We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seashells Mandurah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seashells Mandurah to your Saves list
Seashells Mandurah
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Dolphin Drive | Comet Bay, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mandurah
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

great self catering accom,we stayed in a beachfront villa,worth the extra if you fancy an splurge, the view is worth every cent.the hotel is right on the beach and close to some good resteraunts,try the oyster bar

Room Tip: go the ocean view, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeashellsHG, General Manager at Seashells Mandurah, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear paul j

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor – the Beach Front Villas are among our very best apartments.

Yours sincerely


Bram Newbold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    97
    13
    11
    5
See reviews for
76
121
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I watched this building get built and given the location was keen to stay as soon as it opened. Since opening we have been back 5 times and what a great apartment / hotel. The units have a wonderful feel particularly the beds. The views on eitherside of the building are great - southern side the boat harbor the north the morning sun the sandy beach and coastline. The pool is brilliant as is the BBQ next to it. If you want a great relaxing place to stay you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeashellsHG, General Manager at Seashells Mandurah, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear matakanaisland

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

I have only been with Seashells for twelve months, so I was delighted to read that you monitored the original building works with such excitement and anticipation. Your loyalty over the years is greatly appreciated.

We are very pleased that you had a most memorable and relaxing stay. Do please spread the word!

Thank you

Bram Newbold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Definitely the best location in Mandurah. My husband and my 2 young children stayed here in half term holiday on a 3f2 night special. We stayed in the main building in a sea view 2 bedroom apartment. The view was amazing and the apartment was fantastic. My only complaint is that the 2 bedroom has a glass window wall and no blackouts in the lounge so both of our kids were up at 5AM every morning!! I did mention this to the receptionist and she said that they get many complaints about this and that maybe in the future the hotel would fix this.
We loved playing on the beach, went on a cruise around the canals and saw some Dolphins. I would defiantly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeashellsHG, General Manager at Seashells Mandurah, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Brockham

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we certainly do pride ourselves on having the best location in Mandurah! I was very pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your holiday at Seashells.

The opaque glass sliding doors in the master bedroom have been a source of frustration for some of our guests, and we are working to have this rectified across all of the two bedroom apartments after the busy Summer period.

I'm very glad you made the most of Town Beach, the canal river cruise and managed to see some local dolphins.

Yours sincerely


Bram Newbold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night in a private 2 bed 2 bathroom apartment on the 5th floor. It was amazing! Best accomodation of our trip! The apartment had stunning views and was very clean and tidy. The pool was open and looked amazing but it was to cold to use but saw some people enjoying the spa. Parking was ample and some undercover although undercover was tight for bigger vehicles. I looked at the beachfront villas but for the price difference was definately more than happy with our choice. Cant wait to come back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeashellsHG, General Manager at Seashells Mandurah, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear VMT26

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn that you found accommodation in one of our Ocean View 2 Bedroom Apartments to be well above par.

Hope you can sample one of our Villas first hand soon. They are fabulous and have unrivalled views and beach access.

Yours sincerely

Bram Newbold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Seashells with our 18mth old for two nights in a 1 bed apartment. Checking in was a breeze and the staff very polite and freindly. We were very impressed with the amount of room in the apartment and the ocean views to the north. The furnishings were lovely, the king size bed was super comfy and spa bath very relaxing after a long day of sightseeing. My only gripe was the swimming pool was closed for repairs. Seashells had made arrangements with a neighbouring hotel to use their swimming pool but it was too much messing around for us. The hotel is located in the marina and only a 10 minute stroll to the heart of Manduarah or a short three minute walk to a number of restaurants, indoor markets and boutique shops. This is one place we'll be going back to on our next visit to Perth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeashellsHG, General Manager at Seashells Mandurah, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear youstillthere

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am glad you and your family were impressed by our product and service.

Our sincere apologies for the pool and spa closure and inconvenience, but this was necessary for essential refurbishment works prior to this year’s peak Summer season. We were very grateful to management and staff of The Atrium for allowing our guests to make use of their indoor facilities during this challenging time. Do not hesitate to contact me directly prior to you next visit to Perth, so that I may handle your reservation personally.

Yours sincerely

Bram Newbold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Seashells for a conference this past week. Our children joined us for one of the nights. We had a 2 bedroom ocean view apartment with one king room and a twin single room configuration.
We arrived after 6pm and so reception had closed for the night but the key was waiting for us and it was not too much of an inconvenience. The room was very clean, furnishings were lovely and the views spectacular...you can actually hear the roll of the ocean (ahhhhh....). We had a spa bath in the master which was a good feature although it had seen better days (there was damage to the bath itself - chips out of the enamel etc along with significant mould along the edges of the bath). Only complaint we have is that the water pressure was extremely slow...we couldn't even brush our teeth while the other person was showering as it dropped down to a trickle (literally). There was a second bathroom attached to the kids' room.
The rooms had lots of storage, the kitchen had a full size fridge/freezer, hotplates, microwave/convection oven and most of the kitchen utensils and equipment needed to make a good family dinner. There's a lot of restaurants and cafes nearby though if you'd prefer to eat out. We had a spacious balcony with a small table & chairs (to fit four) and the living room furniture was ample plus there's an indoor dining table.
The pool area was undergoing maintenance so we weren't able to enjoy these facilities, although the infinity pool looks beautiful (and we have utilised it on past visits). The staff were always friendly, polite and efficient. A great spot for apartment style stay, but if you're looking for a full service hotel (restaurants, room service, 24 hr reception etc) try the Sebel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an ocean view room - it is truly a spectacular view both at day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeashellsHG, General Manager at Seashells Mandurah, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Ali_mumoftwo

We certainly pride ourselves on having the best location in Mandurah. I was very pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your conference/holiday at Seashells Mandurah.

We are aware of some of the maintenance issues which you rightly raised, and are currently seeking new solutions for items such as poor water pressure and chipped bathtubs. This project work is ongoing and we hope to have these physical concerns addressed very soon.

As a result of your review, we have taken steps to ensure that this damage and neglect is reported, in the first instance, by our staff so that others are not inconvenienced in the future. A detailed and thorough spring clean of all our rooms does take place annually, and we look forward to enhancing our product further. I sincerely apologise that your experience was not quite up to standard for our brand, and that you may sometime soon enjoy our newly refurbished pool and spa facilities which were completed in late October.

I will be sure to pass on your very kind words regarding service standards to all staff.

Yours sincerely

Bram Newbold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Loved our stay here. Had a two bed apartment. Came late & key was waiting.. beds were not as we expected but were quickly reconfigured to twin + queen early next day. We stayed for 6 days & our unit had views to the ocean & marina. Only downfall was no security screens & with a visiting 2 year old it was a disaster. There are 5 sliding doors to the balcony & even with 4 pairs of eyes watching she slipped out a couple of times on the quiet. Dryer had broken timer so we had to make sure we kept an eye on it but....Close to markets, marina, restaurants & cafes making for a pleasant walk.. Beds & pillows wonderful..This is our second visit & I'm sure we'll be back.. Kitchen was good though lack of food storage even on holiday with lots of eating out.. Staff were great by the way.. all in all a restful stay

Room Tip: stay in righthand corner units for great views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeashellsHG, General Manager at Seashells Mandurah, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear auriejw

I was glad to learn that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at Seashells Mandurah. I agree some of our larger (upstairs) Two Bedroom Villas are not entirely suitable for younger children and infants - especially if they remain unsupervised – due to the open plan design and cable balustrading on internal staircases and external balconies. We do try to make this as clear as possible to parents at the time of booking.

Our apologies for the broken timer on the dryer.

I have passed on your very kind words regarding service standards to all staff.

Yours sincerely

Bram Newbold
General Manager
Seashells Mandurah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seashells Mandurah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Mandurah

Address: 16 Dolphin Drive | Comet Bay, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Mandurah
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mandurah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seashells Mandurah 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4.5 star Seashells Mandurah is set in a truly unique location. The property is situated on the beach at Comet Bay, adjacent to the award-winning Mandurah Ocean Marina. Most apartments feature spectacular views over the Indian Ocean or Peel Estuary.A combination of 1 and 2 bedroom luxury apartments and beach villas make Seashells Mandurah a perfect getaway for singles, couples and families.A stunning feature of the Resort, is the heated pool and spa which overlooks the Indian Ocean. Guests can spend their days relaxing on a poolside sun lounge enjoying the beautiful Western Australian sunshine.Business travellers are also catered for, with meeting and conference facilities available for up to 60 delegates and broadband internet connections in every apartment.Just 45 minutes from Perth, Seashells Mandurah is far enough for a retreat away from the city, without having to travel hours to achieve this sense of escape and relaxation.Seashells Mandurah is the winner of the 2006 Western Australian Tourism Awards, in the category of “New Tourism Development”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Seashells Mandurah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Mandurah Hotel Mandurah
Seashells Hotel Mandurah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seashells Mandurah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.