We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Splendid Wren Pemberton Bed & Breakfast Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemberton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Splendid Wren Pemberton Bed & Breakfast Retreat
Save
You added A Splendid Wren Pemberton Bed & Breakfast Retreat to your Saves list
12 Wellburn Place, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Pemberton B&B and Inns
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Splendid Wren Retreat is indeed splendid. Tracey provides a warm welcome, as does the family dog, Gomez the Black. The setting is peaceful amongst karri, marri and jarrah trees and the rooms are very comfortable. A highlight is the food - superb breakfasts plus the opportunity to have evening meals there. Don't miss this opportunity! Tracie's skill and love of cooking is evident in her poached trout and truffled chicken. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

There are many things to like about 'A Splendid Wren', but all of them come back to the owner,Tracy Leigh. Her charming personality, and generosity of time and spirit make one's stay truly special. And then there is her cooking: absolutely scrumptious and she'll accommodate any kind of dietary restriction, and still come up with a gourmet meal! The rooms are spacious, squeaky clean, with all of the amenities one would expect at a much more expensive B and B. The setting is magical and the area has so many attractions that it is easy to spend a few days here, being pampered. This was my second visit--and I can't wait for the next. Well done Tracy--'A Splendid Wren' goes from strength to strength. Give Gomez a pat for me!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms at 'A Splendid Wren'--one as good as the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Fantastic breakfast and dinners, all home made.
Cute dog and super friendly hosts.
In the woods, very quiet and great value.
Walls are a touch thin... But would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Of all the B and Bs we have used, this was far and away the best. The rooms are spacious, clean and beautifully presented with excellent heating/air conditioning and walk-in wardrobes. A lounge/dining room is provided for guests with TV, a wide selection of DVDs and even sherry and port!

The food is of a truly exceptional standard with an extremely wide breakfast selection which includes home-made bread. The evening meals are of a quality which goes way beyond what one could normally expect when staying in a B and B and, after eating there on the first night, it never entered our heads to try elsewhere.

Tracy is a most welcoming hostess who is always attentive the the needs of her guests. She will prepare meals which are not even on her menu if they are requested. We felt truly "at home".

If we return to the area on our next trip from the UK, we will make a stay at "A Splendid Wren" a top priority.

Thanks Tracy!

Kath and Alan

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendidwren, Owner at A Splendid Wren Pemberton Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Many thanks Alan and Kath. It was a pleasure to host you and spoil you! I hope to see you again one day.

Best wishes for the future,
Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Splendid Wren was highly rated by Trip Advisor which was a key factor in choosing it over others we had tried in the Pemberton area in the past. However, I have to say that the glowing reviews did not do it justice as it exceeded all expectations and turned out to be the best B&B we had ever stayed at by miles. While the accommodation was fantastic being situated in a beautiful setting with absolutely every comfort we could possibly need, the real gem turned out to be our host Tracy. As well as being genuinely friendly and helpful she was an astonishing good chef. We had intended to eat out on most evenings but decided to try her home cooking on the first night. We were so glad we did because quite frankly it turned out to be the best meal any of us had every eaten, even including top restaurants in Perth and all over the UK. From then on we ate at the Splendid Wren every evening and the food was unbelievably good. We tried everything on the menu and it was all to the same standard. Upon special request Tracy also prepared her own version of Marron and also a Thai Green Curry dish which also turned out to be spectacular. We gave Tracy free range to suprise us with desserts and all of them were amazing. We can't recommend the Splendid Wren and Tracy's food highly enough. This includes breakfast which was also better than anthing any of us had ever had before. Absolutely brilliant - well done Tracy! We'll be back!

Room Tip: The 4 of us occupied both room which were excellent. Endless hot water, a firm extremely comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendidwren, Owner at A Splendid Wren Pemberton Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thanks for the great review Bernie and Anita! Great to meet you and host you along with Kath and Alan. Looking forward to spoiling you again in October!!

best wishes
Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Splendid Wren is the perfect retreat for anyone wanting to get away from it all. I would and have, recommended my friends go there! It wont disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was most delightful!

A Splendid Wren is well located with Manjimup about half an hour away, and the town of Pemberton barely 5km away.

The room+ensuite was clean and comfortable whilst the guest lounge has a lovely woodfire and is where meals are served.
Satellite TV, an extensive DVD library, wi-fi and tea/coffee/port are available at the guest lounge in addition to the in-room TV/DVD player and fridge.

On the night we arrived, Tracy cooked us a divine dinner comprising a hearty beef soup, truffled chicken, poached marron and tart au chocolate.
Her breakfasts are absolutely generous and enjoyable too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemberton hotels
0.7 mi away
Karri Valley Resort
Karri Valley Resort
#2 of 6 in Pemberton
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest Lodge Resort
Forest Lodge Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pemberton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Scarlet Woods Chalets
Scarlet Woods Chalets
#1 of 25 in Pemberton
5.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rainbow Trail Chalets
Rainbow Trail Chalets
#5 of 25 in Pemberton
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Karri Forest Motel
Karri Forest Motel
#4 of 6 in Pemberton
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Splendid Wren Pemberton Bed & Breakfast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Splendid Wren Pemberton Bed & Breakfast Retreat

Address: 12 Wellburn Place, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful timber house set on five acres of tall timber only 4kms from Pemberton, Western Australia. Accommodates up to 6 people with each room having its own ensuite. One king room, two queen rooms and a twin room, all air conditioned. Wood fire in winter, gourmet kitchen, large screen TV, Bluray player, everything you need for a comfotable and enjoyable family holiday. Your furry friends are also welcome with a kennel in a lockable compound available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Splendid Wren Pemberton Bed & Breakfast Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.