We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foragers

Foragers
1 Roberts Rd | Corner Roberts Road & Pemberton Northcliffe Road, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
+61 8 9776 1580
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Pemberton
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Too good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

It is one of the best meals I have ever had in a restaurant.
We were here a couple month ago. But without a booking, we were turned away.
So we had another try this time with a booking. It is absolutely top quality restaurant hidden in the southern forest.
We had the a long table Seasonal Autumn Menu with all fresh produce sourced locally. The design of the food is not complicated, but certainly hit the spot.
$75 for 4 courses plus tea or coffee is the greatest value we can get.
My words are not able to describe how good Foragers is. Please call in to make a booking soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Although there was one small issue I would still rate this with top marks because overall, the food, ambience and service were excellent.The combination of flavours, textures and presentation is top quality. the set menu meant that all had the barramundi roasted which for me was very tasty but a little mushy. Would have preferred to see a more local fresh fish on the menu. My wife's vegetarian request, was well accommodated by the hosts. Long tables meant we met some lovely people and had a very enjoyable night. Would definitely go back again next time in the region.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue with great tasting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Pemberton is so lucky to have Foragers in its location. Beautifully turned out and has the most engaging menus in the South West. Open on Fridays and Saturdays as per advertised times it is such a delight to enjoy the specially designed menu's containing mostly local foods in season. Sophie has her local suppliers and their food is fresh and in season. The entre's, mains and sweets are always outstanding. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphers, amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a surprise find during a recent trrip to Pemberton and it was excellent - one of those 'we'll be back and we must tell our friends' experiences. Quite simply, the meal was outstanding. As much produce as possible is locally produced or sourced and everything is so fresh. The chef is clearly highly experienced and very talented yet the food maintained a wonderful home cooked feel (ok, so it's not really what your average mum would cook, but you get the idea).

The menu changes each week, but they post what is going to be on the menu ahead of time and are willing to accommodate dietary requests. We started with an outstanding mushroom pate (and I don't even like mushrooms!) with spelt toast, followed by fresh sourdough bread and hand churned butter (real butter folks!) with a veal and pork shoulder ragout for mains (in an amazing light sauch - rich but not overwhelmingly tomatoe-y. Apparently leftover champagne was the secret!). After the main meal, the chef comes out to talk about what was cooked and where it was supplied from (I was fascinated to learn she cultivated the starter for her sourdough from grapes on the property). A tremendous dessert of preserved plum and prune tart tartin with cinnamon icecream finished the meal for us. Delicious!

Foragers is outstanding value in a lovely setting. I wasn't too sure about the long table concept and sitting next to complete strangers, but it was great fun and we met some fabulous people (locals and visitors alike). Everything is very cleverly done and reflects a tremendous amount of thought behind every decision. Don't miss this place. I don't think it's going to be a secret for too much longer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simple excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you're a fan of Alice Waters and Chez Panisse, a patron of the slow food movement, or lock ores, or love the food out of your own backyard, make sure you add Foragers on to your list of "must-dos". We had heard vague reviews of this remarkable spot, and had to seek local advice as to its seasonal opening. As luck would have it, we arrived a day after they had reopened, and a quick call, direct to chef Sophie, and we lucked in! On arrival, we couldnt help admiring the beautiful chickens in the coop, or the style of the building itself, built by partner Chris.
Long tables within denoted a shared experience but set up in such a away that one could smile and share, 'oohs' and 'ahhs' with neighbouring patrons, but also hold a private conversation with friends.
The food was superb. The best that they had found. Local cherries, that happened to be sourced from a local commercial green grocer, the finest slice of beef, perfectly poached form Dandarigan (further away but worth it), local kiphlers pulled from the earth that morning. Hand prepared Labna with home sourced horseradish. And of course, local trout, served gravlax style. The tastes were perfectly combined, and celebrated the food in its most honest form.
Chef theatrically entered the auditorium afterwards to do a quick presentation and Q&A, making sure all who had attended that night went away knowing the full purpose of the school, accommodation, and dining room.
Don't go if you aren't prepared to embrace this dedicated, seasonal and professionally philosophy. If you do, forage and you will be rewarded.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foragers also viewed

Pemberton, Western Australia
Pemberton, Western Australia
 
Pemberton, Western Australia
 

Been to Foragers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foragers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.