We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Beach Resort to your Saves list
Abbey Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   595 Bussell Hwy., Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Abbey Beach is in a great location, with easy access to a lot of local tourist attractions. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with beach front views. The accommodation is clean, comfortable, with all the amenities you need for a weekend away. We had a few drinks in the lounge bar, but after looking at the dinner menu, we decided to drive into town for a meal. The prices are very steep. We would suggest the hotel look at lowering their prices to encourage patrons to dine in house. That would add to the atmosphere of the hotel. The pool areas are clean, inviting and the gardens are well maintained. It is a bit noisy in the corridors. You can hear people coming and going because every thing echo's. Screaming children can definately bring a shudder. Overall though, A beautiful place to stay and we will definitely look at staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks for your great comments, Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our food & Beverage pricing is similar to many restaurants in the local area and Region, so hopefully next time you might stay around the Resort and try one of our restaurants. Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    259
    124
    47
    36
See reviews for
240
374
15
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Abbey Beach Resort for four nights. We had a great time, and due to school having just returned, we also enjoyed peace and quiet! The location is superbly located about 10 minutes or less from Busselton town centre, and Dunsborough, Yallingup and Margaret River are all easy, straight or single-turn drives so that almost no one could get lost. The room rates offered great value for money.

The room was clean and spacious, the amenities covered almost everything we needed, and the majority of staff were kind and friendly. The pool area was nice and quiet, well kept by the cleaner, and gets a good dose of direct sunshine during the summer months for almost the entire day.

My only piece of minor feedback relates to the fitness facilities: The gym has minimal equipment and doesn't have 24 hour swipe access like some others, meaning you need to wait until the cafe is open to let you in and out. Some mornings we wanted to hit the road before 8.00 which made getting in a workout quite tough. It would be great for the gym to have some free weights and extra machines added, as well as greater hours of access to add to convenience. Having said that, for those that don't enjoy hitting the weights but love hitting the pavement, some of the surrounding beaches and paths have amazing views for runners.

Thanks for a great stay - we'll be back again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with a pool view... helps you spot a good time to go down and secure a sun loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks much for your great comments Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your comments regarding the gym. We have tried various methods of guest access and the current method seems to work the best. Unfortunately the swipe card method allows guests to give their children access to the area and this results in broken and damaged equipment. As you mention, walking running and exercising on the beach or beach path is fantastic at this time of year and many guest avail themselves of this opportunity. Thanks for your room tip it’s a beauty, but not always possible from the hotels side of things, although we do try our best. Comments such as yours contain information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Aust
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at Abbey Beach for 3 nights in early Feb in the hotel part of the resort in a studio suite room with pool views.

We were in Busselton for a friend’s wedding and decided to extend our time in Busselton by staying an extra couple of nights.

Managed to get a competitive rate by searching online and asking the hotel to match an online rate I found.

The rooms were nice, modern and very spacious. Good sized bathroom with a spa. It was also very handy having a toaster and microwave in the "kitchenette".

Housekeeping staff were great! Very friendly and room was very clean.

Did not realise we could have asked for a room with King sized bed (did not see this info on website so if you want one make sure you ask at time of booking).

The resort is in a lovely location backing onto the beach, there are well maintained pathways along the beach for running/walking/bike riding.

The pools were very cold when we went down to go for a swim, which was surprising as the weekend we were down it was about 35 degrees. Even the heated indoor pool & spa were cool (my outdoor pool at home was warmer than the indoor "heated" pool). This wasn’t a major issue just meant we didn’t go swimming and went to the beach instead. Luckily the day we went down to the beach there were no stingers in the water.

Unfortunately an alarm went off in our part of the hotel at 11.30pm one night (it was a false alarm), but was not great being woken up at that time of night after having been out late the night before at a friend’s wedding. No-one from reception came to let us know it was a false alarm which meant a number of people were standing around in the car park, when I called reception they said they didn’t know about the alarm until someone came to report it to them.

Earlier that night we had gone to the Cafe for dinner and had a pretty bad experience, waiting over an hour for dinner. Based on our dinner I could not recommend going here.

Other than these few minor issues we had a nice stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask hotel to match online rate you find online through hotel booking wesbites. Request a king bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks much for your comments. Its nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our book direct and save rates available on our direct website are more competitive than 3rd party websites when available, so it does pay to keep an eye out and book direct and save!
The outdoor pool are not heated and arethe temp they are given the time of year and sunny conditions. The heated pool is heated from 28 – 31 degrees all year round, so it is a little surprising to hear that all the pools were cold. Sorry about the fire alarm unfortunately an inconsiderate guest or visitor set off the alarm (for no reason) which did cause some distress for all concerned. Sorry also to hear about the wait in the café. Unfortunately it sounds like there were orders ( room service and other patrons) who ordered before you and on a busy night there will be a wait time for the chefs to deal with all the orders they need to process. Comments such as yours contain information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ive stayed here a couple of times and have always felt very comfortable with the hotel and its amenities. We were quite grateful for the free upgrade with a room overlooking beach and late checkout 5pm! Great location especially, close to Dunsborough and 7kms from Busselton centre.
It is a large resort with its own restaurant, cafe and bar. It had 3 pools, tennis court and has the best beach front in the area.
The gardens are lovely with heaps of large grassed, shaded areas, great spot for kids.
The rooms are spacious, clean and quiet.
My only gripe, the resort needs an upgrade! A small fortune needs to be spent- Take down the venetians and tint the glass in the lobby/bistro/bar. Change the furniture to something more trendy in the bistro/bar. To stop your pesky bird problem with those gi-normous windows, try stringing up heavy duty fishing line 'crosses' in the frames, Im sure it would be more economical than taking a staff member out of valuable service to stand for 1-2 hours at dusk with a laser to deter them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks much for your comments. Its great to hear you enjoyed your upgrade and made use of the 5.00pm checkout on Sunday, which means you can enjoy the day and head home later in the day. The Atrium area will go through a refubishment in the not too distant future, along with other parts of the Hotel / Resort on a continual program of refurbishment, so keep coming back to see the constant changes we have planned. The birds are an issue and having spent many hours with CALM and various other experts the ‘lazer’ is the best option, and works, so we will continue to work on them this way for the time being. Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location to explore the region. About 7 Km outside Busselton. The hotel has all the amenities you could wish for and is right on a beautiful beach. Eat in one of the restaurants or get a take-away and eat in your room. Two outdoor pools. 25 metre inside pool. Extensive grounds. Plenty of parking. What else do you need?

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks so much for your comments. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family of three the first weekend in February. Our booking was handled well over the phone, although we were disappointed to have the carpark view rather than a pool view as we had requested. We realise that not everyone can have a room overlooking the pool, but when we enquired the next morning after check-in we were told "there are no notes requesting the pool view". Not sure how we can overcome that.
The stay itself was lovely. As frequent visitors to Busselton, this was our first stay at Abbey Beach Resort. The pools were great. We utilised all three of them during our stay. The indoor pool is a bonus. Large enough to swim laps and loads of space so there is room to enjoy it without overcrowding.
Access to the beach was lovely, especially with a young child. No roads to cross but rather a lovely stroll along the path past the lake and ducks.
Despite mixed reviews, we decided to try the main restaurant for Saturday night dinner. Not the greatest experience. The food was 'ok' and as we had previously read on this site we were forewarned that the prices would be comparable to Busselton restaurant prices so we were not expecting a low-price menu. A side of chips for $13 is excessive. Overall lack lustre food. Service was certainly lacking. We were never offered another drink despite our glasses being empty for over an hour. It was our choice to eat in and not venture into Busselton for a meal, but we would be reluctant to do so again.
Restaurant aside, we loved the stay and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. A bit of excitement with the fire alarms and an evacuation during the night, but a nice way to meet our accomodation neighbours in pjs in the carpark! These things happen and most definitely would not put us off a return visit. We will be back next month with relatives for a stay. The late check out on a Sunday is a wonderful offer and coupled with the overall experience, it is now our preferred accom in Busselton.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest, fantastic to hear such great comments. I will discuss the request issue with the Front Office & Rooms Division Manager to try and avoid this in the future. Unfortunately you are correct that not everyone can have a pool view, but we do try our best. This is a request only and not guaranteed. Thanks for your comments regarding the pools etc, they are heavily used all year round. Sorry about the fire alarm unfortunately an inconsiderate guest or visitor set off the alarm (for n reason) which did cause some distress for all concerned.
We are certainly glad to hear we are now your preferred accommodation in Busselton. Your comments contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our stay at Abbey Beach was a delight. We try and get down here once a year. We have stayed at other properties but always reurn to Abbey Beach.
You walk right out onto the beach onto a carriage way which you can walk or ride you push bikes.
The beach is lovely and the staff are very friendly.
The grounds are very nice and kept in good shape.
We had a down stairs room this time but I prefer the top floor as the people above us were very noisy and at times it sounded like a herd of elephants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest, WOW fantastic to hear your comments. Sorry about the upstairs guests, not much we can do about them unfortunately. Your comments contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Address: 595 Bussell Hwy., Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Beach Resort sits on the beautiful Geographe Bay beachfront, set amidst four hectares of landscaped gardens and lakes, and just two and a half hours drive from Perth. The resort comprises 185 luxury units onsite with one, two and three bedroom apartments, plus studio suites. All apartments and studios are serviced daily and feature a private double spa, a bathroom with each bedroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Foxtel, private balcony and views over the lake/ocean/swimming pool, gardens, tennis courts and children's playground. Superb resort facilities include a complimentary Wi-Fi in the Atrium, restaurant, cafe, two bars, a 25 metre indoor heated swimming pool and spa, outdoor pools surrounded by lovely gardens and shaded with gazebos and umbrellas, squash court, full size and half court tennis, gymnasium and sauna. Abbey Beach Resort has the largest and most versatile function centre, with conference and corporate facilities, in the south west. Meeting rooms and boardrooms of varying sizes, as well as a ballroom and atrium, are available for workshops, dinners, exhibitions, trade displays, events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.