We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Beach Resort to your Saves list
Abbey Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   595 Bussell Hwy., Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stay here as often as we can. It is a beautiful place with great amenities and very friendly staff. A very short distance from the city and right on the beach so location is perfect. We would absolutely recommend this resort to all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review! There is nothing we like more here at Abbey Beach Resort then to welcome back return guests again & again! We are so lucky to have such a great location on the shores of Geographe Bay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back & thank you for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    230
    97
    38
    34
See reviews for
208
324
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nannup, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights. The accommodation side of the hotel was really good, as were the surroundings including the pools and close proximity to the beach. Unfortunately we found the food not up to par. We ate in the restaurant the first night, but found the food a little tasteless and did not reflect the high price charged. The breakfasts offered also did not come up to standard. Otherwise a lovely place to stay and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are very proud of how we maintain the Resort grounds and I am pleased you noted the accommodation as being 'really good'.

I can assure you I will be speaking to the Head Chef regarding your comments on both your Dinner & Breakfast food, so that we can provide the levels of service that we pride ourselves on.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed in the Studio Spa Room. Check in prompt and friendly. Room as always was very cleam and well maintained. Overall cleanliness of the complex was very high and is well maintained. Ate in the cafe on Saturday night and the meal was very tasty if not a bit highly priced. Clean pools and well maintained grounds. A great place for a peaceful and relaxing get away. Would high recommend this to anyone and we will be sure to stay here on furture visits to the region.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Studio Spa Room. Check in prompt and friendly. Room as always was very clean and well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks for your comments, Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Great to hear you dined in one of the two Restaurants open on Saturday nights. Thanks for your comments re our food & Beverage pricing, however it is similar to many restaurants in the local area and Region, so very competitive with the added bonus of not having to drive anywhere. Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bicton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed in the studio apartment! Check in was prompt and efficient though not overly friendly! Room was spotless,large and well equipted!Lobby is massive and a little dated.Gardens were well cared for but plastic geraniums in the pots around the pools a little odd!Overall a nice place to stay,not a knock out experience,but value for money!location on the bay is superb!Would stay here again at the price we payed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks for your great comments, Its nice to hear you enjoyed the studio. They are a great size with everything you need for a couple of days R & R. I appreciate your comments regarding the artificial plants around the indoor pool. We have tried several times to use ‘real’ plants but due to people ( children in particular) interfering with them the simply do not survive the onslaught. Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Abbey Beach is in a great location, with easy access to a lot of local tourist attractions. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with beach front views. The accommodation is clean, comfortable, with all the amenities you need for a weekend away. We had a few drinks in the lounge bar, but after looking at the dinner menu, we decided to drive into town for a meal. The prices are very steep. We would suggest the hotel look at lowering their prices to encourage patrons to dine in house. That would add to the atmosphere of the hotel. The pool areas are clean, inviting and the gardens are well maintained. It is a bit noisy in the corridors. You can hear people coming and going because every thing echo's. Screaming children can definately bring a shudder. Overall though, A beautiful place to stay and we will definitely look at staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks for your great comments, Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our food & Beverage pricing is similar to many restaurants in the local area and Region, so hopefully next time you might stay around the Resort and try one of our restaurants. Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Abbey Beach Resort for four nights. We had a great time, and due to school having just returned, we also enjoyed peace and quiet! The location is superbly located about 10 minutes or less from Busselton town centre, and Dunsborough, Yallingup and Margaret River are all easy, straight or single-turn drives so that almost no one could get lost. The room rates offered great value for money.

The room was clean and spacious, the amenities covered almost everything we needed, and the majority of staff were kind and friendly. The pool area was nice and quiet, well kept by the cleaner, and gets a good dose of direct sunshine during the summer months for almost the entire day.

My only piece of minor feedback relates to the fitness facilities: The gym has minimal equipment and doesn't have 24 hour swipe access like some others, meaning you need to wait until the cafe is open to let you in and out. Some mornings we wanted to hit the road before 8.00 which made getting in a workout quite tough. It would be great for the gym to have some free weights and extra machines added, as well as greater hours of access to add to convenience. Having said that, for those that don't enjoy hitting the weights but love hitting the pavement, some of the surrounding beaches and paths have amazing views for runners.

Thanks for a great stay - we'll be back again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with a pool view... helps you spot a good time to go down and secure a sun loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks much for your great comments Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your comments regarding the gym. We have tried various methods of guest access and the current method seems to work the best. Unfortunately the swipe card method allows guests to give their children access to the area and this results in broken and damaged equipment. As you mention, walking running and exercising on the beach or beach path is fantastic at this time of year and many guest avail themselves of this opportunity. Thanks for your room tip it’s a beauty, but not always possible from the hotels side of things, although we do try our best. Comments such as yours contain information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Aust
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at Abbey Beach for 3 nights in early Feb in the hotel part of the resort in a studio suite room with pool views.

We were in Busselton for a friend’s wedding and decided to extend our time in Busselton by staying an extra couple of nights.

Managed to get a competitive rate by searching online and asking the hotel to match an online rate I found.

The rooms were nice, modern and very spacious. Good sized bathroom with a spa. It was also very handy having a toaster and microwave in the "kitchenette".

Housekeeping staff were great! Very friendly and room was very clean.

Did not realise we could have asked for a room with King sized bed (did not see this info on website so if you want one make sure you ask at time of booking).

The resort is in a lovely location backing onto the beach, there are well maintained pathways along the beach for running/walking/bike riding.

The pools were very cold when we went down to go for a swim, which was surprising as the weekend we were down it was about 35 degrees. Even the heated indoor pool & spa were cool (my outdoor pool at home was warmer than the indoor "heated" pool). This wasn’t a major issue just meant we didn’t go swimming and went to the beach instead. Luckily the day we went down to the beach there were no stingers in the water.

Unfortunately an alarm went off in our part of the hotel at 11.30pm one night (it was a false alarm), but was not great being woken up at that time of night after having been out late the night before at a friend’s wedding. No-one from reception came to let us know it was a false alarm which meant a number of people were standing around in the car park, when I called reception they said they didn’t know about the alarm until someone came to report it to them.

Earlier that night we had gone to the Cafe for dinner and had a pretty bad experience, waiting over an hour for dinner. Based on our dinner I could not recommend going here.

Other than these few minor issues we had a nice stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask hotel to match online rate you find online through hotel booking wesbites. Request a king bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks much for your comments. Its nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our book direct and save rates available on our direct website are more competitive than 3rd party websites when available, so it does pay to keep an eye out and book direct and save!
The outdoor pool are not heated and arethe temp they are given the time of year and sunny conditions. The heated pool is heated from 28 – 31 degrees all year round, so it is a little surprising to hear that all the pools were cold. Sorry about the fire alarm unfortunately an inconsiderate guest or visitor set off the alarm (for no reason) which did cause some distress for all concerned. Sorry also to hear about the wait in the café. Unfortunately it sounds like there were orders ( room service and other patrons) who ordered before you and on a busy night there will be a wait time for the chefs to deal with all the orders they need to process. Comments such as yours contain information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Address: 595 Bussell Hwy., Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.