We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Quiet and Private” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Observatory Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Observatory Guest House to your Saves list
Observatory Guest House
7 Brown St, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Busselton B&B and Inns
PERTH
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Quiet and Private”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed btwo nights on a trip to Busselton early January 2013. I spoke to the owners before booking and Sandra was very helpful, explaining that if there was no one in attendance when we arrived, the key would be in the letterbox, that breakfast is self serve and to help ourselves to the strawberries under the lemon tree. Perfect...we loved the place!

Being mid summer, the caravan park across the road was full and although our room faced it, we were amazed how quiet it was. Apart from the happy sound of children playing in the daylight hours, there was never a sound after 10pm. We had access to a lovely balcony at the front overlooking a very pretty
garden, and tea, coffee and glasses were available in our room. The rooms are a little small but adequate for a couple and one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in together with a choice of various pillows which was a nice touch. The whole property was spotless and the two cleaning ladies we met on Sunday and Monday were delightful, helpful and friendly.

This is not a five star resort but if you are looking for a simple, conveniently located quiet place to stay, where you can do your own thing and walk to the beach or town, don't overlook this property.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are at the front of the property would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
HappyAussie
Hi
Thanks very much for staying with us and for posting a review; we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. The quite convenient location and the comfortable sleeps are our most popular responses from guests, which are two of the most important aspects of good accommodation when you are travelling.
Thanks again for staying with us; we hope you both have a very happy new year.

Cheers

Brad & Sandra Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
17
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Collie WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here on the 31st December 2012. Great location just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and the iconic Busselton Jetty plus a great hotel, The Esplanade, just around the corner. Rooms are comfortable and air conditioned with tea and coffee facilities.
Breakfast is continental and you help yourself which means you can go at any time. We did not get to meet the owners as he is fly in fly out and does not live on the premises but we did get to meet the cleaning lady who was lovely, friendly and would be happy to advise non locals about the area.Everything you could want is available but it is a matter of helping yourself which as far as we are concerned is no problem at all. Heaps of parking available out the back and on the verge.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which is at the front and upstairs with easy access to the balcony. There is a caravan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Shelley J

Hi

Thanks very much for staying with us for New Years Eve. We are very glad you enjoyed your accommodation and trust you had a very enjoyable evening to see in the New Year as well? We certainly did hence why I wasn’t down at the property early enough New Year’s day to meet you before you departed. I’m very sorry I didn’t get to catch up with you before you left as I make a point of meeting every guest that stays with us. So thanks again for choosing to stay with us, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

Oh and by the way the caravan park are the just the best neighbours ever, we often get surprised comments from guest on how peaceful and quite our location is.

Thanks again Shelly J, we hope you guys have a very happy new year.

Cheers

Brad & Sandra Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were quite disappointed with the Observatory Guesthouse. It looked very nice on their website, where it is advertised as "small family owned b&b". In fact, we did not see the owners at all - the key was in the mailbox and also on the next day there was no one there at all. The room was ok, but the walls are paper-thin - you could here the voices & TV noise from all the other rooms. What's more, you could also here a lot of noise from the huge caravan park, which is 5m across the street. Would not stay there again. One more thing: There was a "for sale" sign outside, so you might want to check if it still operates or if there is new ownership.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Phillipp H

Hi

We are very sorry to hear you did not completely enjoy your stay with us in October. Yes we are a small family run business and as a family we have all the usual running around that most other families do, school drop off and pick up, after school sport, etc. We do not live at the property full time so we make a very concerted effort to meet and talk with all of our guests during their stay, and are successful on a large majority of occasions.

There is a bit of background noise between the rooms, but the property is a house not a concrete style hotel so a little bit of homely ambience is to be expected. As for the caravan park, it is very unusual to hear any noise out of them at all. And most certainly I have never experienced an issue with noise from there any later into the evening than 9 or 10 O’clock on the very odd occasion!
By far the most popular comments recorded in our guest book are comments on the quite and comfortable rooms and the beautiful restful sleep our guests have.

We are at the property everyday so as you only stayed for the one night I can only suggest that unfortunately our timings were out to be able to meet you properly. And if there was noise from the caravan park after the normal 10 O’clock curfew I can only apologise.

Yes the property is for sale if anyone is looking for a beautiful Busselton property in a fantastic location? The business has continued through the previous 4 owners and will be sold as an ongoing business. All bookings whether for next week or next year will be honoured so no one needs to check before booking.

Once again we are very sorry you didn’t completely enjoy your stay with us Phillipp. I wish you all the best in the rest of your travels around Australia.

Cheers

Brad & Sandra Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointed with breakfast as only had cereal and toast but stated cooked breakfast and that was confirmed with fellow guests while having breakfast. Other than that it was good

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Philome
Hi
We are so very disappointed that you received the incorrect information regarding breakfast options during your recent stay with us.
We had previously offered a cooked breakfast option but we are a very small business and have been affected particularly hard by the global recession. Late last year we took the decision to restructure our business.
We removed the cooked breakfast option and reorganised the continental into a self service. We believe the continental menu we offer is extensive and as it is an “eat until you are full” arrangement it is great value when combined with our highly appointed and comfortable rooms.

We have our property advertised online across dozens of online booking engines. After our restructure we changed our property descriptions and list of services to suit our new arrangement on all of our online booking engines.

After your review I checked every one of these sites and found one that has remained unchanged and still quotes our old breakfast options. I had submitted a change to this site previously and had been replied by them that the change was completed but once I rechecked my page on their site I see that this was not the case.
I have of course resubmitted the change and have made contact directly with the website owners regarding this matter.

We are once again deeply distressed that you had an issue with your stay with us at our beautiful property. But we are also happy to see you enjoyed everything else while you were with us.

Please accept our deepest apologies, we felt and little powerless in this situation but ultimately we are responsible the accuracy of our advertised descriptions; the rouge misinformation will be changed as soon as the website owner can attend to it.

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your comments.

With thanks
Brad & Sandra Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Great location, only several mins walk from the beach & jetty, 2 blocks from the main strip. Clean, quiet & relaxing. Dining room & kitchenette facilities downstairs that is available anytime. Brad is an excellent host, very friendly, helpfull & he even let us park our motorbikes in the garage as it was wet outside. Would definitely return next time im in Busselton.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
MojO
Hi
Thanks for staying with us.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, despite the weather. May is probably getting into the weather that’s not all that flash for bike riding but it all turned out OK in the end. How was the ride back home, a little wet maybe? You obviously got back OK.
Thanks again guys, hope to see you again soon.
Cheers
Brad & Sandra Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Clean, comfortable and quiet, yet close to the main drag & the waterfront. Perfect for a weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
MandGC
Hi
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for your comments.
Yes our location is one of the things that sets us apart from the rest, like you said “Perfect”
Thanks again
Cheers
Brad & Sandra Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire england
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Decent location.. and quiet .. easy parking, well equippred room.. Don't go if you want pampering.. The hosts are off site and they set up breakfast in advance so its fairly standard fare but perfectly adequate. Nice area to sit including verandah and a just over five minute walk from town centre and the famous jetty.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
AlancheshireEngland
Hi
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. And it’s a hard one to pick with the “pampering” thing. Some people would sit and talk all day where others prefer to keep to themselves. We try and gauge it either way and accommodate both styles if we can. We always like to connect with our guests and what ever level they are comfortable with.
Thanks again for staying and for you comments.
Cheers
Brad & Sandra Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Observatory Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Observatory Guest House

Address: 7 Brown St, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Observatory Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Observatory Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.