We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but very slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mandurah Quay Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandurah Quay Apartments to your Saves list
Mandurah Quay Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   40 Marina Quay Drive | Erskine, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food but very slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the Forte Mandurah Quay Waterside restaurant after a game of golf. Hoping for a quick snack type lunch our group of 7 waited for about an hour to get our meals. We found that really poor, and yet the food when it finally arrived was pleasant and tasty. The squid serves were quite small but for $15 each it was acceptable. 3 had a beef hotpot and all enjoyed the meal. You would give the food a above average classification, but on the day the service was very slow. Perhaps they were short staffed in the kitchen. There were not a lot at the restaurant at the time. We have been here in the past and usually it is very good. Location on the water is lovely.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed here and thought that the price was great. The pool was big and spacious, so didn't feel overcrowded. On the downside, the customer service is lacking. Receptionist wasn't friendly or welcoming and wasn't happy to photocopy an urgent document for me. Despite me explaining that I only asked as it was urgent. The Sunday full buffet breakfast was dismal and disappointing. There was such a poor selection & the set up was very average. We had real difficulty placing a room service order for dinner in the apartment. There are no menus in the apatments at all, or instructions on how to go about ordering. We didn't know what was available to order, prices, or the ordering times. We had to phone several times before someone at the restaurant would answer the phone. It turns out that there was a wedding reception on and for this reason they do not answer their phone. Be aware that apartment guests seem to be forgotten when a function is on. Apartment wasn't entirely clean on arrival, a few bugs about the place. Pool area also closes early, too early we thought. Careful, because if you are in the pool area at closing time, you are locked in we were told. Had a sleepless night due to rowdy, drunken post wedding reception guests on the verandah next to us at all hours. We were unable to open our glass sliding door to our courtyard or use our courtyard area, as the neighbor smoked outside continuously next door to us. Cigarette smoke blew straight in to our apartment when we opened the door, not pleasant or good for the older kids or our baby. When checking out, I asked the receptionist if smoking is permitted on the premises. She said she had no idea, which struck me as odd! She does work there after all. She even asked another staff member who claimed they didn't know either. Whilst the apartments are a great price, the customer service is lacking. And be mindful that functions are frequent here and could impact on your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed last weekend with my family and had a wonderful time. Staff were very friendly, rooms spotless and bigger than expected. Pool was great for all of us to unwind. Room service offered a full menu.Our meals were delightful. We will definately be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently stayed here with friends and found the rooms very spacious and clean. Location is great and such a lovely area. The pool is big and clean. grounds maintained nicely. The staff we associated with were just lovely and very helpful. Restaurant food good, nice portions. We will definitely be keen to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great place to stay if you have a small family. Great location, quiet, easy trip to Mandurah. Rooms/apartments are clean and tidy and well fitted out with modern appliances. Pool is big and clean, small gym, dated tennis courts. Only down fall is the mozzies are thick and the aircons are loud. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that have been recenlty refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Recently had five nights here. Guaranteed room rate was disputed until I produced confirmation despite deposit having been paid. Guaranteed restaurant voucher was also refused. Restaurant not open for breakfast till 9am. Which I thought was strange for a resort at peak time of year.
Advertised that crab nets were available but when went to hire them was advised only three and they had already been taken.
Rooms nice and roomy, very clean and comfortable however toilet in one bathrooms did not flush.
Outside a different story. Big dump bins full and with rubbish spilling out onto the roadway and bin lids unable to be closed because of build up of rubbish.
Outside area grubby with paper plates, plastic water bottle and plastic bags clearly visible outside of room in garden beds. Smell from fish or crab offal permeated pool area.
Would think twice about staying here at busy times. Also spoke to other pool users who were not guests but locals who purchased yearly membership for pool and gym area who also brought visiting friends with them.
Overall rather disappointed in outside area which let the whole place down as it seemed in need of proper and regular cleaning and maintenance.

Room Tip: Upstairs room best less noise and more fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding and arrived a couple of hours before - time to shower and get ready. We were horrified to find the apartment full of furniture, it was obviously being used as a store room. I knew the place was fully booked and was unsure what would happen. We clearly couldn''t use any of the downstairs area with a couch blocking the kitchen.
The staff dealt with the situation promptly however, quickly moving us to another apartment before emptying the apartment of all the furniture ready for the next guests. They offered and we accepted a complimentary breakfast for the family. However we did waste precious time sorting the situation out.
Apartment itself was great, very clean, had everything we needed and over looked the pool.
The pool was really lovely but many items in the gym didn't work - treadmill wouldn't start and couldn't get the computer to work on the exercise bike. That was disappointing as we always start our day in the gym.
The wedding was held in the grounds and was fabulous. A lovely setting overlooking the water. We couldn't fault the staff who worked tirelessly serving drinks, canapes and then the meal itself. We enjoyed the meal.
Breakfast the next day was good and we found staff to be very friendly which makes all the differance.
All up we would go back if we had to stay for a special occasion but wouldn't choose it for a family trip. This is simply because we want to use all amenities so if a place advertises a gym, we want to use it.
We had no problems with the staff so I hope the employer appreciates them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandurah Quay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandurah Quay Apartments

Address: 40 Marina Quay Drive | Erskine, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Mandurah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Mandurah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandurah Quay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful Peel Inlet beach, Located only 70 km from Perth airport. Mandurah Quay Resort is the perfect place for your holidays or a corporate getaway. The Mandurah resort and marina sit on 155 sq kilometres of protected inland waterways. It is surrounded by unspoiled bird conservation areas with great hiking trails. Mandurah Quay Resort offers a spectacular function centre and accommodation which holds up to 200 people. Located in a beautiful setting, delectable cuisine and great service goes hand in hand at Mandurah Quay Resort. The self contained spa villas offer spacious accommodation whether it be for a corporate business person, or a family of 6. All the Villas overlook: 22 metre free form swimming pool Gymnasium 2 full sized tennis courts. The ambiance of the Waterside Restaurant located at Mandurah Quay Resort allows guests to relax outdoors or in, while gazing at the beautiful private marina and estuary. The cuisine is the focus of this restaurant and the team look forward to creating a memorable dining experience for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mandurah Quay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Mandurah
Mandurah Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandurah Quay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.