We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Let Down By Abysmal Customer Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Beach Resort to your Saves list
Abbey Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   595 Bussell Hwy., Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place, Let Down By Abysmal Customer Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife, son and I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with my sister and her partner. It was a nice apartment and we had a great afternoon swimming in the pools. Then we tried to have dinner.

What a fiasco. We booked for 6.30pm so our son could get to bed on time. At 8pm we still had not been served, though a number of patrons who had come in after us had. The restaurant was not even 20% full, so I have no idea why this would be the case?!? After asking again when our meals would be arriving, I finally asked for them to be taken to our room when they were ready as we had to get our son to bed.

The meals arrived about 15 minutes later and they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. Unfortunately the meals were almost inedible. It was like they had been sitting in a bain-marie for the extra hour or more we had been waiting for them! We forced them down as it was late and we were not going to try and get food from anywhere else.

Upon check out I related our experience to the reception staff member and was asked to fill out a feedback form and told the manager would be in contact with me the following week.

I never received any further communication from them. I have since rung back twice, leaving my contact details and asking for the manager to call me...to no avail.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments about the Resort. I am however disappointed to hear your comments regarding your dining experience and beyond. I received your email yesterday (mid afternoon which say’s the same thing as your review). Unfortunately, I did not receive any customer feedback form or messages that you apparently left? I find it difficult to believe you spoke to possible 3 different reception staff members and all 3 failed to pass the messages on – this has never happened before that I am aware of and have spoken to the Front Office Manager who is shocked at the comment. Apon checkout we would not normally ask you to fill out a comment sheet, our normal practise would be to have the Duty Manager speak to you and try and sort the issue out straight away. I have spoken to the Food Service Manager who was aware of the issue with the long wait to obtain your meal and she has believes the Restaurant was busier than you state and that there were many room services ahead of your orders. That being said we should have acknowledged the ‘wait time’ and spoken to you earlier. I also believe having spoken to the Café Manager that night, you were very happy to receive the free bottle of wine as compensation for the long wait, and both the Food Service Manager & Café Manager believe they dealt with the issue as you did not speak to them after receiving your meals?
What you have stated in you review is not how the Resort Management operates if there is an issue and I believe some of your comments are unfair and unjust. Comments such as yours contain valuable information for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the near future. You can stay in touch with us for great deals and specials on our website, via facebook, twitter or Foursquare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    268
    127
    51
    41
See reviews for
249
394
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

A lovely place to stay. Myself, husband and 2 children loved it. Two nights wasn't enough!
Loved the spacious rooms, high quality furnishings and fittings. Great having 2 bathrooms and a big spa bath. Loved the gardens, pools, beach. You name it, we liked it!

Room Tip: We were in room 66 - good spot as its close to the beach, far enough away from the busier areas like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest, thanks so much for your awesome comments, your room tip is a good one. Suite 66 faces the Ocean, it’s a great apartment. Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the near future, perhaps next time grab our 4 night midweek package for that extra couple of days away. You can stay in touch with us for great deals and specials on our website, via facebook, twitter or Foursquare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

recently travelled to australia and stayed in different areas, when i got to busselton i loved the area! Arriving at abbey beach was amazing, we got a room on the ground floor next to the two pools and it was the best room you could think of. We had a kitchen, seating area, a room with two single beds, large bathroom, a room with a double bed and en-suite. You cannot fault this hotel at all it really is amazing, the beach is down a path next to the pool, the beach is lovely and clean with clear blue sea! The two pools are both lovely and the indoor pool is also very nice. The staff there are very kind and helpful we asked where to go for shops and a night out and they helped us, even though it is a quiet little town for a group of young people we really enjoyed our stay and wish i could of stayed for longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

A great location, easy check in and out with facilities to keep all the family happy, only wish we could stay longer, our girls did not want to leave.

Room Tip: We had a beach front suite near the playground it was great for us as we could watch the kids from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest, thanks so much for your nice comments, your room tip is a good one! Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the near future. You can stay in touch with us for great deals and specials on our website, via facebook, twitter or Foursquare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay and were very pleasantly surprised. To start the process, we got a text message advising us that our room was ready for us - and this was a nice touch as we were in our car about 50km still to go - made us feel welcome already. The check-in was effortless, professional and friendly. Lobby - bright, clean and welcoming.
Our "suite" was very inviting in that it was bright, modern and spotless. We had 3 bedrooms with 3 bathrooms - beds comfortable with white linen (no flowery, scary, stain-hiding fabric). Kitchen had all the crockery/cutlery we needed. All appliances worked well.
BBQ downstairs (x6) worked well. We used the indoor pool as the outdoor ones were a bit cool for our liking. My sister used the gym and found it sufficient - stationary bike was a bit tired.
Grounds were well-kept - and just a general feeling of cleanliness which is what we were looking for.
We did not use any of the restaurants this time and there is a supermarket (IGA) about a 10 minute walk away. The town centre is probably a 5 min drive by car.
We stayed at the Broadwater Beach Resort which is the next resort up the road in Oct 11 and Abbey Beach beats it hands down. I was also pleasantly surprised to find that our rooms were serviced and clean towels laid out - I don't recall this being done at the Broadwater Beach Resort.
I also realised halfway home to Perth that I had forgotten my Galaxy Tablet in the room and called the hotel. Reception took my details and called me back within 10 minutes to tell me that they had found it - what a relief (and what honesty of staff)!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 32 and it was faultless. At our next stay I will ask for a downstairs suite, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest, thanks so much for your wonderful comments. It’s great to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us and by the sounds of it used all the Resort facilities. Unfortunate that you left your tablet behind, glad it was sorted for you straight away. Thanks for your room tip, Suite 32 is close to all the Resort facilities including the indoor pool. Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future. You can stay in touch with us for great deals and specials on our website, via facebook, twitter or Foursquare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

A great place to stay if you're in Busselton for a while or just passing through. Out of town and well-appointed to allow you to cook, do the washing etc when you're on tour. While the building is a little dated, it still is a great place to stay beachfront with easy access to the walking trails and a nice walk to town. Second time visitor and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Guest, thanks so much for your nice comments. Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. Great to hear this was your second visit with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort again in the near future. You can stay in touch with us for great deals and specials on our website, via facebook, twitter or Foursquare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This resort is amazing and I could stay here for weeks.

Best to come in summer to get the best of all the facilities such as the pools and sea.

The rooms are great and modern. We had a problem with our stove top but after calling maintenance that was soon sorted out.

The main restaurant is pricey and even the cafe is not cheap. But dont miss wedges from the cafe they are amazing.

Rooms serviced daily, however housekeeping staff are a bit lazy

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Guest, thanks so much for your comments. Its awesome to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us and that you like to stay for weeks! Ahh the wedges, yep they are certainly yummy! Sorry to hear you thought housekeeping were a bit lazy, I will discuss this with the head of the department. Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future. You can stay in touch with us for great deals and specials on our website, via facebook, twitter or Foursquare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#9 of 14 in Busselton
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
16.0 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Address: 595 Bussell Hwy., Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Beach Resort sits on the beautiful Geographe Bay beachfront, set amidst four hectares of landscaped gardens and lakes, and just two and a half hours drive from Perth. The resort comprises 185 luxury units onsite with one, two and three bedroom apartments, plus studio suites. All apartments and studios are serviced daily and feature a private double spa, a bathroom with each bedroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Foxtel, private balcony and views over the lake/ocean/swimming pool, gardens, tennis courts and children's playground. Superb resort facilities include a complimentary Wi-Fi in the Atrium, restaurant, cafe, two bars, a 25 metre indoor heated swimming pool and spa, outdoor pools surrounded by lovely gardens and shaded with gazebos and umbrellas, squash court, full size and half court tennis, gymnasium and sauna. Abbey Beach Resort has the largest and most versatile function centre, with conference and corporate facilities, in the south west. Meeting rooms and boardrooms of varying sizes, as well as a ballroom and atrium, are available for workshops, dinners, exhibitions, trade displays, events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.