We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton to your Saves list
Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Holgate Road | Corner Bussell Hwy & Holgate Rd, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
perth wa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

we were a little dissapointed over all with our stay. the room was very well sized and very clean, we had a ground floor studio. the restaurant was the biggest let down, limited menu and quite pricey. breakfast was a big let down, they only had a continental breakfast available, no cooked food and it was expensive too. the location could be better described in their web page, it's so far out of Busselton we almost turned round because we thought we had missed it. probably why there's no map on their page. however we had a good weekend, access to the beach is brilliant and the pool was excellent. the staff were friendly and helpful. would we come back? probably, but we would make arrangements to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    40
    36
    21
    13
See reviews for
49
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

I stayed here with my partner and 10 month old daughter as a base for visiting the Margaret River area. I found the villa to be a bit on the basic side, clean enough but could do with a freshen up as it looks a bit dated and well used. We booked a 2 bedroom villa but ended up with 3 bedrooms. This actually was not a bonus as all this meant was that we had a large, circular metal staircase in the middle of our living area which used valuable space and was not safe for our daughter. If you are booking a 3 bedroom villa be aware that small children could not sleep in this roof top bedroom as there is no door, it is open so they could climb over and fall and also the stairs are difficult to negotiate. We borrowed a travel cot, at a cost, and it was very well used and had a mouldy smell so we didn't use it. When you pay for something like that which doesn't cost much to buy you'd expect it to be in a good state of repair.
The kitchen was very basically equiped and I found it hard to prepare food for my daughter i.e. no sharp knife, veg peeler, etc. We were going to stay for 4 nights but ended up going home after 2 as it was a hassle for me rather than a holiday.
We had a drink in the bar once and I sat on a sofa to feed my baby, a man came up to tell me to be careful as one of the legs was missing from the sofa! It was just little things like that which made our stay less than enjoyable. The beach is nice to walk along but not particularly picturesque. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice and wasn't too busy. For me, there are better places to stay, closer to Margaret River so I wouldn't recommend this place if that's what you plan to do.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

Hotel rated as 4 star – but nowhere near it. It's in a good location, has good facilities, child friendly. We stayed at this resort for 3 nights - 1 couple and an 8 year old in Studio Apartment with Loft. We paid $170 per night -deal of the day, it is good value for money (normal tariff is $239).The apartment was so dated - need of an upgrade.
There is a reverse cycle ac/heater in the main bedroom for the whole apartment. Loft room has a ceiling fan, no heater and no wardrobe. 1st day was very sunny - the loft was nice and warm. 2nd day was windy and cold, loft was cold (no electric blankets). On the website it looked very spacious and appealing, but disappointed when we walked in. Very limited cutlery and dishes. There were no champagne glasses; we had to use wine glasses for champagne. No cereal bowls or any - my son used pasta plate for his porridge. Rooms were serviced daily. 2nd day we rang the reception to report spa was not working. Receptionist said, they’ll send someone to have a look at in 5mins. No one turned up. We rang again, they would not answer the phone. This was about 6.30pm Reception closes at 8pm. The matter was forgotten. Very disappointed. The Stilts restaurant is good. Check-in staff - friendly, made us feel welcomed. Check-out - not friendly, no greetings - need training.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

We stayed at this resort for 3 nights over Christmas. 2 couples and a two year old. Firsty they booked us into a villa with no cooking facilities and two rooms - one with double the other with single. I told them that this was unacceptable as we were travelling with a baby and needed cooking facilities etc..... I was told too bad.
Unhappy with this, I rang the resort again and was told that there was another room available with full cooking facilities and two double rooms. Funny that!

Our room was not ready when we arrived for the 2pm check in and we were told to wait for an hour. The manager of the hotel was not jovial or polite and looked like he didnt want to be there. This was to be said for the other front desk staff who couldnt break a smile either.

So to our room. Well very limited, very old and outdated with no ambience whatsoever. This resort first opened 17yrs ago, so really is in radical need of attention. (didnt floral bedspreads go out in the early 90's??)

The facilities in the room were very limited. Our toddler didnt have anywhere to sit and play with her toys as the floor was hard lino. So we had to put our beach towels down for her to sit on.

There is two pools. One inside with a spa. The spa area was enclosed and the windows looked like they had never seen a cleaning cloth in their entirety.

There was no internet connection or facility at the resort (come on get with the times) and when ringing reception received a monotone response of 'nah we dont have it'.

So all in all, I would not recommend this resort and wont be paying their exorbitant prices ever again. We paid $315 per night because of Christmas(normal tarrif being $215 pn). There is a plethora of accommodation options in this lovely area and for that price you could get something much, much nicer and more modern.

  • Liked — The only thing I can comment on is the fabulous location - right on the beach
  • Disliked — Drab and uninviting.... needs a refurbishment in a hurry if they are going to keep charging top dollar
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

I just stayed for 4 nights with my family during schoolies. We would certainly come back again (happy to take Tennis Villa No. 44) but would certainly NOT come back during schoolies.

(for those who don't know schoolies is when our nation's finest have reached the pinnacle of their secondary education and run amok along the Australian coastline to "let their hair down").

Apart from schoolie related issues - human excrement in a bush, vandalised reticulation, drunken, expletive-laden conversations with a few feet of my 5 and 7 year-olds as they walked past and discarded liquor bottles around the place - the trip was good.

It's in a good location, has good facilities, has a nice in-house cafe (Stilts) and the accommodation is family-friendly.

Yes, overall we would recommend the place (but only for 51 weeks of the year).

  • Liked — Family friendliness
  • Disliked — Presence of schoolies during stay
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

I was worried after reading the other reviews here but we had no problems with the resort. We were in a first floor (second for americans) access villa with 2 bedrooms, kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a third bedroom in a loft. The loft was accessed by steep stairs and was hot and had no cupboards or drawers. Suggest ceiling fan and stroage space would improve loft space, Nice view over bush to the sea (easy access to sea through back gate. near the restaurant but no loud noise problems. Pool, games room, BBQ amenities all fine.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

Stayed at the Broadwater Beach resort over Easter this year. Hotel and decor very dated. We booked an exective villa for $415 AUD a night. The villa was so dated it was in serious need of an upgrade. We booked the exective villa as it was the only room category with a BBQ. The BBQ looked like it hadn't been cleaned since the 70's. After complaining we moved to a beach villa (next to the bar) very noisy. Even though our room was better it was still in need of serious maintenace. Our bathroom sink was held together with tape. Not sure if they have a renovation in their near future plans but avoid hotel at all costs until they have!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton

Address: 1 Holgate Road | Corner Bussell Hwy & Holgate Rd, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton Hotel Busselton
Broadwater Beach Hotel Busselton
Broadwater Busselton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.