourism sector is to blame.
Sandcastles is okay but if I was handing out cash to pay for the 4 nights, I would feel a little ill.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandcastlesnoosa, Manager at SandCastles Apartments, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our signs located in the stairwells are a friendly reminder for guests with small children, to consider others. The excited 'noise' of littles ones is not something we need to 'police' too often.
Our departure sign is to thank the guest for their stay and request them to advise if leaving early. The suggestion to leave the apartment in a tidy manner is just a matter of courtesy, as yes, some people do leave dirty nappies and a childrens bomb site behind.
Also not sure where your rates estimate is from, but is far from correct.
I do apologise for the remote batteries and such, and do recall attending to the matter promptly.
We do like to discuss any problems that come up and rectify any problems to ensure your stay is enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#9 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Noosa Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Seahaven Noosa
Seahaven Noosa
#4 of 23 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort & Villas
0.1 mi away
Tingirana Noosa
Tingirana Noosa
#12 of 137 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
On The Beach Noosa
On The Beach Noosa
#6 of 23 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SandCastles Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SandCastles Apartments

Address: 1 Hastings Street, Noosa, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SandCastles Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastles is perfectly situated, right between beautiful cosmopolitan Hastings St, and the stunning Noosa Main Beach.Self contained apartments with full kitchen facilities that gives you the flexibility to eat in, or simply stroll to the many restaurants right on our doorstep.Each apartment has it own balcony either overlooking our pool area towards the beach, or into the natural bushlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your SandCastles Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SandCastles Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.