We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Beach Resort to your Saves list
Abbey Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   595 Bussell Hwy., Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you are going to be in the Busselton area then try to stay at the Abbey Beach Resort. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with a veranda. You can self-cater using the kitchenette, eat at the restaurant or go to one of the nearby alternatives - we had some excellent fish & chips from just down the road!
The grounds go straight down to the beach.
This was our second stay and we'd go again given the chance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool - we didn't so lost out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us here at Abbey Beach Resort.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the wide range of facilities that our spacious rooms have to offer. We believe that our room caters for all types of guests & offer the relaxation & comfort needed to enjoy wither a short stay or a longer break.

All of our rooms come with either a fully equipped kitchen or a small kitchenette & I am glad that you were able to eat in our restaurants & the many local restaurants and cafes that Busselton & the Margaret River region has.

We are very lucky to have such a great location being at the gateway to the Margaret River region. We are also lucky to be a stones throw from the beach & the beautiful Geographe Bay. We recommend next time you come visit to watch for the beautiful sunset over the cape.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future & don't forget to request a pool view room, as they are very popular!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    259
    124
    47
    36
See reviews for
240
374
15
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice in the last year and enjoyed the experience both times. Rooms are big and clean and the beachfront location is excellent. You will need a car to get town however.

Having free wi-fi would be nice, but having to pay for it seems like sn Aussie thing these days.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us.

There is nothing we enjoy more at Abbey Beach Resort then to welcome back return guests so they can relax in the beautiful surrounds of the resort.

We are glad that you enjoyed the location of the resort. Our proximity to the beach overlooking Geographe Bay & being at the gateway to the Margaret River wine region makes us an ideal location for people looking to explore the South West.

We are also pleased you enjoyed the spacious & well proportioned rooms the resort has to offer. It is our belief whether you are a couple on a short break or a large family staying for an extended stay, our rooms provide our guests with the perfect space to enjoy their holiday.

Where you do need a car for the short drive into Busselton, there also the small shopping complex only a 5 minute walk from the resort with an array of shops for guests to get any items they may need.

Throughout the Winter we plan on installing resort wide wi-fi for our guests, but in line with other resorts in the region there will be a small charge for this service. With this in mind we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, so you can explore more of this beautiful region!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at Abbey Beach or 2 night in April 2013. Stayed in a studio spa room overlooking the car park. The room was spacious and very clean. The only fault with the room was the pillows - very big, hard & uncomfortable, didn't get much sleep because I couldn't get comfortable. My only other criticism wold be that the fridge was not on and the drinks that I placed in the fridge were hot when I was ready to drink them. This will be the first time saying in a hotel/resort that the fridge was not on - they need to place a sign on the front letting people know its not on....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments & for returning to stay with us once again.

We are pleased you enjoyed our spacious, well-proportioned rooms. Our aim is to provide our guest with a welcoming place to relax & work I am glad we were able to achieve this for your stay. We are also pleased that you found the resort to be clean. It is something that we believe stands us out from other resorts in the area, providing our guests with a daily service

We are sorry you found the pillows uncomfortable & that this disturbed your sleep. Our Housekeeping department does stock a wide range of pillows as we understand that our guests have a diverse preference with regards bedding preferences & these are available on request from reception. Please feel free in the future if you are uncomfortable to request a different pillow & we would be happy to oblige.

I would like to apologize that your fridge had not been turned on prior to your arrival in the room. This is something that is checked by our Housekeeping department on a daily basis & I can understand your frustration in not being able to have a cool drink.
I will certainly be speaking with our Head of Housekeeping regarding this & hope this does not detract from returning to the resort as providing our guests with the best customer experience is something we pride ourselves on at Abbey Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at Abbey Beach Resort in April with my husband for a 3 day getaway. This is my 3rd visit in 7 yrs and I highly recommend. I have stayed in a 3 bedroom family suite previously with family but this time had the studio spa suite. It was equally as lovely. The proffessional pics on their site are the real thing unlike some places where you get a slightly overated image to what you actually get. Spacious, clean, with everything you would need. The studio apartments are situated in the actual main resort building so got to experience the beautiful reception foyer each entry. Check in was seamless and friendly. The facilities having 3 pools, tennis and squash courts, gym, bike and kyak hire. Stroll to the rear of the resort and a stones throw to the beach.
Having only spent a couple of hours around the pool relaxing I could well have stayed a whole day without leaving the resort enjoying the facilities given more days. A short walk to the local supermaket and great fish and chips at Gropers.
Would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments.

There is nothing we like more at Abbey Beach then to welcome back return guests to the resort.

It pleases us that you appreciated the range of facilities that the resort has to offer. I am also glad you enjoyed our well-proportioned rooms, I think you would agree whether you are a large family staying for a holiday or a couple on a weekend away our spacious rooms provide our guests with a welcoming place to relax within the surrounds of the resort. We also feel having 3 pools gives our guests great choice whether to relax by the outside pool or enjoy our 25m indoor heated pool which is great if you fancy doing lengths!

We are glad that you enjoyed the location of the resort. Our proximity to the beach & being at the gateway to the Margaret River wine region makes us ideal for people looking to explore the South West & we have to agree, if you are looking to eat away from the resort having the local shops so close means excellent choice in takeaways or food that can be cooked in our fully equipped kitchens.

At Abbey Beach Resort we pride ourselves on providing our guests with the best customer experience possible throughout all our departments, so that the guest has great memories & keeps wanting to come back so we are glad to hear you found our staff friendly & inviting. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future so that you can enjoy all the Abbey Beach has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Abbey Beach Resort in March 2013, we stayed here after my fiance was provided with a voucher for the Resort which makes everything much nicer as it means we spent very little. Firstly about the cost, the cost for this place is actually quite modest, however this cost is definitely made it up in the cost of the meals from the restaurant, where the cost of food was rather extortionate, but onto the food later.

We stayed in a Spa Suite that is part of the main hotel complex, the room was quite large with a nice private balcony, the facilities of the room included a shower, spa bath, fridge with mini freezer compartment, microwave, kettle, toaster and of course a TV with all the FOX SPORTS channels and all the usual entertainment channels you would expect to find, including standard digital TV. The bed in the room was very comfortable and very spacious, all in all the room was very comfortable and not cramped.

We only actually got food from the cafe at the hotel once as we were always eating out, we had the fish and chips which was actually very nice, and it was great that we could take away to our room, so all in all no complaints about the one meal that we did end up having from the resort, but it is definitely cheaper to eat outside the resort in the town where there are numerous eating options.

In terms of resort entertainment, there's a few bars and restaurants which are all easily accessible, there are three main swimming pools including an indoor pool which is nice and warm for those winter months of the year, we did not use the outside swimming pools but throughout our stay there was always someone using the pool so it must not of been bad, there are also tennis courts available and you can rent equipment for a $10 deposit from the cafe and there is usually at least 1 court available for play, there is also a nice shaded hut next to the court for those hot days.

I can't really comment on the beach access or facilities on the beach as we never visited the beach as we were busy driving around the area and over to Margaret River, but all in all it was a very comfortable and pleasant stay at the Abbey Beach Resort, and we would stay again.

Room Tip: There all pretty nice, but unbelievably the rooms that do not face the pool are probably nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the resort & found the cost for the accommodation & facilities to be modest. We do believe that our prices do reflect what the resort has to offer & are competitive with the region as a whole.

It pleases us further that you found our Studio Spa Suites to be spacious & the amenities provided useful. We believe that our spacious rooms give our guests that chance to relax in the spacious surrounds which extend out onto your private balcony.

With regards your comments on the cafe, we are glad that you enjoyed the food that you had & enjoyed the takeaway option. As a resort we undertake a great deal of market research & believe our prices to be competitive with other fine dining restaurants & resorts in the region.

It also pleases us that you enjoyed the indoor pool. It is heated to 28c & is always great for families & couples to enjoy the large pool or spa. We believe the 3 pools at the resort give our guests a great selection whether they would like to lounge, swim or play with their children. This carries onto our facilities such as the tennis courts, squash courts & gym. We aim to provide our guests with a home away from home, so that if they choose to they do not have to leave the surrounds of the resort.

Thank you once again for the resort & we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, so that you can explore more of the Margaret River wine region & the beautiful South West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my 5th time here.

Points I would to make:
- unable to 'order' mini bar before check in. It's rather odd that there is no mini bar anyway ?
- redirected re: minibar 3 times back to reception.
- waiters not being allowed to taste test the dessert menu thus unable to provide a recommendation.
- order came out wrong but the waiter who handled it was exceptional.

Should be told where rooms are. Facing car parks etc.

Apart from that, staff are friendly and accommodating. The only qualm I have is with no mini bar. Surely this would be a money maker? With energy saving fridges ?

Steak was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort. There is nothing we like more than welcoming back return guests to the resort.

With regards your comments on the mini bar, being a family resort, it is our policy not to have a stocked mini bar, allowing guests to bring their own refreshments or order them at the bar for room service & avoiding inflated prices.
Although where we do not provide a mini bar in the room on arrival, we do provide a wide selection of mini bar packages that can be ordered on our website or via telephone prior to arrival which is then placed in your room for arrival. Mini bar items can also be ordered from any of the cafes or bars at the resort & will be delivered to your room for a charge by a member of staff. I am sorry you haven't seen this option on our website & hope it is something you will utilize in the future.

All our Food & Beverage staff is trained to have knowledge of what is on the menu, what ingredients are provided in meals & given a tasting on the food we serve. We believe this provides our guest with the best customer service possible & we train our staff to be as knowledgeable about local products & wines. I am not sure how you came about the information that waiters are 'not allowed' to taste the dessert menu, as recommending our guests on what to have we believe is part of the service!
I am glad that you enjoyed the steak; I hope the waiter told you it was local to the Busselton area, as we always aim to promote local produce!

As a resort we are unable to provide room numbers or guarantee guests rooms until arrival. We can always place a request on your booking, but due to maintenance or housekeeping issues that sometimes occur, we feel not guaranteeing guests rooms avoids disappointment when checking in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we were really looking forward to a short break away, in one of Busselton's premier places of accomodation. The room was quite large and well laid out and every thing worked as it should.
The main let down was the bathroom, which really needs updating ! the shower was one of those terrible corner ones, where your nose hits the door as you are trying to shower. The bathroom is very tired, a really could do with modernizing and bringing it into the 21st century.
the hall ways were also very drab and un-appealling.
The only other let down was the cafe, where the staff did not even know what the cakes they were selling were called or had in them ! My wife had a safe cheese cake, which was stale.
Everything else was ok, but for the money, all a bit tired.

Room Tip: views over pools, lake or beach are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your feedback, we always welcome guests comments in the belief that it helps the resort continue to provide the high level of customer service that we pride ourselves on.

I am pleased you found the room to be large & well laid out. We believe that our rooms provide our guests whether it be couple in a Studio Spa Suite or families in a Lakeside Apartment a spacious environment to relax & enjoy their stay in. With regards your comments on the bathroom & in particular the size of our shower, I would have to disagree. As a resort we are rated by AAA Tourism & get regularly inspected. One of the continual comments we receive by them is how large our showers are & that our bathrooms are of a high standard for our guests needs. I would sincerely suggest that your comment regarding your nose hitting the shower door is quite the exaggeration!

With regards the hallways being 'drab & un-appealing' one of the bonuses of having a resident artist at the resort, is that we are lucky to be able to display her artwork around the resort, in particular in the hallways, the reception area & at the cafe. We are very lucky to have such a talented artist & are very pleased to be able to display it around the resort, so I cannot see how the hallways could be 'drab'!

I would also like to address your comments regarding the cafe. I certainly will be discussing with the Food & Beverage Manager regarding the staff knowledge on the cakes. It is certainly something all our staff are trained to know & it is feedback like this that is valuable in training staff. Although all our cakes are baked fresh in the morning, so I would suggest the cake was more not to your style of liking rather than being 'stale'

Being one of Busselton's largest & oldest resorts, we are continually undertaking renovation & refurbishment to improve & update the look of the resort. Where we are not 'ultra-modern' like a number of newer resorts in the area, we believe that our rooms & facilities that we have provide are why we are considered one of the area’s premier accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Address: 595 Bussell Hwy., Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Beach Resort sits on the beautiful Geographe Bay beachfront, set amidst four hectares of landscaped gardens and lakes, and just two and a half hours drive from Perth. The resort comprises 185 luxury units onsite with one, two and three bedroom apartments, plus studio suites. All apartments and studios are serviced daily and feature a private double spa, a bathroom with each bedroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Foxtel, private balcony and views over the lake/ocean/swimming pool, gardens, tennis courts and children's playground. Superb resort facilities include a complimentary Wi-Fi in the Atrium, restaurant, cafe, two bars, a 25 metre indoor heated swimming pool and spa, outdoor pools surrounded by lovely gardens and shaded with gazebos and umbrellas, squash court, full size and half court tennis, gymnasium and sauna. Abbey Beach Resort has the largest and most versatile function centre, with conference and corporate facilities, in the south west. Meeting rooms and boardrooms of varying sizes, as well as a ballroom and atrium, are available for workshops, dinners, exhibitions, trade displays, events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.