We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenhaven Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemberton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenhaven Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Glenhaven Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
25 Browns Rd. | PO Box 216, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Pemberton B&B and Inns
LindyLou105
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wildlife wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Had a really friendly welcome from our hosts and were given afternoon tea of home made scones, cream and jam with shortbread on arrival - which was delicious.

Room was very nice with a terrace. We were eating our afternoon tea and saw kangaroos in the garden area. Before a very pleasant breakfast the following morning we saw more kangaroos and birds at close range and took loads of photos.

Not too far to town although would need a car.

A great place to stay if you are in this area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
45
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Firstly, i'm not one to give out 5 stars out willy nilly and it has to be a truly outstanding experience that blows my mind to deserve that honour so 4.5 stars is excellent on my scale. This review is to help others make a more fully informed decision whether a place we stayed at is the place for them.

5 star things

Hosts, Jim and Jackie were excellent and made the experience at Glenhaven memorable, with lots of friendly chit chat and service such as booking our dining needs at places they recommended. The recommendations were excellent and it definitely helps having local knowledge and contacts. Jim & Jackie are definitely one of the pluses of Glenhaven.

The Location, another 5 star factor as Glenhaven is located about 3 mins from town amidst Pemberton bush. The bird life and wildlife (fauna & flora) in general at Glenhaven is plentiful and i can imagine it being oh so much more colourful in spring. We saw kangaroos, rabbits, parrots, rosellas and other birdlife all from the verandah of our room so you can't ask for much more.

4.5 stars

The accommodation met all our needs and was comfortable although we didn't spend much time at Glenhaven as we were out and about exploring the region. Glenhaven is a cottage style accommodation with many cosy type features such as the decor, music, furniture and the fireplace. The lovely verandah offers a perfect spot to relax and watch the wildlife. Beds were comfortable and we slept very well.

Food (breakfast) was plentiful and adequate with the hosts serving up sherry each night at 6pm which was nice and port after dinner. Jim took the time to make sure each guests breakfast was as per their likes which is exactly what one would hope for. Kudos to Jim and Jackie.

Other things, such as wifi was available to guests which was a bonus as mobile phone service was out of range.

Overall staying at Glenhaven was a very good experience and we would book again. B & B's are very dependent on the hosts and in this instance Glenhaven has triumphed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We received a royal welcme with tea and scones, and later sherry, and a useful briefing from Jim about the interesting Pemberton area. They have a nice house surrounded by a bird-friendly garden with many birds.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

Whilst the setting is quite beautiful, as a solo traveller I was a little unnerved by being shown my house on the proprietor's laptop and being advised to remove the leaves around it. So much for privacy!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrilegs66, Owner at Glenhaven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
I read this review with dismay and a heavy heart. As far as I was concerned, this guest left on the best of terms and gave no indication that she was unhappy in any way with her stay at Glenhaven.
I regularly use an iPad with Google maps to help guests plan the next stages of their journey It is more useful and versatile than hard copy maps. Sometimes, as an amusing diversion, I show them an image of their house derived from their street address. When I showed this guest the image of her house - the rear view - I flippantly mentioned the leaves in the laneway behind. It was a joke - cheeky perhaps - but light-hearted and certainly not malicious. I also wouldn't have thought that viewing the rear of a house could constitute a violation of privacy. The inside of the house was not visible.
We are sensitive to the requirements of our guests, and especially ladies travelling alone. This guest was upgraded to a queen size bedded room which had become vacant; her breakfast was provided outside our normal catering times to fit her schedule for the day and we made a booking for her evening meal at the best restaurant in Pemberton, a place she would probably have not found by herself.
We are so disappointed that she chose not to mention the many positive aspects of staying at Glenhaven, including the amazing bird life, kangaroos in the garden, and instead concentrated her focus on a negative point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We spent two nights here as part of a side trip while visiting relatives in Donnybrook. Jim & Jackie's welcome was outstanding. At all times they were the perfect hosts. Our arrival at 4.30 pm was met with tea and muffins, followed by a glass of sherry at 6.00pm where the order for breakfast was taken and advice given on suitable eating places for the evening and suitable places to visit the following day. The location is superb on the edge of the forest with an abundance of wild life including kangaroos. The room was ideal for our needs and the hearty Scottish Breakfast more than sufficient to set you up for the day. We have no hesitation in recommending Glenhaven and fully intend staying there again when we visit in two years time.

Room Tip: Those with mobility problems would be well advised to chose the twin-bedded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

It says on the door “The doorbell is connected to the kettle” and it does seem to be, and, if you are planning a stop in Pemberton, this is decidedly the place to stay. Glenhaven is welcoming, clean and convenient. The garden boasts not only passing kangaroos but also many species of exotic birds.

Jim Merriman left Scotland 30 years ago but the Scots ethos never quite left him. So, whilst he most strongly disapproves of extravagance in others, he and his wife Jackie are generosity itself with the scones & jam and shortbread on arrival, advice on what to see and where best to have dinner, pre-dinner sherry and post-dinner port. The full breakfast on offer is every bit as generous and thoughtfully prepared – unlikely to be surpassed by the more expensive Margaret River establishments a little further north.

Altogether a most pleasant visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Staying at Glenhaven was a delight. Sometimes we felt were being nicely mothered! The other reviews say it all about the lovely setting, the Devonshire tea, the bird life and the early evening sherry! We learned a lot about Pemberton and about Australia from other guests and from Jim & Jackie. It was quiet and old-style traditional; like staying in a long lost relative's cosy home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenhaven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenhaven Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25 Browns Rd. | PO Box 216, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenhaven is a traditional style B&B situated in a large quiet rural block about 3km from the small town of Pemberton in the South West of Western Australia. There are 3 bedrooms, two with queen size beds and one with single beds. All rooms have en-suites and private verandahs. There is a separate guest lounge area and dining/breakfast room. A cooked breakfast is optional and fresh fruit, cereals etc are always available. There is a great profusion of wild birds around and usually some kangaroos. Advice is gladly given on local attractions, wineries, restaurants etc. Sherry is served at 6pm and port later in the evening. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenhaven Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.