We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Overnight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pagoda Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pagoda Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pagoda Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Melville Parade, Como, Western Australia 6152, Australia (Formerly Esplanade River Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Como
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Business Overnight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed here one night early June to attend a business seminar. I had room 229 on the second floor and at the rear of the establishment. Very quiet, no noise and great to sleep. No views at all but that didn't bother me because I was there for work reasons. I found the room to be more than adequate with two bar fridges, one full of million dollar items and one empty so you can stow your own items. That was a good idea. Also my room had a washer dryer in bathroom and again another good idea for a longer stay. Although my room was a bit dated, it was very clean and very comfortable. I agree with other posts here in regard to age, the pool and so on, but the Pagoda is brilliantly located to be just out of the city but nearby to the river, shops, zoo and a cinema. I stayed at the Pagoda years ago with my family for a week or so and I thought it was a bit more 'alive' during that time. In regards to the business venue, it is typical of any establishment that hosts workshops, seminars and meetings and it had all the usual facilities to do so. I would rate it as average simply because it is no different to others I have been to. The main downside to the Pagoda is the cost. I felt the cost for meals and drinks to be just short of declared theft. For example a stubby (small bottle) of VB beer cost just under $10 at around 9.60 I think. So if you purchased a carton of 24 you would pay $230!! and for those of you reading this from overseas, the same carton would cost around $44 at a local liquor shop. Now the price of someone passing you that beer across the bar or walking to your table, still would not justify the price. Other than the cost for meals and drinks, I still feel the Pagoda to be one of the better establishments I have stayed.

Room Tip: Towards the rear of the hotel for a quiet room, but overlooking the pool if you want a bit of a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    39
    38
    17
    9
See reviews for
12
33
6
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very romantic secluded place. Very clean. Happy, friendly staff. Room was adequate with large bed, good views and a relaxing spa. Value for money. Hotel is close to city, which is adequately located to tourist attractions and fantastic restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights in a one bedroom apartment. The cost of one night in this average old run down and 70's decor I could have stayed in a 5 star hotel looking over sydney harbour. The staff here are not friendly and I would not recommended staying here just because of the inflated price they charge because its Perth. Cheaper to stay at the Hyatt so you should!

Room Tip: book a different hotel You can hear the preasure in the water pipes when people are having shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

A group of us from interstate plus locals dined at The Pagoda. It was a Wednesday night and not terribly busy. Whilst the food was delicious, we found the service appalling. We waited 15 minutes for a waitress to appear. We asked for drinks immediately and would order food as soon as our drinks arrives. 20 minutes later, our drinks arrived, but no waitress. Another long wait and we asked for our order to be taken. The main meal was served whilst the entrée plates were still on the table. One main meal was forgotten. (5 people at the table!!). We had to chase a waiter for further drinks orders.

Room Tip: Seemed to be a lot of business travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over easter. This hotel is a definately not a 'resort' or 'spa'.
Rooms are clean, but looking rather dated. The rooms with the self contained kitchens were good from a functionality perspective.

Unfortunately our group had some poor experiences - we were originally told that parking was free but told there was a $15 per night charge, that wouldn't be waived, despite our group booking 4 rooms with only 1 car space required. All 4 irons across our rooms were old, rusty and faulty leading to much dramas the day of a wedding. Thankfully the staff eventually washed and ironed our shirts for us, but only after prompting and much stress.

To make matters worse, hotel was advertising a cheaper ratein thier elevators than what we had paid more than three months prior to our stay - poor form!

Unfortunately i cannot recommend this hotel. Its average at best.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

not a resort or a spa, but rather is a nice hotel. The gym has 3 pieces of equipment, the pool is old and small, the 'spa' is something you would have in your basement. There is no spa atmosphere or services at all-none. The picture on the website is extremely deceptive, the jetty they show is across a 6 lane highway, that you need to cross over with a walking bridge, but both were closed, so we couldn't even walk across to the water. There is one small convenience store a few blocks away, a golf course a few blocks the other way, but otherwise there is absolutely nothing there. The bed is old and not a comfy sleep one expects in a resort!
As I said, its a nice enough hotel, but this is not a resort or a spa, if that is what you are looking for, you need a different place to stay.

Room Tip: some have balconies and face the pool, which would be quieter than the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

When we arrived the reception staff were quite busy as the hotel had a wedding that night, but the staff were very pleasant and helpful. the room was on the side of the hotel and we could just see the river but the view was not great. The Deluxe room was tidy and clean but we had to be careful at night as the bed (King size) was very close to the cabinet and there was quite a lot of wooden rails to negotiate. The hotel seems to need refurbishing. Breakfast was very good with a large selection of hot food, savory, pastry and fruit. We had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We were on the side of the hotel and we did not ask for a room with a view but if we go again I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pagoda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Resort & Spa

Address: 112 Melville Parade, Como, Western Australia 6152, Australia (Formerly Esplanade River Suites)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pagoda Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pagoda Resort & Spa is superbly nestled on the banks of Perth's spectacular Swan River just 5 minutes to the CBD in South Perth, with easy access to freeways North and South, Perth Zoo and local restaurants and cafes.Offering a choice of self contained and serviced Studio, One and Two Bedroom Apartments,all with spa baths and some with river, pool or parkland views.With extensive facilites available onsite including heated outdoor pool, fitness centre, conference and business facilities, secure car parking or free street parking and home to the Pagoda Restaurant & Bar, Pagoda Resort & Spa is the perfect choice for the business or leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pagoda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade River Hotel Como
Broadwater Pagoda Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pagoda Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.