We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Busselton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Busselton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Busselton to your Saves list
The Sebel Busselton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   553 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Short break in Busselton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Always enjoy our stay at The Sebel (formerly Grand Mercure). Lovely pool, spa area and rooms well up to standard. Closeness to the beach is also an attraction for an early morning or evening stroll. Restaurant next door good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Lesley Y,
Welcome back! It is always great to hear from our repeat guests. So pleased to read that you continue to enjoy your stays with us. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    205
    40
    14
    2
See reviews for
142
207
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Serviced apartment style accommodation with lots of room options to cater for all size travel parties.
We stayed in the studio room. Very nice, modern with large bathroom with spa.

Nice big tv and a kitchenette with everything you need to be self sufficient.
There are shops nearby and busselton is only a 10min drive
Walk to beach or pub next door.
Beautiful location. Highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Bozz a,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at The Sebel Busselton. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay. We agree - a beautiful location.
Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I booked my accomodation on the net a week prior to my visit. I got into Busselton much later in the day than planned and had difficulty locating the hotel. Why?? It had been renamed and no one had bothered to notify me. When I had booked it was named Mercure but the day of my stay, it had been rebranded. When I finally realised the address was correct but the name was different, I went into reception, only to be told the renaming had been that day!!!! I asked why it wasnt advised on the net and the receptionist said, but it only happened today. Come on, its not an overnight decision and would have been in the pipeline for ages. There could have been some notification on the booking site. Very disappointing after a long day and lots of driving. The room was okay, but tired. Very scuffed and lots of cracks in the paint. When I enquired about meals, was told abruptly there was a shop and restaurant next door. I was given a ticket to put on my dash to show I was allowed to park in the complex and told to take my pick of car spots near my room. Well, the pick was one of one. Not impressed at all.

Room Tip: No restaurant, no room service, in fact no service at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Sebel Busselton (formerly the Grand Mercure). I am very disappointed that you had such a poor experience when locating the property. We completely agree that you should have been made aware of the name change and we take full responsibility for this. Our Front Office team make a courtesy call to arriving guests the night before arrival and this is something they now highlight on the call.

With regards to your room the property is undergoing refurbishment with the 2 and 3 bedroom apartments having been completed. Our studio rooms are being painted and new lighting installed with phase 1 and 2 completed on 19 December and the remaining rooms scheduled for early next year.

Although we do not allocate parking for each room I am very disappointed that you were addressed in such an abrupt and unfriendly manner.

My apologies once again for your experience at the property this is not the manner in which we wish to welcome our guests hope you would consider staying again so we can show you the truly warm welcome we pride ourselves on providing to our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. We were very lucky to get a 3 bedroom apartment, when we booked for 2Rooms and had a lovely outlook over the pool area. The apartment was very clean, spacious, very well designed and looked as if it had just been refurbished. The beds and showers were excellent. The kitchen had everything we needed and theres an IGA next door( as well as several restaurants in a small food court and a lovely café/ restaurant- the Broadwater)The service was excellent- everyone was very pleasant and helpful- I couldn't fault the staff.
The highlight for us, with our 8 yr old daughter was the pool area-large outdoor pool , which was quite special with its landscaping and little waterfalls and also a large indoor pool with spa.Its a quick walk through the resort to the beach and there's a great foot/bike path from the hotel for a long way in both directions, mostly along the beach-beautiful!
We loved this place ( and Busselton region) and would definitely go back and for a longer stay!

Room Tip: We liked our apartment near the pool- nice outlook and quick to get in.It might be noisy in school h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Hannahro,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Busselton. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. As you can imagine, a great deal of hard work goes into making a refurbishment successful. Its made all the more worthwhile when we receive feedback like yours and hear of families enjoying the facilities. Again, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3,059 reviews
250 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,471 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

On one hand the apartments are a little dated and perhaps a bit dark, but on the other hand, they have all the facilities a family would need for a getaway.
The apartments themselves have all the facilities needed for a small kitchen and the overall complex whilst being large and a fair walk from one end to the other end has a couple of swimming pools, gym facilities, bbq's , picnic areas - enough to suit most guests needs.
There are a couple of free in-house movie channels so this is a lot better than most hotels that can charge up to $16.
Andrei and the front desk team work hard to ensure that guests' needs are met.
If I had any challenge, it is the distance into town - if you needed to go in often, the 10-15 minute drive became a drag.
There is though a shopping complex next door that would meet many needs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear RonWamberal, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay. Just to let you know that we are in the process of completing the full refurbishment of the apartments there. I sure that any of areas which you felt were a little dated you would now see a big difference. The feedback we have had from our guests has been wonderful. We are pleased that you did enjoy your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed for a week in a studio apartment and weren't disappointed. The room was large, there was plenty of space and a decent sized tv. Bathroom was also large with good sized shower and spa bath.
Bed was comfortable and the linen was of good quality.
A few days we were in our apartment at the time of housekeeping, so didn't take full advantage of that. The room however was clean and kept to a high standard.
Pool area was nice and big, bo outdoor and indoor pools, with plenty of seating and sun lounges. Gym was well equipped. There was two games rooms for kids and teenagers, though we weren't travelling with children so only went in once to check them out and play some table tennis.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
There was no room service or restaurant, however next door was the broadwater which was a short casual walk from our room.
Overall, we had a fantastic time and could not fault this accommodation.

Room Tip: Be mindful if you are staying for a week or more, you may want to consider an apartment with a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Louise81Perth,
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
0.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#9 of 14 in Busselton
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
16.2 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
24.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Busselton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Busselton

Address: 553 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
#4 Family Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Busselton 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A scenic 2 1/2 hour drive south of Perth, The Sebel Busselton offers a perfect beachfront escape on the edge of the gorgeous Geographe Bay. The hotel is your gateway to the amazing Margaret River wine region, featuring not only wineries but also restaurants, art galleries and stunning coastlines. Ideal for families and couples, the four star hotel features 75 self contained apartments, tennis and squash, heated indoor spa, heated indoor and outdoor pool, gym, bike paths, games room and kids club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Sebel Busselton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Busselton Hotel Busselton
Grand Accor Busselton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Busselton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.