We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff - Hideous guests!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Beach Resort to your Saves list
Abbey Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   595 Bussell Hwy., Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff - Hideous guests!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We arrived on a Friday night.
As soon as I entered our one bedroom, self contained apartment I could hear a man coughing in the room next door. My first thought was that I must have been mistaken because I didn't think sound could possibly travel that easily through the walls.
Later, after going to bed at midnight, I was to experience just how easily sound (every sound) could travel from the apartment next to ours. For four and a half hours I lay, listening to them talking non-stop, opening and closing the sliding door onto the balcony, dragging furniture on the balcony, smoking, coughing and belching whilst on the balcony and then finally at around 4.45am they decided to go to bed and I will leave it up to you to work out what I was then listening to.
By then I was distraught and phoned reception to inform them of the problem and that I had not slept all night. I then went back to bed and slept intermitently for about two hours.
I phoned reception at around 10am and requested that we be moved. I knew there was no way I could spend another night like that.
To their credit they were wonderfully accommodating and moved us to a two bedroom, beach front apartment. We had views of the beach and the apartment was lovely, if a tad tired. However they are very well priced for such a stunning location.
So by the time we moved it was after 12.30pm and we had planned to have walked on the beach then driven to Margaret River. We had also wanted to use the gym and heated pool, but were so shattered from the night before all we did was a quick trip to MR for lunch then back to the room.
We had a luxurious spa in our room and a beautiful sleep that night. This was the weekend break we had come here for. We were so sorry to have to leave the next day and felt very ripped off thanks to the events of the previous night.
I don't blame the resort for this though. Apart from the sound proofing problems, the guests in the room next to ours were disgusting. When we moved rooms we encountered a family who thought it was OK for their children to run around, yelling and playing outside our rooms and bashing on the door and yelling when they wanted to be let back in. What is wrong with people? They seem to have no idea about what is acceptable behaviour.
If we return to Abbey Beach we will only book a beach front apartment, however I just think it is too risky to stay in such a big resort, where you run the risk of being subjected to the hideous behaviour of people who have no manners or consideration for their neighbours.
Looking at other reviews, our experience seems to be a 'one-off'.
What I will say is that the staff were absolutely wonderful, helpful and caring and we are very thankful to them.
It is a terrible shame that there is nothing to stop or govern the bad behaviour of their guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Semsavblanc, I am sorry to hear of the guest noise problems associated with your stay, I am glad to hear however that apon discussing the problem with Reception we upgraded you to another apartment. I appreciate your comments regarding noise and children. Noise is something we do try and deal with, given all guests have the ‘right’ to peace and quiet during their stay, children, well as you mention it really is up to the parents to control them and not something the Resort can really get involved in, unless the noise or behavior of the children warrants the Resort getting involved. It is great to hear you found the staff helpful and caring, its comments such as these that help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    259
    124
    47
    36
See reviews for
239
373
15
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Sounds a bit boring, but again I return from a business trip to Abbey, and again I say thanks to all the staff for a great stay. It really is everything that you should want from a stay. There was a problem with my computer and the Manager was very helpful in getting the issue corrected himself. Front office staff great and the food excellent.
Again this seems boring, but Abbey is highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Madfish 56, Thanks again for your kind comments. It was no problem and a pleasure to help you out with your pc – I am also glad you enjoyed the food at the Café, its great to hear the new chef and his team are making a difference. Thanks again for the recommendation, we appreciate your regular visits and look forward to seeing you in a couple of months. Remember to stay in touch with us for great deals and specials on our website, via facebook, twitter or Foursquare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Abbey Beach Resort for a family Wedding. We cannot fault the resort, from the beautiful apartment we stayed in, to the lovely garden setting for the wedding ceremony, to the fantastic function room for the reception. The food was fantastic and the service was very professional. The apartments are set in blocks which was great as we were very close to the rest of the family members that stayed at the resort. If anyone is thinking about holding their wedding at this resort, we would highly recommend it. The resort also boasts two lovely outdoor swimming pools and an indoor pool and spa for the colder months. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment overlooking the lake, we had our own private spa in the ensuite. The proximity of the resort to the beach was ideal for long walks on the beach or for hiring a bike and riding along the path that runs for miles along the beachfront.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Hello, many thanks for your fantastic comments regarding the Resort, it is fantastic to hear the wedding went well, even the weather ‘came to the party’! Its great to hear you loved all the Resort facilities and enjoyed the 2 bedroom apartment you stayed in! Thanks also for the comment regarding weddings we love hosting these ‘special days’ for couples, families and there guests. Comments such as yours contains valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future. You can stay in touch with us for great deals and specials on our website, via facebook, twitter or Foursquare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We have stayed at this lovely resort many times - both as a couple and as a family with young children (4 & 8). Our latest stay was with kids and they loved it so much that they are always asking us to go back.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartments are very big and there is plenty of space for the kids to play. The kitchen has everything you could ever need in it (including a dishwasher). We went out for dinner a few times and also stayed in a few nights. They have great bbq facilities available just outside the rooms. We also had a big balcony area with table and chairs.

The swimming pools are just great - there is a huge heated indoor pool and 2 outdoor pools. The pools are in great condition and very nice for swimming or just lying around on the sun chairs. We liked having the indoor pool as this means the kids could swim every day even if the weather was a bit cold. We had a few snacks in the cafe by the pool and the food was good but a bit overpriced I think.

The resort is located on the beach and we went fishing there a few times. We didn’t catch many fish but it was a great experience for the kids.

I recommend this resort if travelling with children as mine just loved it. It’s also a great base if you want to travel around to do some sight seeing.

We will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear nards72, many thanks for your nice comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and used many of the facilities the Resort has to offer, it’s a shame you did not catch any fish from the beach, many guests have done so in the past. Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future. You can stay in touch with us for great deals and specials on our website, via facebook, twitter or Foursquare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australind
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The highlight of our stay was the great way we were dealt with by all staff-reception and cafe. (we didn't eat at main restaurant) The food was adequate.
In the room the comfort of the bed was average but all other amenities were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear kaged, many thanks for your kind comments regarding staff, I will certainly pass your comments onto them. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Comments such as these contains valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future. You can stay in touch with us for great deals and specials on our website, via facebook, twitter or Foursquare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Rooms were very clean and staff was very attentive, spa was great and overall a very nice resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear lovetotravel101_101, Thanks so much for your nice comments.! Feedback such as yours contains valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future. You can stay in touch with us for great deals and specials on our website, via facebook, twitter or Foursquare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

A quality hotel in a good location with friendly staff.
Excellent facilities (including a very nice swimming pool).
Spacious room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Sir, many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your comments regarding the facilities and swimming pool ( we have 3, including a 25 metre heated indoor pool). Your comments contains valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future. You can stay in touch with us for great deals and specials on our website, via facebook, twitter or Foursquare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Address: 595 Bussell Hwy., Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Beach Resort sits on the beautiful Geographe Bay beachfront, set amidst four hectares of landscaped gardens and lakes, and just two and a half hours drive from Perth. The resort comprises 185 luxury units onsite with one, two and three bedroom apartments, plus studio suites. All apartments and studios are serviced daily and feature a private double spa, a bathroom with each bedroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Foxtel, private balcony and views over the lake/ocean/swimming pool, gardens, tennis courts and children's playground. Superb resort facilities include a complimentary Wi-Fi in the Atrium, restaurant, cafe, two bars, a 25 metre indoor heated swimming pool and spa, outdoor pools surrounded by lovely gardens and shaded with gazebos and umbrellas, squash court, full size and half court tennis, gymnasium and sauna. Abbey Beach Resort has the largest and most versatile function centre, with conference and corporate facilities, in the south west. Meeting rooms and boardrooms of varying sizes, as well as a ballroom and atrium, are available for workshops, dinners, exhibitions, trade displays, events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.