We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, cold, mouldy and expensive.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton to your Saves list
Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Holgate Road | Corner Bussell Hwy & Holgate Rd, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Tired, cold, mouldy and expensive.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

We booked a two bedroom villa at the Broadwater Beach "Resort" in Busselton for $197/night. This was their best internet rate. Upon arrival we were met by a very stressed receptionist who was clearly overworked.

Our room was extremely out dated. Stuck in the 90's. This wouldn't have been such an issue had it been comfortable and clean. Sadly it was not. Hard seating, hard beds and dirty bathrooms and kitchens were not what we expected for $197 a night.

The bathroom had rust and mould marks on the walls.

The kichen needed a good going over with Ajax Spray and Wipe. Rust and dirt near the ovens, stoves etc.

Despite the resort requirement that noise after 10pm is not allowed, a party was raging in a nearby area of the resort making sleep impossible. At 11pm we asked for the noise to be curtailed and instead were moved to another room. This new room (a 3 bedroom) was worse.

Walls were water stained.
Floors were dusty and stained.
Shower / bath was mouldy - making the advertised "Spa Bath" unusable...
Room was cold and air-conditioner (heater function) did not work.

I recommend anyone going to Busselton to avoid this property. The nearby Grand Mercure is far better for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    54
    46
    24
    15
See reviews for
68
42
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Spent 1 night in a 3 bed apartment. Good location on the beach with ok pool area not far from central Busselton with shops easy walking. Room a little dated for the price with little kitchen equipment, no frying pan. Bar area and pool little noisy but typical of family type resort.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from the most relaxing and pleasant four night stay over the Australia Day holiday period. Our one bedroom apartment overlooking the pool consisted of a fully equiped kitchen and lounge, seperate bedroom and a huge bathroom complete with spa. The bed and pillows were the most comfotable I have experienced in any resort or hotel. Although this property is fairly old and dated it has been well maintained and we particularly enjoyed the beautiful botanical gardens surrounding the whole complex.

There is a small shopping centre just 5 minutes walk from the resort with a Chemist, Supermarket, Pizzeria, Fish and Chips, Japanese and other eateries offering the choice of take away or you can eat in the food hall. The magnificant beach was two minutes walk from our apartment and Busselton town centre a 10 minute drive away.

We would definitely return to this resort but only if we could get a discounted rate similar to this occasion. My ono criticism is that I was expected to pay $5 for 30 minutes access to the internet using my own laptop which I thought quite unreasonable for a moderately expensive resort.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights over the Australia Day weekend we had a 3 bedroom apartment at the beach front $390 per night, if you decide to take one of these be prepared for the bar next door music from around 5pm through to 12.30am so loud you cannot sleep until they close up. Four star dream on as with most South West accomadation there confidence does not match there ability no wonder people are flocking overseas. Dont expect your towels to be changed or the room to be cleaned its not part of the service.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment on the upper storey. The only way up is stone steps, so not friendly to older people or small children. We have previously stayed in a more up-market unit, which is worth the extra. For me the issue was, as usual the bed. A bit hard. We tried to follow instuctions on the tv/dvd which needed up-dating, but could not make them work. I made a call to reception and was told that there was no-one to help. I stated that it was not good enough and a few minutes later someone arrived. At that point my son-in-law found that the problem was loose connections at the rear of the tv, which he fixed. The person that came to help was very condesending.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

i stayed in a tennis villa room and was very impressed,full kitchen facilities including dishwasher and oven which is handy as there is a shopping centre less then a 5 minute walk away,they have a dvd player with dvds for rent aswell as several foxtel channels- espn,sky news,nickeloden,showtime,showtime greats,movie greats.the bathroom was very big and included a spa,washing machine,clothes dryer,and a closeline out back.the beds were the most comftable ive slept on in years.the resort facilities include 6 tennis courts (4 on the beach,a basketball court,),2 pools(1 outside,1 undercover inside with a spa) a games room for the kids with a pool table and several arcade machinesseveral barbiques.,the resort is right on the beach wich is very handy as you get beach towels to use,the complex is secure with gates so you feel very safe,this is a very large size resort so i found it very quiet,there is a resteraunt there but atm they only serve breakfast on the weekend and a bar service on friday and saturday nights and no dinner service,but this is understandablet given my earlier comment on the local supermarket,i will be staying again at this resort

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

We had five people -- a family of four plus grandma, including a 2 yo and 5 yo. We stayed in the 3 bedroom loft for 4 nights. The price was good for a group that size.

The cons: As a previous reviewer noted, the loft had a metal spiral staircase that was a menace for young kids. So 2 adults stayed upstairs, and my husband hit his head on the staircase several times. It was low enough so I did too, and I'm short! The fixtures overall were OK, just old and some had peeling melamine. The loft had no wardrobe or even suitcase stands, so all our stuff was on the floor. The worst thing was the ants everywhere in one of the bedrooms. We didn't eat at the resort so I can't comment about the food. The most annoying thing was having to carry your key to go in and out of the grounds, including to the beach. I appreciate the need for security. But there was at least one gate left open during the day, so their precautions were a bit useless. There's a small shopping center a short walk away but most of the shops were closed. Either they are seasonal or out of business.

pros: The price was good. Nice playground and pools, decent tennis courts. Lovely landscaping. The beach was OK but not spectacular. The staff were professional (not rude, I mean) but not particularly welcoming or friendly. There was an internet kiosk in the lobby.

OK as a hotel, not good as a resort. If you stay there, plan to eat and entertain yourself elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#9 of 14 in Busselton
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
24.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton

Address: 1 Holgate Road | Corner Bussell Hwy & Holgate Rd, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Budget Places, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton Hotel Busselton
Broadwater Beach Hotel Busselton
Broadwater Busselton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.