We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clover Cottage Country Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clover Cottage Country Retreat to your Saves list
Clover Cottage Country Retreat
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Wheatley Coast Road & Lentom Road, Pemberton, Western Australia 6258, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wow. We got more than we expected. We were two couples, and the floor layout is suited to this arrangement with the bathroom and seperate toilet in between. I had called and wanted to check that our cottage was well located. No need to worry, they are all well placed and completely private. You will feel as though you are the only people there. The smell of the bread baking as you enter is such a treat. Then you look around and see that everything is of good quality and spotlessly clean. The high ceilings and wooden beams, such charm! The kitchen has everything you need, and if you should want something else, just ask! Everything is there, salt and pepper, dish cloth, tea towels, plastic wrap and tin foil. The sofas are comfy, and we didn't light the wood fire but it would be wonderful in winter. The verandah is a wonderful place to sit with the cheeky birds. They come and peck right at your toast crumbs, so of course we have lots. Just gorgeous. There is a convection microwave instead of an oven, and we made use of the barbeque on the verandah. What more can I say. If you are looking for rustic character and quality this is the place for you. We loved it. We didn't catch any fish, but it is the wrong time of year, too hot for them at the top. Thank you Paul and Petrina.

Room Tip: All the cottages are as good as each other. Completely private witha good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutfishing, Owner at Clover Cottage Country Retreat, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and comments. It's a pity the trout aren't so enthusiastic during the warmer months, but fortunately the redfin perch are usually more plentiful in the summer. The little wrens are very cheeky, arent they?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Awesome weekend away. We are keen mountain bike riders and the tracks along the river are fantastic.
Our hosts could not do enough for us, the freshly baked bread on arrival was a really nice touch.

Great place to just relax but there is lots to do if you are energetic. The trout fishing facilities were first class.

Excellent, would highly recommend. Beautiful location, the scenery from our cottage balcony and the surrounding area was breathtaking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

There is a low stone wall and wooden gate at the front of our picture-book cottage. Sapphire-blue fairy wrens (and the pale grey females) come right up onto the verandah and inspect our every move - in case we drop a crumb or two, so of course we do! Willie Wagtails chase behind and under the sheep that munch on the pasture on the other side of the wall. My husband caught and released two decent size rainbows. There are plenty of fish in both dams. Chironomids seemed to be the main insect diet and quite a few of these diminutive insects also enjoyed a sip of red wine from my glass! The trout also feed on galaxiids, the minnows that we used to call gillieminkies in Africa.
A nice touch is the fresh bread, baking in the bread maker, when guests arrive. We loved staying here and will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My boyfriend Jon and I just came home from our second stay at Clover Cottage. The first trip was for 3 nights in September. We liked it so much that we booked a second - a quick 2 night stay in October. We'd read many great reviews here before deciding to book the first time.

My first impression of Clover Cottage when arriving - it looks so beautiful! The light was shining through the trees along the drive and it looked so peaceful and serene.

We met Paul and Petrina at the office to grab the key and they explained the options to paddle, fish the 2 dams outside the cottages or the trophy dam a little drive away. During our first stay Petrina recommended climbing Mt Chudalup. We went there and I had second thoughts - thinking it looked too hard - but I did it and the view was SO amazing when we got to the top!

The cottages are kept really nice - clean and tidy with a homey feel. The combination of being outside, waking early and breathing the country air made the beds feel incredibly comfy. I haven't slept like that since I was a kid :) Being away from the stress of work also helped me have a wonderful sleep.

I love animals - so being able to feed the alpacas, donkeys, chooks and pat the dogs was great. There is so much wildlife on your doorstep - so many different types of birds. Each cottage is a little different. In Cottage 2 we had a cheeky pair of parrots visit. In Cottage 3 there was a small bunny with something wrong with his eyes that lived in the bush by the back veranda. At first it made me sad to see he had something wrong with both eyes, but then I thought about it - he is living in the safest place, where no other animal can hurt him (apart from the birds).

Jon loved fishing for trout - he tried the trophy dam twice with no luck, but that's fishing! He did catch a fair few at the dams near the cottages, which kept him happy. For couples where only one likes fishing - I really enjoyed watching the wildlife, reading my book with a picnic laid out or taking photos while Jon fished. I was also helping him spot where the trout were rising :)

We loved our stay so much that when we returned from our first visit we planted ourselves a small veggie garden to try and bring the farm life home. I wouldn't be surprised if we end up moving somewhere rural eventually!

We'd live at Clover Cottage if we could! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We've stayed at Clover Cottage on a few occasions, but each time is just as special! Peaceful, relaxing, log fire, warm bread and trout fishing. Caught a few keepers which tasted excellent and tried the trophy lake with luck! Recommended to anyone after a great getaway!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutfishing, Owner at Clover Cottage Country Retreat, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Glad the trout were biting and showing their style!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We again decided to visit our favourite long weekend place, Clover Cottage Manjimup once again made it special for us. The fireplace again came in useful no thanks to the weather but this made it such a tranquil atmosphere. The cottages were the usual top notch & the dams have trout & red fin perth. The trophy lake is a fantastic piece of water for for the Fly Fishing enthusiast. This was our 4th visit & we are busy planning our 5th right now.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutfishing, Owner at Clover Cottage Country Retreat, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Great to see our regular guests still enjoying the country life! We feel privileged to think other people see Clover Cottage as a special place to stay. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

What can I say, from the moment we arrived we had a warm welcome by Paul and Petrina and then off to the cottage to find a loaf of bread baking!! Having had the privledge of staying in some nice places here and overseas I can say my wife and I were more than impressed with Clover Cottage. The cottages were top rate and the scenery was wonderful. I am a keen fly fisherman and there were trout there but I was not up to getting them! Who cares, it was great either way. Thanks Paul and Petrina, we needed to stay more than three night, will be back!!!!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clover Cottage Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Cottage Country Retreat

Address: Wheatley Coast Road & Lentom Road, Pemberton, Western Australia 6258, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clover Cottage Country Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Chalets | Spa | Tennis | Quality Fishing. A country retreat built around Clover Cottage, an historic homestead in the heart of the South West, established in 1875. Overlooking the lakes and the river are four superbly built and luxury appointed limestone chalets, each with cosy wood fires, private spas and spacious verandas, making it not only a must for keen fisherman but the ideal place for a romantic getaway or family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clover Cottage Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clover Cottage Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.