We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gnocched off my feet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Trout - CLOSED

King Trout
Lot 11 Pemberton/Northcliffe rd | Pemberton, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
0897761352
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $105
Cuisines: Italian, Indian, Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Gnocched off my feet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Took the kids on their first fishing trip - without the hassle of bringing our own gear etc. No fish, but the food was good and the environment friendly. They also had some great outdoor kids toys for the kids to play with whilst waiting for lunch, although in the end the kids found having stick races in the running brook more entertaining! One of the lunch specials was a gnocchi and it was fantastic. Two of us had it and both of us were of the same opinion. The kids fish and chips was made with real fish and was really excellent quality for a kids meal. We thought the marron / trout options were a bit pricey (almost 50% more) compared to the prices of other places in Pemberton so we weren't tempted to try it. Perhaps if they were a bit better priced we might have tried that part of the menu. However the rest of the menu was well priced, which is why we decided to stay there for lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Trout_2013, Manager at King Trout, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback and so glad you stayed and enjoyed your lunches. We have taken note of your comments about the price of the marron meals. As a response we have taken $5 off the marron meal. As a guide or a bit or general info, restaurants and cafe's pay around $30 - $40 a kg for marron. If people go fishing for their own marron in our lake we charge $50 a kilo. At the fish market in Innaloo, Perth, you will pay $24,99 per 300g - 400g whole marron. I hope we can get you out fishing for your own marron next time, when we can kill, clean and cook for you and serve it to you on a plate in the café. Much more fun and frsh that way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Place To Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went twice in 3 days during the holidays and thought it was fantastic. Darren and the staff are excellent and our young son caught his first trout which they cooked for us and it was superb. As with fishing anywhere you can't make fish bite as per the previous post which I thought was very rich! We'll certainly be back

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Trout_2013, Manager at King Trout, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank for your time and response,
So glad to hear you had the experience we wish for everyone when they come. It is very difficult sometimes when people do not catch a fish and are disappointed because it disappoints us too. We only hope we can improve the amount of people who enjoy themselves like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a great day fishing with the kids, the fish were big and extra tasty!!!. Many people not catching any fish and judging by the way they were fishing I am not surprised. I have been trout fishing for years and they are not the easiest fish to catch, and i think people think the fish catch themselves. The staff are excellent and the food is to die for!. We will be back next holidays for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Trout_2013, Manager at King Trout, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.

It is true that some people have never fished before when they come here and it's quite a sight to see. Its even better when they do haul one in. Like myself sometimes you can sit there for hours and the minnows are eating my bait while I watch the trout eating the minnows. Still haven't found the secret, I think that's why we use nets in the ocean. I'm glad you didn't go hungry and trout are a nice fish to catch and eat, but there are unfortunately days when others unlike yourself are left a bit high and dry. Always tomorrow for them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Fantastic service, lovely atmosphere, gorgeous food and friendly staff. Darren was a great host. Cosy environment with wood wire. Great view of the lake while lunching. Definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Trout_2013, Manager at King Trout, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback,
It's all that we can ask that people are happy with the service, food and atmosphere. King Trout is about relaxing and a if you like you can do some passive activity like fishing and marroning. Still in the throws of finishing the set up of the business, we only hope to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic full day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Thank you to the very friendly staff again for our annual visit to King Trout. We arrived at 11am on a wintry day for a fun fishing adventure and we were not disappointed. We fished for a couple of hours, sadly not landing anything, but hey that's fishing, you must be patient and the conditions have to be right. We weren't put off but by now we were all hungry so we headed back up to the restaurant for a delicious meal. The pan fried trout was fresh and tasty, salad was crisp and my husband would recommend the steak sandwich. We headed back down to the lake for round two and the bites were now starting to happen. It wasn't too long before our son landed his first trout and at 380gms it was a good size to keep. By the end we landed 4 trout to take home, on for each of us, the largest being 480gms. The fish were cleaned for us, a job I don't really enjoy, and wrapped for our journey back to Donnelly River. They roughly worked out to be $9 a fish, you can't get any fresher than that and I feel a good price. Many other people came to fish throughout the day but all only lasted about half an hour and left empty handed. Yes it is a lake that is stocked with trout but there are no guarantees that the fish will bite in the time you allow for it to happen in, you must be patient like with any fishing. We finally left King Trout at 4pm for our 1hr drive back to Donnelly River. We look forward to our return trip next year.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Trout_2013, Manager at King Trout, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Music to our ears. While we realise in a world where life has become time poor, it is ever so gratifying for us to have guests that can fully enjoy what we offer here. We would like everyone to catch fish because it takes effort and time and money to stock the lake, it does call for some patience and sometimes forgiveness of the customer. Thank you for your patience, I bet you had a great time-out down here in this beautiful part of our state. A great attitude!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Trout also viewed

Pemberton, Western Australia
Pemberton, Western Australia
 
Pemberton, Western Australia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Trout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.