We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the whole family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wonky Windmill Farm & Eco Park

Wonky Windmill Farm & Eco Park
218 Yelverton Nth Road, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
08 97557201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 things to do in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Become friends with happy and well mannered farm animals. There are lambs to bottle feed, pigs, ponies, rabbits, guinea pigs, llama, alpaca, deer, goats, emus and ostrich to feed and pat and kangaroos too!. Free tastings of sensational marmalades, jams, pickles, chutneys, marinated olives and extra virgin olive oil. Relax with a homemade scone, a pot of tea or coffee. A large shady lawn area, sandpit, cubby house and a selection of ball games makes for happy kids too. Light lunches available. BBQ facilities.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

went here last week and really enjoyed it. stinking hot day, but the animals are so gentle to feed. wife and kid had a ball too. and before you go, try the home made jams. the fig jam was brilliant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for little and big ones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our two toddlers loved visiting and giving tiny Mary the lamb a bottle of milk. This was the first time that littlest toddler had seen and fed animals up close, he was so impressed with all of them but loved the pigs and little goats. And the kangaroos - they both loved Skippy! Wonky windmill is a friendly and genuine farm experience, no plastic play parks or gimmicks, just lots of friendly animals, kind staff and a shaded area with some cubbies, birds and a sand pit to relax after feeding all those animals. We have visited here twice now and wouldn't hesitate to take the kids back again next time we visit
.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely day at the Wonky Windmill Farm in March 2014. The animals are super friendly and followed us along the fence line as we walked along. My son's favourite were the rabbits and guinea pigs but all the animals were friendly and were happy to be fed and patted. It costs $12 per person (unfortunately they dont accept the carers card or companion card) but the food to feed the animals was included in the price. They offer a small range of food to have a nice lunch there, and I have to say it was lovely. Would definitely visit again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellef270, Owner at Wonky Windmill Farm & Eco Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your very kind words... we do try our best to make sure everyone has a fun experience here. The rabbits and guinea pigs are very cute!
Look forward to catching up on your next visit.
kind regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our young family visited Wonky Windmill on a Tuesday just after school holidays finished and we had the whole place to ourselves. There was one family just finishing their visit when we were there and gave us some helpful advice that one of the llamas was spitting, so be careful. The location is a little out from Margaret River, in fact closer to Dunsborough and not on either of the main road around the region.

We had a simple lunch before we started and ordered off the menu. It's a basic menu with nothing fancy and very reasonably priced. It was also a warm day and the walk around the farm has minimal shade, so be mindful.

At the start of the walk, we got to feed the baby lamb a bottle of milk and were given food to feed the rest of the animals. They were all friendly and they all came up to the fence expecting food whenever we came near. There's also plenty of poo pellets from some of the animals near the fence, so if you're a little delicate, be mindful of where you put your feet.

The track is unsealed gravel, so if you're pushing a pram, it can get a little bumpy. The farm goes around in one big circle, so you can't get lost. There lots of animals here for the kids to see, nothing out of the ordinary. The great thing is that since they know they're going to get fed, all of the animals will come up to the fence, which gives you a chance to pat and take a photo. Just be mindful of the spitting llama - apparently.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellef270, Owner at Wonky Windmill Farm & Eco Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi there and thank you for passing on the helpful hints for future visitors to our farm.
It is not usually necessary to watch out for animal poo as all animals are in their paddocks - however we have had one sheep lately that is slipping out to visit it's friends!!
We hope you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again.
regards Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“fantastic day for all ages!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

we had sucha fun time here over the xmas break we made a visit with my girlfriend and her parents who are out from pommy land , the animals were all so tame and friendly
theres all sorts of farm animals and a kangaroo aswell. you get to bottle feed a lamb and the bag of food to feed the animals is quite good size and is included in your entry fee which most places I have visited do not do this :)
The staff who run the place are so nice aswell which is a big plus I cant stand going places when people are miserable and make you feel like a burden.
p.s you MUST have a scone they cook em fresh to order ohhhhma godddd

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellef270, Owner at Wonky Windmill Farm & Eco Park, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to let everyone know about your visit. We do try hard to provide a great experience for all ages and to greet people with a smile!! This is not hard to do as we have such lovely people come to visit us. Remind us of your comment next time you visit as I'm sure we can reward you with something...
Regards Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wonky Windmill Farm & Eco Park also viewed

Busselton, Western Australia
Busselton, Western Australia
 
Busselton, Western Australia
Busselton, Western Australia
 

Been to Wonky Windmill Farm & Eco Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wonky Windmill Farm & Eco Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.