We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B for a long or short stay in the Perth area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Como Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Como Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Como Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2A Bickley Cres, Como, Western Australia 6152, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Special
Ranked #1 of 2 Como B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great B&B for a long or short stay in the Perth area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

A true home from home:the accommodation has its own large sitting room (with microwave, a large fridge, dining table and chairs, two sofas and a large flat screen TV) and balcony (also with table and chairs) as well as a lovely bathroom (bath and shower!) with separately-housed toilet. We were given a lovely cooked breakfast by our landlady, Helen, who also provided lots of food and drinks (fresh fruit, cereals, bread, real coffee and tea, fruit juice, fresh milk, biscuits) to be eaten for breakfast or whenever... We stayed just for a few days, but this would be an ideal location for anyone who needed to stay in the Perth area for a longer period.

Como B&B is situated in a smart residential part of Perth roughly equidistant from the city centre and Fremantle and within easy reach of the airports. There is a large park just across the road and several takeaway restaurants within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and Helen only makes one booking on any given date i.e. your party either u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comobed, Owner at Como Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you S for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. I am sure that any future traveller would have a very good picture as you have described the accommodation so well.
I hope you all had a good trip back home and are now settled. We hope to see you come this way again in the future. Regards Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
40
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our family of five stayed over from 9 Aug evening to 11 Aug evening. The hosts Helen and Don Barrett were excellent in making us feel welcome and at home. The accommodation was immaculately clean, maintaining the standards of a good hotel except that the setting of two connecting rooms and a small living area with a balcony made you feel right at home. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking an inexpensive yet comfortable short stay in Perth.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comobed, Manager at Como Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you S & S for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you and your three very polite children stay with us here. We would be happy to welcome you all here to stay with us in the future. Regards Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here so briefly on an overnight stopover, but were delighted with our choice. We usually stay close to the airport, but all "airport accommodation" was booked out, so we needed to look a little further afield. We arrived late from the airport, received a very warm welcome and orientation to our rooms, were provided with taxi phone numbers and then left to our quiet, luxurious accommodation - immaculately clean, stylish, and roomy, with a bedroom, ensuite robe, toilet, large bathroom with choice of bath or shower, lounge with big TV and kitchenette with ample tea, coffee and breakfast supplies. The big comfortable bed and quiet surrounds afforded much needed sleep. When we tried to creep out without disturbing anyone at 4.30am for our taxi back to the airport, our host kindly materialised to open the door and wave us goodbye. Brilliant accommodation! We hope to be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comobed, Manager at Como Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you J for your review. It was the shortest stay we have ever had and I hope that your flights were on time for you. We would surely enjoy having you return to stay with us in the future. Regards Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Como Bed and Breakfast, the first day we arrived in Perth. We arrived early in the morning. Helen had given my wife clear instructions on how to get to Como. Thankfully to my GPS and Helen's instructions, we arrived safely. It's a beautiful 2 storey house in a very safe suburb.
Helen's husband even made the effort to wake up at 2am to greet us and made sure we were comfortable. The room was lovely, bathroom extremely clean and comfortable. Outside the room, is a small pantry where you can find milk, bread, water, coffee and almost everything you need. There's a order form for you to indicate your preference for breakfast.
In the morning, Helen cooked up a storm and prepared one of the most wonderful breakfast my wife and I have ever had. The waffles were lovely. So was the English breakfast.
Too bad she was booked through the week. We were hoping to stay with them again after our trip to Margaret River.
If you ever visit Perth, do stay with Helen. It's money well spent and you'll feel very much at home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comobed, Owner at Como Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you both so much for your lovely review and for choosing to stay with us. It was a pity that I could only give you the one night. I hope we can welcome you to stay on some other occasion though. Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here just after my long flight. The hosts are so lovely and helpful. Very quite, clean and peaceful place. Wonderful breakfast after great sleep!!! Wish I could stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Como Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out in your busy life to write such a lovely review. I really appreciate it. Hope to see you again. Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My stay at Como B&B was fantastic and what you see in the photos on the website are what you get. VERY CLEAN. Breakfast was delicious and Helen the host was very helpful and accommodating in all aspects. I had a hire car and parking was so easy and convenient. Also walked to the river and over Mt Henry bridge, lovely location. I stayed solo but would love to take my family back for any short stays that we have in Perth, so much more home like than a hotel and great with a park across the road. Bed was very comfortable and had an electric blanket. Also had heating and a split system that I could use as I pleased, great for the very cold days when I was there. Helen also added an extra blanket for me when it got colder. Thanks for a lovely stay Helen.

Room Tip: Book off the COMO B&B website, if you are a single the price is cheaper than other sites if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Como Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
We hope to see you and perhaps all the family next time. Thank you for making the time to write such a great review for us. Regards Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Wonderful hosts, great location, exquisite service, fantastic breakfast. Yep, must admit this is the best B&B we have stayed at for a very long time. Myself, wife and daughter stayed at the Como B&B for one night in early June 2012 and now wish we had stayed longer. Nothing was too much trouble. Helen will definitely pamper you all the way, without being intrusive. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable and the rooms are of a good size. The B&B area is located privately upstairs at the front of the house with views from the balcony to the park. Parking for a car is provided. Public Transport (Bus stops) are nearby. The decor is wonderful and the quality of furniture and fittings is excellent. Everything is provided for a comfortable stay, including a good size fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle, etc. The bathroom is roomy with double sink, bath and large shower, with ceiling heat lamps for those chilly mornings. The breakfast is varied from full English breakfast or delicious pancakes down to just toast. An assortment of breakfast cereals and jams are provided in the kitchenette section, along with milk, butter and yogurt in the fridge, plus an assortment of teabags and coffee. A separate lounge/dining area is very pleasant, with an assortment of DVD movies available to watch on the flat screen TV. The balcony is accessed from the lounge and is provided with a table and chairs, so you can enjoy your breakfast from the balcony if preferred. On our arrival we were greeted by orchids and a chocolate on the beds, and a platter of fresh fruit, with the addition of the morning newspaper provided complementary ... It's the little extra thought that counts. Five BIG STARS !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Como Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you Kevin for your wonderful review. I really do appreciate the time you have taken to write this and I hope that future guests will be able to book with confidence after reading your detailed review. We certianly enjoyed having the three of you stay with us and hope to see you again when you need a Perth stay over.
Regards Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Como Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Como Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2A Bickley Cres, Como, Western Australia 6152, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Como
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Como Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Como Bed and Breakfast is only 10 minutes by car from the CBD in Perth. It is situated in a quiet suburban street opposite a beautiful park and lake with children's playground and facilities. It has most of the facilities that you would find in any hotel with spacious rooms and en-suite. Menu cooked breakfast is complimentary along with a platter of fresh sliced seasonal fruits each day. Unlimited tea and coffee, free WIFI, free parking, robes, toiletries and day's newspaper are just some of the little extras that are all included. Only one booking is taken at a time so whether you are a single person or a family of up to five you do not share facilities with other guests having your own lounge/dining area and private balcony. Breakfast is served to you upstairs each morning. We are Family Friendly too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Como Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Como Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.