We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits and a few misses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pemberton Lavender and Berry Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pemberton Lavender and Berry Farm to your Saves list
Pemberton Lavender and Berry Farm
Lot 65, Browns Road,, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Waroona, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hits and a few misses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Lavender Berry Cottages (LBC) in Pemberton found me via a Facebook ad the day after I mentioned we were looking for a getaway with our kids in the South West after exhaustingly (and disappointedly) looking for self-contained accommodation for 2 adults, 2 children and a baby under $200 a night for over a week on the internet.
Our oldest daughter is OBSESSED with berries, so she was sold straight away and we booked after looking at several other Pemberton options. I was hesitant looking at the décor of the chalets, on arrival I was pleased to discover the chalet we had booked (Shannon) presented nicer than the promo photos. It really was also just 4 minutes from town, and located within easy reach of all of the Pemberton region’s top drawcards. If you want 5 star accommodation then you pay 5 star prices, we wanted to explore the region and chose our accommodation accordingly.
It was a stinkingly hot, humid afternoon when we arrived and our rammed earth chalet was refreshingly cool on entry despite the lack of air conditioning. The chalets overlook a lake and the windows from the main bedroom and lounge room were lovely.
The facilities in the chalet were very basic, but it was expected, the owners had stated exactly what was supplied on their website. The beds are firm and the pillows soft, although it was an extremely (unwelcome) early start with at least 5 roosters crowing at each other from 4.00 am from the farm and across nearby properties.
We were disappointed that there was not a gas barbeque provided at the front of our chalet considering we had planned to BBQ for 3 nights overlooking the lake, there was a “smoker” on the front porch and a small wood barbeque in our car parking space out the back. Being mid-January in Western Australia we were very concerned as to whether or not we could even light either of the wood fuelled devices as total fire bans are in effect were we live for the summer months. Any information in the compendium in regard to this would have been appreciated.
At the price, for self-contained accommodation we would have also expected a free laundry even of it wasn’t in the chalet, however you need to pay to use the communal coin operated washing machine here. Sorry, I would rather take my washing home than pay more money after spending $752 on 4 nights accommodation.
That said, our nature loving children had a wonderful time finding frogs, feeding ducks and exploring the lake. We even had the beautiful experience of having frogs on our door knob and outdoor furniture, rescuing a tiny frog that had come up the shower drain with hair wrapped around his back legs that we cut off and then delivered him back to the lake was another gorgeous experience for the kids. Wrens flit around the property and many other bird species fly past and stop to graze.
The actual Berry and Lavender gardens were not quite what we expected, especially the kids, there were no berries to pick on any of the 4 days (pretty much the sole reason for booking), the raspberry rows looked awfully sick as did the lavender. The grassed area in front of the café was gorgeously green and well worth a visit. The playground was also great.
On the morning of our departure we decided to try the café. It took at least 30 mins for our order of 1 pancake, 2 scones, a chocolate icecream and 2 coffees to come out, despite only 1 other table of 4 being in the café and already eating when we sat down. The giant scones and massive pancake tasted strongly of rising agent but smothered in the icecream/berry sauce/cream/jam you couldn’t tell, they were delicious! The jam when tasted on its own was exceptional.
We chose to stay at the LBF to spend some quality time with our children and it certainly provided a wonderful opportunity to do so. Sitting on a rug by the lake whilst the sun went down, our children played and we relaxed or played games was a beautiful experience, combined with the close proximity to all of Pemby’s best attractions means we really enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavenderBerryFarm, Owner at Pemberton Lavender and Berry Farm, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Wow! That is quite the review. Thanks for the 4 out of 5 rating! Glad that you and your family enjoyed the tranquil setting here, (sorry about the roosters - they sometimes do get up a bit early!)

The barbeques on the verandah are in fact charcoal barbeques which take the "heat bead" bbq fuel sold at supermarkets, and we chose these as user reviews agreed that the food tastes better cooked on this type of barbeque. Were sorry if this didn't meet the expectations of your stay, but hopefully you did have at least one meal overlooking the lake - January is one of the best times for this.

We thought that $2 for the washing machine was pretty reasonable - however if you had let us know that you we're unhappy with this, we'd have been more than glad to give you your money back so that you could have had the convenience of washing while on holidays.

Hope you choose to stay here again. We aim to provide a great family holiday destination and with young kids ourselves we appreciate how special this family time is. As for the Cafe food... we won't give away our secret recipes except to say that we don't use added raising agents...

Hope to see you back again with your family. We'll gag the roosters ...and the washing is on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have been to Pemberton in south Western Australia several times over the last 10 years and every time we go there we make time to visit our favourite Lavender & Berry Farm which is only 3km out of town or about 5 min drive.

This place is famous not only for its ABSOLUTELY delicious pancakes but also for its nice set up and surroundings. The garden is beautiful and so peaceful – the only sound you can hear is that of the little cute wrens - some really pretty blue (male) wrens too!

About the pancakes themselves – they are HUGE, made with lots of berries, covered with yummy berry sauce and lots of ice cream! The prices are great value for the quality and portion size you get! You cannot ask for more!

The menu also offers other things such as muffins, milk shakes (also huge!), sundaes, nachos and other savoury stuff.

If you are ever in or around Pemberton – the Lavender and Berry Farm is A MUST DO!

We look forward to having more pancakes there soon!

G&M

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We came here for the lavender scones and berry pancakes. There were 3 other tables before us and food took quite awhile to arrive. The berry pancakes serving was huge enough to share and tasted good. Didn't really appreciate the lavender scones though. The ice cream from the ice cream parlour was nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Great Cafe, with all the lavender products you would want, great gifts for yourself and Family or friends... beautiful surrounds at the lavender cafe, would recommend this place to visit! Very friendly too... just what service is all about, true country style .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Excellent service and location. Very serene and rustic! Its autumn-winter when we visit so there were no berries for plucking, but we still enjoyed the nature and lovely animals which visited us. The stay was very comfortable and memorable. We are still dreaming of the place today, we will definitely visit this place again :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed in one of the rammed earth cabins and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The farm was smaller than we anticipated, but so peaceful and beautiful. The blue wrens that visited us morning and night were just beautiful as were the other birdlife that visited while we were at the cabin. Warning on the pancakes - a small one is more than enough for one person! I had no idea that a large one would be so large.
Although facilities were available to cook, we indulged ourselves with meals out for the 2 nights we were there at local places in Pemberton a 5 min. drive down the road. The Motel banquet on the Saturday night was superb (like a wedding breakfast) and the pub meal was also most satisfactory. A great place to stay in the country but close to ammenties still. A breakfast basket would have been awesome, but alas it wasn't available then it appears.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavenderBerryFarm, Owner at Pemberton Lavender and Berry Farm, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Glad you enjoyed your stay, Debbie! Sounds like Pemberton put on a nice show for you too. The pancakes are BIG... we're hoping you were warned when you ordered (we like to let people know what they're in for!!)
The breakfast basket is available all year, as long as it's not school holidays or a long weekend... sounds like your stay must have coincided with the October school holidays.
Hope you can make it back this way in the future. Thanks for posting your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

Lovely cafe and shop. Ate the Pemby pancake covered in berries and served with vanilla icecream. The biggest pancake I've ver seen with berries in a wholemeal batter. Complimented by a delightful flat white and served in the beautiful gardens. We were in heaven! Visited by a splendid Blue Wren whilst we ate, we needed a walk around the garden and lake to help the gigantic serving go down! Highly recommend a visit but only if you have time. The experience can't be hurried!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavenderBerryFarm, Owner at Pemberton Lavender and Berry Farm, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thanks Guys! Spring time is extra lovely here with the Blue Wrens in full vibrant colour. Come back soon... and don't forget to tell your friends!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pemberton Lavender and Berry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pemberton Lavender and Berry Farm

Address: Lot 65, Browns Road,, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly cottage accommodation on the outskirts of Pemberton. Delightful little relaxing holiday destination, with a lake to play on, bush walks, farm animals to feed, a playground for the kids and the delights of the onsite cafe.Close to many local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pemberton Lavender and Berry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender And Berry Farm Cafe, Shoppe & Cottages
Lavender & Berry Farm Cafe, Shoppe & Cottages Hotel Pemberton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pemberton Lavender and Berry Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.