We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busselton Business Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Beach Resort to your Saves list
Abbey Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   595 Bussell Hwy., Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Busselton Business Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Was down here for a two day conference, stayed at Abbey Beach Resort.
The place is still in very good nick considering how long its been opened for and the gardens look great.
We were in conference mode for the duration of the visit and couldn't fault the place, facilities, food and accommodation rooms all top notch.
Dinner was a bit overboard, two lamb shanks on the one plate looked like they came from a giant lamb, way too much, tasty, but way too much.
Would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Deano_au. Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. At Abbey Beach Resort we pride ourselves on the conference facilities that we have on offer with our function rooms for small meetings or our Grand Ballroom for larger conferences. With the accommodation that we also offer we believe it makes us the premier conference venue in the South West.

As a resort that has been successfully in operation for the past 20 years we do our utmost to adapt to guest needs and provide our guests with the latest amenities needed to compliment your stay, so it is pleasing to hear that you were able to appreciate the facilities that we provide and our luxurious accommodation. Our staff also works tirelessly to offer our guests the highest level of customer experience including our maintenance staff who keeps the resort grounds looking beautiful all year round.

We are sorry to hear that your dining experience was not what you had expected. It is our belief with our menu to offer our guests the best locally sourced produce at the best value, so we like to think that in offering a larger than normal portion sizes than other resorts and restaurants in the region our guests are getting the best of what the region has to offer. This being said, I shall certainly pass your comments onto our Head Chef.

Thank you once again for your comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future and please do not hesitate to book direct with us.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    230
    97
    38
    34
See reviews for
208
324
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Worst sleep of my life!!

The 'firm bed' was basically flat with no give in the middle. I've slept on firm and also slept on a spare mattress on the floor but this bed, in my opinion -- not even prison worthy. Stonehenge.

Booked for 2 nights yet left after the first night as we got no sleep with the rock hard beds. One of which was slighty tilted to add that extra annoyance.

We tried to sleep on extra doonas to soften it but no help. At 4.30am we arranged another room with the night staff - a TINY bit better. Then in the morning they said they would "fix" our beds to make them more plush - an idea we already tried with the extra bedding.

Waited two hours (830-1030) and housekeeping didn't come.

We left at 11am with no refund for the extra night - that's how bad it was!

Never again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear traveller610. Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort.

We are disappointed to read from your comments that your stay with us was not the standard that you had expected. Our aim with our accommodation is to provide our wide variety of guests with a spacious and relaxing environment and I am saddened to hear that our rooms did not match your expectations.

As your picture of our in-room compendium correctly states the beds that the hotel provides are to a commercial standard and are slightly firmer than normal domestic beds. This is done so that we are able to cater for all of our guest’s different bedding preferences and to manage the wear and tear that may occur.

I would also like to state that having viewed the picture of the bed that accompanies the review, the twin bed on display would never be made up as such by our Housekeeping department and is not a true reflection on how our beds or how are rooms are presented.

We are pleased to hear that our night staff were able to move you to a different room location and that you found the other bed to be slightly better. With regards Housekeeping attending your room, I have since investigated with the Head of Housekeeping who has stated that Housekeeping were due to attend to your room and try and rectify your issues with the bed as part of your daily service, but when they went to your room you had since departed.

As a resort we do our utmost to match our guest’s expectations and to cater for all of our guests and their bedding preferences. As we had offered to provide you with an alternative room and further bedding which you declined by deciding to cancel the remainder of your stay you were inside the cancellation period and thus was charged as per the terms and conditions of the resort.

Once again we are disappointed to hear that your stay with us was not up to the standard you had expected and we hope we can welcome you if not to the resort but to the region again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

A 4 night stay in a 3 bed apartment as always the location is great the grounds are beautiful but whilst the apartment was very spacious the smell in the apartment was not nice
The main bed that had a sliding door to the balcony had no lock on the fly screen door so we had to shut the glass door at night making for a rather hot not
One single bed in the minor room was not useable due to possibly being well past it's used by date
The taps made a horrendous noise when used
Also the heated pool was cold
It's not cheap so I expect better I have stayed before but I think I will look elsewhere in the future it's not always location location

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Freemedear. Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort. It is disappointing to hear that your stay with us was not to the standard you had expected and we can assure you your feedback will be addressed with the relevant Heads of Department.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the resorts location and the spacious accommodation that we provide. Our aim is to provide our guests with a relaxing environment to enjoy their holidays from.

The cleanliness of the resort and our rooms is something that as a resort we pride ourselves on. All of our rooms are cleaned and inspected on a daily basis prior to a guest’s arrival, so we are surprised to hear that you found there to be an unpleasant smell in your apartment. I will also be investigating with our Maintenance Manager regarding your flyscreen door not having any lock on it. Any such maintenance issues are reported immediately by our room attendants so I will make sure that all our apartments are checked by our maintenance staff.

With this being said, as a resort our focus is to offer our guests the highest level of customer experience and we would have been more than happy to of moved you to a different room location had we been made aware of any issues that you had encountered in your apartment.

We are also disappointed to hear that you felt that our indoor heated pool was cold. Our indoor pool is checked 4 times daily by our maintenance staff so that the pool temperature of 29c is maintained and having investigated the duty logs this temperature has been maintained on a daily basis. We often find that if there are a number of guests using the pool the closing and opening of the entrance door can let cold air into the pool area.

There is nothing we appreciate more at Abbey Beach Resort than feedback from our valued guests and we do sincerely hope that we can welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We would definitely recommend this to friends and family, it was such a beautiful place and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The resort was very inviting upon arrival. There was everything there from outdoor pools, indoor pool and spa, gym, sauna, squash courts, short walk to the beach and not to mention a cafe, restaurant and cocktail lounge. The spa room was lovely, very roomy with a private balcony. We personally found it to be a peaceful and quite resort. Only a short drive to the city centre and Margaret River.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Chiara G. Thank you for your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort. We are delighted to hear from guests who had a great stay with us and want to share it!

As a resort our aim is to provide our guests with the highest level of customer service and experience so it is great to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming during your stay.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities that the resort has on offer. With our 3 pools including our indoor pool and Jacuzzi heated to 29c, as well as tennis and squash courts, a gym and a sauna there is plenty for our guests to do within the resort grounds. Also with the resort a stone’s throw from the tranquil waters of Geographe Bay, it is also ideal for guests looking to relax on the beach.

It is also great to hear that you were able to appreciate the well-appointed rooms that the resort offers. Whether it a Studio Spa Suite or one of our Lakeside Apartment our aim is to provide our guests with a spacious environment to relax and enjoy your holiday from. All of our rooms come equipped with their own private spa bath and private balcony with views overlooking the resort grounds.

Being a short drive from Busselton and Dunsborough and at the gateway to the Margaret River wine region it means the resort is ideal for guests looking to explore all that the region has to offer.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future and please do not hesitate to book direct with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here as part of a bridal party for 2 nights in March. I'll list the pros and cons below but have to say that the issue on checkout, mentioned below, has tainted my view slightly. Overall it isn't bad but let us down in a few key areas.

Pros
- pillow menu and comfortable beds
- lovely front reception area
- convenient location between Busselton and Dunsborough
- catering for alergies at the cafe

Cons
- checkout: afer waiting for an elderly couple in front of us, who had previously arranged to pay by cheque and were being told that they now couldn't pay by cheque, we attempted to check out. The bridal party has taken 3 rooms for 2 nights all kindly paid for by the bride and groom and this was the morning after the wedding. Abbey Beach would not let us check out without paying as they had no record that the bride and groom were paying for our room (despite this being pre-arranged and in the groom's name). We argued about this for a bit before my asking whether they needed me to call the groom, which I ended up doing. When the groom arrived to reception (the morning after his wedding!) the receptionist actually said that she had tried explaining to me that she could not provide me with a receipt as I wasn't paying. Which was ridiculous as that was the first she had mentioned a receipt and she had clearly realised how ridiculous it was to call down the groom and was trying to make herself look better. Rather than telling the groom he could pay for all rooms on his check out she still made him pay for our room at the time. This disappointed us greatly and as a result I would not recommend this hotel.
- rooms and hallways are very run down, with rips in carpet, cracking paint, leaking toilet and general aging look.
- cleaning was not up to scratch. Our toilet seat was not properly cleaned, back of toilet door was dirty, the shower tiles were quite dirty (with what looked like mud from a wrap).
- the full buffet breakfast was not worth $35. The pastries were burnt and it needed more variety of fresh fruit and yoghurt.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Rachel_Whales. Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort. It is disappointing to hear from your comments that you did not enjoy your stay with us or will recommend us in the future.

It is pleasing to hear that you were able to appreciate the accommodation that the resort offers and the layout of the resort. Our Atrium area is always an impressive welcome for our guests. It is also pleasing to hear that you appreciated the location of the resort. Our proximity to Busselton and Dunsborough makes us an ideal base for guests looking to explore the region or attend events in the area.

I have since investigated your complaints that you had with regards your stay. As a resort we have never accepted cheques as a final payment. We do accept cheques as a deposit payment and having spoken to the Front Office Manager the elderly guest on checkout had become confused as they had previously paid a deposit by cheque.

With regards the issue you encountered on checkout, it is disappointing to hear that you felt your stay with us was inconvenienced by this experience. As a resort we provide accommodation for 2-3 weddings on a weekly basis so I would appreciate if you could email me direct with the wedding details so that I could investigate how the issue occurred. This way I can investigate with the Front Office Manager as we have no record of your complaints in our Duty Log.

We are also disappointed to hear that you found the resort to be run down. As a resort we have undertaken extensive refurbishments in our resort style accommodation with all our apartments coming with modern fully equipped kitchens not to mention all the modern amenities to assist your stay. We have also begun to renovate our Hotel section of the resort with new carpets being fitted and these refurbishments will continue throughout 2014. At the resort we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the resort with all of the rooms being cleaned and inspected on a daily basis, so we are disappointed to hear that you found the cleanliness of the resort not to be what you had expected. I certainly will investigate this further when I have the further information regarding your booking information.

There is nothing we appreciate more at Abbey Beach Resort than feedback of this nature that advocates us to continually strive for better service and to meet the expectations of our valued guests such as yourselves. I can assure you once I have received the information from you I will investigate your complaints further.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I had a Saturday wedding to attend at Margaret River, so decided to make a weekend of it - based in Busselton at the Abbey Beach Resort. We arrived on the Friday and checked out on the Sunday. This gave us ready access over the weekend to many of the beautiful beaches, wineries and eating places that are an easy and scenic drive from the resort. Additionally, on the Friday, we enjoyed our first visit to the iconic Busselton Jetty and Aquarium, and, on the Sunday, I got some instruction on the finer points of beach fishing (for herring) from a friendly old timer who was operating from the beach outside the resort. All up, it was very enjoyable. Our chosen venue at Abbey Beach lived up to its reputation - clean, well maintained and comfortable accommodation, backed up by excellent front desk service. Hard to beat.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but those that have balcony views over the landscaped, central water features ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Barry C. Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to hear from our return guests and we trust that your stay was as enjoyable as your previous visits.

We are delighted to hear that you were able to appreciate the resort’s location to the full. Our proximity to Busselton & Dunsborough and being at the gateway to the Margaret River region makes us ideal for guests looking to explore all that the region has to offer or visiting for the weekend for a wedding. It is also great to hear that you were able to enjoy the major tourist attractions that the region has to offer. The resort has great access to the Busselton Jetty with a footpath that runs along the front of the resort which takes you directly to the Jetty and is perfect for guests wanting to walk or ride into Busselton.

We are also pleased to hear that we were able to provide the standard of customer service and experience that has been accustomed to with the resort. As a resort we do our utmost to provide our guests with the highest standard of customer service throughout their stay, so it is very pleasing to read from your comments that you found or staff to be courteous and friendly and the resort to be cleaned and well maintained. We will certainly pass your feedback onto our Heads of Department and to our staff.

Thank you once again for your comments. Please do not hesitate to book direct with us in the future and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

A resort presented beautifully with everything of top quality. Where else would you find 3 swimming pools plus an onsite gallery. Apartments extremely spacious, kitchens well appointed. Set in beautiful surrounds with a stones throw to the ocean. Value for money. Have been staying for 20 years so that says it all.

Room Tip: Some rooms/apartment bedrooms on car park side check when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Kay J. Thank you for your fantastic comments on your recent stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort. It is always such a pleasure to hear from our guests who have been coming to the resort since we first came into operation and still love all that we have to offer.

It is a delight to hear that you have been able to appreciate the large array of facilities that the resort offers. With our 3 pools (including our indoor heated pool), squash and tennis courts, gymnasium and sauna and not to mention our resident local artist’s gallery there is plenty for our guests to enjoy within the 4 hectares of beautifully manicured grounds.

It is also great to hear that you were impressed with the range of accommodation that the resort offers with our 2 Bedroom Lakeside Apartments providing our guests with the ideal spacious environment to relax in. All of our Lakeside & Beachfront apartments come with a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and your own private balcony overlooking the lake and are ideal for guests looking to use the resort as a base to explore the region or for guests looking to relax and enjoy the peaceful surrounds of the resort.

We are also pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the resorts location. Boasting the ultimate beachfront location with stunning panoramic views across Geographe Bay we are ideal for guests looking to relax on the beach and swim in the tranquil waters of the bay.

Thank you once again for your comments. Please do not hesitate to book direct with us in the future and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Address: 595 Bussell Hwy., Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.