We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cakes are special too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Bakehouse

Miami Bakehouse
609 Old Coast Rd | Miami, Mandurah, Western Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 106 Restaurants in Mandurah
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The cakes are special too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Every Monday morning one of our staff goes to the Miami Bakehouse in Falcon and gets the office a cake for morning tea. The sponge rolls are amazing, several different flavours and they never get boring. I have never met one I didn't like.
It says something that every week we go to the same bakery.
Sure it may be a bit more expensive but I am tired of being programmed to eat rubbish, I WILL pay more for something that is a quality product.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perth's best bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I just can't find a better pie anywhere. I've tried many different outlets and have yet to find one that compares to the quality found here (more meat, more flavour).
I don't eat a lot of cakes but the vanilla slice from Miami was memorable. I'm sick of seeing glad wrap on cakes at other bakeries because they keep their cakes too long before they are sold.
Coffee was brilliant!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Miami Bakehouse Melville”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We decided to go out on Sunday for a drive. My wife decided that she would like to have a good old Aussie Pie for lunch.

We have really enjoyed the Miami Bakehouse pies and would always call in to the Mandurah store for a pie on our way to Margaret River and sometimes on the way home too. Since they opened the Melville store we have been about 6 times.

My wife asked for a Pepper Pie, sorry we have none.

My wife asked for a Pastie, sorry we have none.

She then went for a steak and kidney, I had a beef and guinness. Although the pastry on mine was flaky, the base was solid and it could have been a previous days pie.

To make up for her disappointment my wife decided to share an apple turnover with me.

The pastry was undercooked, it was pale and chewwy. It also had a taste of fridge burn. You know the taste of something that has been in the fridge for too long.

Overall it was a major disappointment.

Are they now trying to live on their reputation? Have they become complacent? At the prices they charge for a pie, they need to produce the goods. This time they certainly did not do that.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“what a rip off!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Called into the Miami Bakehouse outlet on the new road to Bunbury after having passed by many times. No customers and ridiculous prices. Over $5 for a chocolate eclair, over $7 for a small pack of macaroons. Even the staff seemed to be embarrassed by the prices they had to charge. Dont bother stopping here, it is an overpriced rip off joint!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing to Rave about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Pies average, chicken had texture of liver? Strange.
Not something to write hm about- overpiced for the experience. ;(
Go to Cowarumup Bakery...better

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Bakehouse also viewed

Mandurah, Western Australia
Mandurah, Western Australia
 
Mandurah, Western Australia
Mandurah, Western Australia
 

Been to Miami Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Bakehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.