We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Marron and Trout and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Trout - CLOSED

King Trout
Lot 11 Pemberton/Northcliffe rd | Pemberton, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
0897761352
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $105
Cuisines: Italian, Indian, Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Marron and Trout and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stopped here for a taste or the local trout and was not disappointed. Very tasty and very friendly owner and good local wine at reasonable prices. This is not a fancy dining place, more of a friendly causal place for families and those driving through Pemberton is the local source of Trout for Pemberton so you are going straight to the source if you stop there. Price was about $80 for a lovel marron and trout dish for two with chips and salad. Its dog friendly and relaxing place to stop for lunch. Very friendly and helpful owner with lots of local tips of where to find nice wine and other local places. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Fantastic place, our dogs were welcome and the food and service was great. Highly recommended, especially for those interested in catching your own meal.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely top customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We went to the King Trout Farm in hope that our boys would catch a fish or two for the first time. We were fully equipped with all the gear saved us from bringing ours down. Darrin and Lisa were knowledgeable and very helpful at giving advice to give you the best chance to catch one.
The boys were happy to spend hours waiting patiently for a fish but with no luck. This did not dampen their spirit and they nagged to return the following morning to fish once more. Again we caught nothing but the boys understood that part of the fun was the trying. No doubt we will be returning to the King Trout Farm on our next visit.
The hospitality shown by Darrin and Lisa was second to none and could not have done anything more to make the visit more pleasurable. They even invited our boys to help feed the trout in the hatchery much to their delight. I can only see this place getting better and better, especially after the next release.
We finished fishing when the restaurant was closed so we didn't get to try any dishes. Instead we purchased two trouts to take home. Worth getting IMO.
Thanks Darrin and Lisa for making my our trip memorable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We wanted to visit this place and fish the lakes, We were told that it was closed due to small fish being in the lake and they couldn't guarantee a catch. So disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Trout_2013, Manager at King Trout, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hello,

Many apologies for your inconvenience. Myself and my partner re-opened King Trout on September 1st 2013 as it was closed for over a year as all the fish in the lake and on the property died due to reasons that are too complicated to explain here. The first year in business is always hard and we are no exception. We have a very large 43 acre property, a fish farm and a café to run in a town with only approximately 400 permanent residents. Over the year we have found that Pemberton is very much a tourist town and it is this factor that led us to open on weekends, Public holidays (with no surcharges mind you) and during the school holiday period. In the last year we have had to stock lakes, run a trout and marron farm and maintain it, and run the café also. There are 2500 fish in the lake and the lake does need more stock which will not occur until June 2014 when the trout have been raised to full size. Trout do not just appear, it takes 16 months to get them to a size to put in the lake. While we surely would love to welcome everyone at all times and it is you that we are here for, we also ask that people think about the small business's trying to establish themselves in these harsh economic times before writing harsh reviews. After all, we are trying to establish a place for you the public to go, but we would like to be alive at the end of it. Incidentally, the trout are coming out between 500 and 800 grams but as in all trout fishing, they are difficult to catch. We hope you return because we very much would like you to share what we have here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great food & lovely ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had lunch here went for the whole trout served with chips & salad.You can catch your own & they will cook for you or just order off the menu.The view is beautiful of the lake & forest.The owners are friendly & work hard to make the customer happy.I was most surprised at the wonderful coffee latte I had after my meal it was too good to be true!Well worth a visit !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Trout_2013, Manager at King Trout, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Darrin, my partner who made the coffee for you, boasted much about your comments on his coffee. he also mentioned how you could see how we were just starting up and could see where we were going with the café and fishing experience. Your time and positive feedback is not wasted nor forgotten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Trout also viewed

Pemberton, Western Australia
Pemberton, Western Australia
 
Pemberton, Western Australia
Pemberton, Western Australia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Trout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.