We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karri Valley Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Karri Valley Resort to your Saves list
Karri Valley Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vasse Highway, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pemberton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Although the resort is a little "old", it all seems to just work.
The place is so beautiful and full of things to do.
We had a room with the balcony on the water! The room was very simple but very nice at the same time. The tv was old school with only 3 channels (but we weren't really expecting much)
Definitely not the place to go if you are looking to party, but for relaxing and having a good weekend with your partner I'd highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genmgr101, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Many thanks for your review and we are pleased to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one.

Karri Valley is certainly located in a great spot for those who just want to switch off and unwind, the walks around the lake take you deep into the Karri Forest.
With the Beedelup National Park surrounding the resort, you really are taken right back to nature.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    98
    60
    29
    24
See reviews for
76
119
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a beautiful place to stay, but definately needs renovating. The place is looking very old and tired. Carpetss were stained, shower had marks all on the floor, TV needs to be upgraded. Towels needs replacing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genmgr101, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review as we appreciate all feedback relating to our resort.

Karri Valley Resort is certainly located in a terrific spot, with some lovely nature walks and trails surrounding the property which enable our guests to take in the trully unique Karri Valley experience.

In the very near future the property is ear marked for an upgrade which we hope will see some major improvements to both the guest accommodation and services here at Karri Valley Resort. As these changes do take some time to plan we hope to see these come into place soon.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We did our research well on this accommodation before staying here, therefore we were not disappointed by expecting 5 star! It is a 3 star resort but with exceptionally friendly staff - from all over the world! Our room was lakeside - in the double story building. I had requested a single story but it did not matter as we did not have neighbours on either side nor directly above. The room was perfectly fine. A little musty smell and I think the smell from smoke drifts in for those smoking on the balcony and permeates the carpet/walls. Maybe they could upgrade some of the cabins to 4 star with aircon & make them non-smoking! The tea/coffee area was fully stocked with plenty of milk. There were no ceiling fans but we did have a portable fan which was sufficient. The bed was comfy, the shower worked well and the room was clean.

We had dinner here - and it was superb! Compliments to the chef for beautiful well cooked food. The steaks were cooked perfectly and delicious & the dessert went down a treat. Breakfast was a buffet in the morning. $10 for continental and $20 for full. A nice small choice of cereals, toast & spreads, muffins, bacon, eggs, beans, hash browns, fruit, yoghurt etc. We didn't feel like we were missing out on anything.

This is a fantastic place for families and still affordable for them with many activities for the kids & adults alike. The biggest downside to our stay were the March flies which curbed the activities for us (except the canoeing - the flies did not bother us on the lake). Luckily the flies are seasonal. There are plenty of walking tracks here to explore and things to keep everyone active. We are not fisher people, so did not try our hand at catching a trout.

Overall a great little spot and especially recommended for the kids.

Room Tip: Lakeside & single story if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genmgr101, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and of course we are extremely pleased to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one.

The property is certainly situated in a beautiful spot with our Lakeside rooms having uninterrupted views of Beedelup Lake where one can just switch off and take in the surroundings.

Your complementary comments particularly those relating to your experience in the restaurant will certainly be passed onto the team as I know that they will appreciate the recognition for their efforts.

Thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Arrived here at 12.30 only to be told that we were unable to check in until 2pm. We drove back in to Pemberton, but most of the places are closed on Mondays, the cafe we went to closed at 2pm so we had to eat at the Resort. Pleasantly surprised by the Lakeside room, beautifully decorated and the view is to die for. One thing to check - we both went on the balcony and it locked behind us! I had to climb down the balcony and nearly ended up in the lake, when we tried it again it didn't lock behind us. The food was good if not a bit pricey, would probably stay longer to try the facilities if I were to return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genmgr101, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The views over Lake Beedelup are stunning and we look forward to your return to try out all the activities on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This statement, proudly displayed at reception, is heroically adhered to in maintaining the 1980's pre-internet atmosphere and facilities, but not the price. Make no mistake, the 'resort' is in magnificent surroundings, so if you are looking for a self-catering cabin for a few days with young children this place may suit. However, if you enjoy a drink in a bar, a coffee in a café or even life after 9pm then you will be disappointed here. You are unlikely to catch any diseases as it is generally clean. But there appears to be no investment in upgrade to modern standards and the tiredness is visible everywhere - clearly displayed at the old reception on the highway, now labelled 'staff quarters' and where old chairs go to die amongst preserved, un-emptied ashtrays. The out-of-balance fans in the rooms are a reminder of times past, but the showers are powerful.

It is relatively remote. On the first night you may dine at the restaurant with enticing descriptions of the culinary delights of the head chef. The food is fine, but ordinary - although leaving breakfast later than 8:30am will involve removing the skin from the baked beans, and they do provide ketchup if you ask. On a second night, you will find the 44km round trip to Pemberton quite attractive, and worth the adventure. By the next morning, you may not mind being ejected at 10am sharp to make way for the new wave of inmates. Bring everything you need, the single can of tuna in the shop may be gone when you get there. Clearly stock isn't high on the investment priority although they clearly sell a lot of salt and pepper.

This isn't a resort. As others note it is a campsite for families. As a middle-aged couple visiting Western Australia for the first time, this place stands out for its mediocrity amongst an otherwise marvellous experience in a fabulous part of the world where people are friendly and the accommodation has been first class. If you are looking for this, then Karri Valley should probably not be on your itinerary, there are plenty of other places around Pemberton from which you can visit the forest.

I would rate this poor if it were not for the price being similar to that of a decent hotel in London.

Room Tip: The lake view in room 4 is obscured by vegetation. There is no air conditioning in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genmgr101, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for the review, however disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations.

As you have highlighted, the property is situated in a magnificent location, nestled on the side of Lake Beedelup and surrounded by a towering forest which certainly allows our guests to switch off, recharge and just soak up the peaceful environment.

The resort is showing her age in some areas and there are plans in the very near future to freshen up the property as part of our ongoing maintenance program which we hope will value add to the guests overall experience here at Karri Valley. Your feedback relating to our breakfast buffet and Activities Store will certainly be addressed with the department heads concerned so that these issues may be rectified accordingly.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We did not stay at Karri Valley Resort, but thanks to a previous reviewer we found out about their family day pass for $20 a day. What a wonderful time we had utilising a range of activities available on a very hot January weekend. We arrived at about 11am and were greeted by friendly staff at the activities centre. We then took the opportunity to row, kayak and canoe on the beautiful lake. I can't comment on the food in the restaurant but the view would be magnificent as was the view from the river. We took a walk over to the mini golf course set amongst natural bushland (beautifully shaded on the hot day we were there). We picnicked on their foreshore before taking the kids to a fun craft session in the cool games room. The following morning we returned to the resort for a hit of tennis and another canoeing session on the beautiful lake, this time taking off further down the waterways - absolutely divine. Our children had a swim in the lake prior to our 24 hour pass expiring. This is a beautiful setting and a lovely way to spend some family time together. What incredible value for money the pass was for us. We would have readily paid for another day if we hadn't had other things planned for the Pemberton area. We were surprised to realise that access to the facilities for residents still required payment, but as a visitor this was great value.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genmgr101, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for the kind review and it was great to hear that your visit to the resort was an enjoyable one.

I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of our Day Pass and escape the heat and enjoy the facilities here at the resort. It really is a terrific spot for the whole family to relax and spend some quality time together.

Hope you will be able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our second stay at Karri Valley Resort, and we loved it. The view from our Lakeside Chalet was magnificent. It was a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. You can't help but switch off because of the lack of mobile or internet reception.
My kids enjoyed boating, swimming, cycling, archery, mini golf and table tennis. Fishing was frustrating because of the lack of fish in the lake. Walks along the forest pathways were very relaxing and refreshing.
I would certainly recommend this amazing resort for a relaxing getaway; but please do not expect luxuries. This is a rustic, back to nature experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genmgr101, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We really appreciate you deciding to return to Karri Valley Resort with your family to enjoy the peace and natural environment along with spending some quality time sharing a number of the activities here on the property. The trails around the lake are truly magnificent with the tall Karri trees towering over you.

It’s disappointing to hear that you didn’t have much luck with the trout, we have however just topped up our stock levels in the lake and I believe they are now starting to bite.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemberton hotels
0.1 mi away
Forest Lodge Resort
Forest Lodge Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pemberton Hotel
9.4 mi away
Scarlet Woods Chalets
Scarlet Woods Chalets
#1 of 25 in Pemberton
5.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rainbow Trail Chalets
Rainbow Trail Chalets
#5 of 25 in Pemberton
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.0 mi away
Karri Forest Motel
Karri Forest Motel
#4 of 6 in Pemberton
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Karri Valley Chalets
Karri Valley Chalets
#20 of 25 in Pemberton
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karri Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karri Valley Resort

Address: Vasse Highway, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karri Valley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karri Valley Resort is a 3.5 star family resort in a beautiful, natural forest setting. Choose from a self contained 2 or 3 bedroom rustic chalet or a hotel style room on the edge of the Lake. The setting is spectacular, amongst towering karri trees bordering trout filled Lake Beedelup. Kookaburras, kangaroos, emus – truly an Australian getaway. Activities and facilities include: Canoeing, trout fishing, mini golf, archery, tennis, feeding the farm animals, bush walks, restaurant, basic general store and bottle shop.We are situated in an area where we have no mobile phone or internet coverage, so you can really escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Karri Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karri Valley Hotel Pemberton
Karri Valley Pemberton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karri Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.