We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and last time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Karri Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Karri Valley Resort to your Saves list
Karri Valley Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vasse Highway, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pemberton
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First and last time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed there for two nights for our anniversary weekend, bad decision! Although it looks nice and romantic on the advertisement, the place was nothing like it. We had continental breakfast included in our room so we paid $10/person for upgrade to the full buffet breakfast and it was disgusting. Bacon was cold, eggs were over seasoned, wouldn't even pay $2 if we knew how bad it was. We tried to get a table for dinner as the resort is far away from everything else but were told they were fully booked. We were told to either order from the in house dining menu or eat out to Pemberton. If we wanted to eat in Pemberton, we would have stayed there instead of driving further to Karri Valley. At his point, we had started drinking so we couldn't drive, we were quiet annoyed and hungry so we decided to order from the in house dining menu. Guess what..we were told to go pick it up from the restaurant when the meals are ready! And the meals was once again terrible!
Would not recommend this place to anyone, except for families with children. Make sure you bring plenty of food though because getting a table for dinner there seems impossible even though you're in house guests. And don't expect to get any kind of service because the staff could not care less!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and of course we are very disappointed that your stay did not meet with your expectations.

Your comments relating to our buffet breakfast will be addressed with our Head Chef so that the shortcomings you have highlighted are rectified and we are able to prevent a further recurrence.

Unfortunately during weekends our restaurant does become fully booked very quickly and we regret that you were not able to dine on this occasion. The in-room dining menu is an alternative option for our guests and is offered when we are unable to take any more bookings in the restaurant, however due to the nature of the resort we do not provide room service. Your feedback regarding the disappointing in-house meal will also be share with our head chef.

Thank you again for the review and for allowing us the opportunity to follow up and address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    89
    55
    29
    22
See reviews for
70
111
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here a few times in the last 6 years. The food at the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced. Staff very helpful and friendly.
The location is perfect and the surroundings are magnificent. The rooms however are very basic. The carpet is very dirty and needs to be cleaned. The shower is also dirty and stained. Bed linen and sheets also dirty with stains. TVs are prehistoric with no reception. Would be better off with no TV. Rooms are very old and have not been renovated for a long time. Very hard to get a good nights sleep as you can hear snoring and any other noises from other rooms. All in all very disappointing this time around. Not worth the price we paid!
Would not stay again unless the place undergoes serious renovations.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quieter as you do not hear footsteps and movements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for the review. Our carpets are stained from the winter mud and are undergoing a thorough steam clean shortly. The sheets and other issues have been followed up with our linen laundry. We are pleased that the service was greqat as we try to ensure all guests have a good experience at Karri Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have been staying at Karri Valley Resort every year for about 6 years. We go with another family and always enjoy these holidays immensely. Loads of activities for the kids and the whole family. Our kids love the archery, table tennis hut and the kayaks. We love the walk up to Beedleup waterfall. Great to get the family away from the internet and mobile phones. Wonderful forrest location with balconeys frequently visited by kookaburras and parrots. Wood fired pot belly gives great warmth on cold winter nights. Cooking facilities basic but adequate. Staff friendly and helpful, a mix of down to earth Aussies and European travellers. Our dinner in the restaurant was delectable this year. The kids love the buffet breakfast (kids 12 and under eat free with their parents). Shared with another family the cost is very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that your recent stay with us was an enjoyable one.

The forest and surrounding areas are certainly lush and green, particularly at this time of the year and it’s great that the children were able to partake in a number of the activities that we have available on the resort. I am also pleased that you enjoyed dining in our Lakeside restaurant and were able to take advantage of the “Kids Eat Free” promotion which we currently have on offer. Your complimentary comments will most certainly be passed onto the kitchen team.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed first time in 2003 and then again in 2004, we fell in love with the place, views and staff. The food was unforgettable...in an awesome way. 10 years on and its gone to pieces. Our room was neat but the carpets were yuck. One of our bedside lamps tripped a fuse and they told us just to reset it!! Is that not what we paid $290 for the night for?? Sent a email to the Resort Manager and still haven't got a reply!
Stay somewhere else people!!! We are NEVER going back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the review dieselndust. We are sorry that we did not live up to your past experience and we will address the issues you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here in the Jan 2013. While the location is stunning the resort is shabby, grungy and in desperate need of an update. The rooms were ok but the carpets looked filthy. The food in the restaurant was mediocre and at breakfast the plates and cups were dirty. Someone needs to buy this place and refurbish the lot. Sadly like many places in WA we have these stunning locations with very average facilities. It doesn't have to be 5 star but 'family' accommodation can be so much better. There is so much potential here. When your outside it's wonderful but when you go inside that sense is abruptly left at the door. We certainly would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. The property is under constant maintenance to ensure all the features that keep us at 3.5 star standard are maintained. Whilst our property is over 30 years old, it is kept clean and comfortable, with everything in good working order. The location is spectacular as you say and is the reason why guests stay here and return over and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just spend a couple of nights in the 3 bedroom chalet.
The location is fantastic as it is tucked away in the Karri Forest which gives you plenty of tranquility and privacy. However, it lacks of the basics.

It has NO:
-mobile signals
-Internet access
-TV reception

So if you intend to stay there, make sure you have your own entertainment.

Overall, the chalets are nice but cleanliness is a concern. The carpet seems stained and dirty.
It would be a perfect place to stay if there is internet and TV reception.

We had the locals (Kookaburras and Parrots) visiting us on our balcony wanting to be fed so that was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your review Jakobee. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have no mobile or internet reception at Karri Valley or TV reception in the chalets, we are sorry you were not aware before your arrival and will follow up your booking channel to ensure that the information is correct. Whilst the carpets are stained, due to the mud in winter, they are cleaned, as is the entire chalet, in between each stay. Our location is our outstanding feature, the wildlife and the karri tree forest is truly refreshing. It is a wonderful escape from all the noise and clutter of city life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

No room services, staff took it apon themselves to decide what choices you should make, beer & wine selection, they must think they are mind readers & very bad ones at that. Price of breakfast was ridiculously over priced.
Location perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Colleen L, Thank you for your review. Would you mind contacting the property to give more detail and enable us to follow up your concern? You are correct we do not have room service and we do recommend booking ahead for the restaurant. Our location is superb and we thank you for the 5/5 rating. We look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Karri Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karri Valley Resort

Address: Vasse Highway, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karri Valley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karri Valley Resort is a 3.5 star family resort in a beautiful, natural forest setting. Choose from a self contained 2 or 3 bedroom rustic chalet or a hotel style room on the edge of the Lake. The setting is spectacular, amongst towering karri trees bordering trout filled Lake Beedelup. Kookaburras, kangaroos, emus – truly an Australian getaway. Activities and facilities include: Canoeing, trout fishing, mini golf, archery, tennis, feeding the farm animals, bush walks, restaurant, basic general store and bottle shop.We are situated in an area where we have no mobile phone or internet coverage, so you can really escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Karri Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karri Valley Hotel Pemberton
Karri Valley Pemberton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karri Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.