We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, terrible venue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tai Wah Chinese Restaurant

Tai Wah Chinese Restaurant
125 Mandurah Terrace, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia
08 9535 4309
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 106 Restaurants in Mandurah
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This little place had yummy food, but terrible venue. The prices were expensive and you would think they could do something nie with the place with all that money. Toilets are down some terrifying stairs and have crude and rude graffiti all over.

The food took a long time. The service was slow.

Id probably get takeaway, but not eat here ever again.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“My guests were not impressed with their food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We visited Tai Wah a few years ago and we liked their food... But not this visit though..

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwellingup, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely food and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Came here for a birthday dinner and was immediately impressed with the staff. We had our just turned one year old with us and they brought out plastic things to keep him amused and weren't annoyed by the mess he made dropping food from his high chair whilst trying to eat! The food was beautiful and the servings generous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yummo to Dine In - Pretty great Takeaways too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

This is not fancy at all!!!! But the food is very good! One of the best in Mandurah and within half an hour travel of Mandurah!
We often have the take away which is very good - my husband loves it! (I am not the biggest fan of chinese really).
I really do like dining in there - nothing fancy about the restaurant at all - but the food is quick and fresh.
They don't normally give it out unless you request it - but they do have a separate Chinese menu - this may be for people who really do like normal "Chinese" Chinese rather than the Western Style. We have ordered off this several times and have thoroughly enjoyed how wonderful the food was.
I have never had bad food here over the many times that we have either eaten in or had take away. I also think that it is very good value too.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quairading, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best chinese ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The decor here is a bit tacky-as is the case in most chinese restaurants. But it's clean-my only complaint is the location of the toilet. The food however is really good and actually has flavour. Prices are on par with most chinese.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tai Wah Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Mandurah, Western Australia
Mandurah, Western Australia
 

Been to Tai Wah Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tai Wah Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.