We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Bay Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sandy Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list
Sandy Bay Holiday Park
2 Norman Road Busselton, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

What a delightfull little park, my husband and I bough a cudo voucher for a 2 night stay at Sandy Bay Park in a Swiss Chalet. From the time I called and booked and our whole stay was such a pleasurable experience. Trina and Sandy were just so helpful and friendly and nothing was a bother to them.
The little chalet is a like a hobbits house and is just gorgeous and fully equipped with eveything you need for your stay. Staying warm wasn't a problem with the fireplace and endless supply of firewood much to my hubbys delight.
The Vasse country Markets were a delight with lots of local fresh produce and with the beach right on your door step what a gorgeous little spot.
If you didn't want to cook you had an easy 5 minute walk to a resort for dinner and breakfast which I can highly recommend.

Thank you Trina and Sandy we will certainly be back to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Vikki. There is nothing better for us than hearing how much a guest has enjoyed their stay at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, and enjoyed all the facilities on site, and nearby. "Our" beach is very special and we take pride in the whole park. Our location to the nearest restaurant and shopping centre is very useful. We always promote the whole region and glad that you found our advice useful. The Vasse Markets are a little gem that we all frequent! We hope that we see you again soon. Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    37
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

July 2012 school holidays rolled around the corner and yet we thought another school holidays wasting money on local attractions seen every other school holidays. Then I googled affordable getaways in the south west. Sandy Bay Holiday Park got my attention with the picturics photos.
As school holidays were very fast approaching I had to make a quick decission due to alot of places were filling up very fast. Trina was very informative, professional and friendly. The trip only took us 4 hours in the car including stopping in Mandurah to get lunch and drinks from the bakery. On arrival to the easy to find holiday park we mentioned what we will be hoping to see and do and we were given helpful tips and maps to other attractions like chocolate factories and the ice cream factory and water falls with historic buildings to venture around. We rented a swiss chalet; with two double sized bedrooms, a queen bed and single trundle for the kids. The trundle bedroom had a sliding door leading to the back of the chalet, with paved court yard and a little garden and beyond a small stone wall the easy accessible play ground for the kids. Within a stones through was a lovely, clean, well equiped BBQ area all under cover with tables and chairs, kettles and a small fridge. Pulling up to the front of the chalet my duaghters and I thought it was as though we shrank and were stepping into a dolls house. The front verandah was so pretty with the exposed timer ceiling that was carried all the way through the chalet, exposed beams, and timber finishings around the edge of the windows, finished off with lace window treatments and tastfull drapes. Slate flooring to the front really complimented the white rendered walls and the heavy timber front door. The best feature was in the lounge room; a wood fired heater with exposed flue. And wood to burn being delivered every morning ensured the cosy warmth this place oozed. Being south of Busselton gave us more time to explore the surrounding regions and less car travel time. With Dunsborough 17 minutes away and Margaret River 21 minutes away we acheived alot in the short get away. We are so happy with every aspect of the place and people we are coming back October school holidays 2012. Maybe this visit we may catch a fish or two.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
How wonderful for us to have such a lovely family come to stay and especially when they enjoy themselves that much that they keep on returning to our park. A return guest is a happy guest! Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you later in the year. Management, Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

This park was a bit disappointing for us. It is situated right on the beach, however is not central to busselton. We found it to be very over priced considering the facilities provided and may not have stayed but had already set up our caravan before paying (the office lady had popped into town). Will not be staying on our next trip :(

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your one night stay with us, and that you did not object to the rates with our manager when she showed you to your site. We do encourage guests to come and talk to us in the office if they have any grievances in order that we can resolve any issues. We hope that you will visit Busselton again and find a park located closer to town to suit your requirements. Management, Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here in February 2012, and it was lovely and perfectly placed for exploring the area. The cottage had a well-equipped kitchen and was exceptionally clean and comfortable, and very private. We also benefited from being able to catch up on all our washing while we stayed here! It was about a 5 minute walk from the beautiful beach and about a 10 minute walk to restaurants and a food court.

I can't praise highly enough the ladies who ran Reception, don't know if either were the owner, but they were so very friendly and helpful. We would definitely return here if we revisit the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Swiss Chalet style cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Front Office Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Hi Claire. Thank you for your review, we really enjoyed having you to stay too! We are glad that our laundry was well equipped for you and that our office staff were friendly and helpful. We really hope that you are able to return one day. Kind regards, Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

3 nights for the price of 2, what a deal. Step out onto tranquil beach and amazing turquoise waters as calm as a lake. Magnificent beach walks and winding bicycle tracks. A must each day to enjoy the peace and serenity. The park is well laid out with all the amenities for families and couples. The chalets and cabins well equipped neat and clean. The staff helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Front Office Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Hi Eric, we thank you for your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Sandy Bay Holiday Park and our unique location to the beach, and that you enjoyed the beach walks and the cycle track which runs along the foreshore. We hope that you can return to stay soon! Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongara, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

My husband and I took our three year old son armed with his Thomas the Tank engine pillow and blanket to stay in a Swiss Chalet during Feb 2012 for 3 nights.
All we can think is when can we go back, it was perfect.
The chalets are excactly like the brochure photo with neat little garden beds and very green lawns. Inside we found it very roomy and extremely clean with all the usual mod cons, ours even had a rice cooker which i used.
The staff were really helpful and friendly and booked us chalet No. 9 a perfect location for our son for the playpark, and beside the bbq area.
We would recommend this park to everyone especially those who like a 2 min stroll to the beach!
We will be back soon to Sandy Bay,
The Thomson Family

Room Tip: This park is so nice and quiet any chalet is suitable. excellant location to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Front Office Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to having you all (Thomas the Tank Engine pillow included) back to stay soon. Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

I just spent 3 nights on a kids bunk bed. We were celebrating my and my twin brother's 57th birthday with our wives. We travelled from the UK to visit them in their new home in Australia and decided to go to Busselton for a few days. What was meant to be a great few days away turned sour as we discovered on our arrival the promised bungalow with 2 double beds was no longer available. A non existent email was apparently sent to us about this. The space between the bottom and top bunk was about 2 foot so that bed was no good. The top bunk all of 2 foot six inches wide was a struggle to get onto. I suggested to the management that removing the top bun, only 4 screws to undo, would sort the problem. They were not interested as according to the maintenance man these beds had been there for a long time and it was not possible for the top bunk to be removed. It would have taken all of 10 minutes on each of the 2 bunkbeds. I know because our kids slept on similar bunk beds. Unfortunately I never had a screwdriver to hand as I would have done the job if allowed to.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Front Office Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make your comments and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. It does seem for some reason that you did not receive our email advising you of the bedding layout. As you booked online the last remainging chalet was all that could be offered and this was the one with the bunk beds. Due to the size of the room the bunk beds are not possible to be disembled, and an offer of a futon bed was turned down. We hope that giving you free linen and not charging you for the extra people did help you to enjoy the remainder of your stay. We encourage guests to phone our office prior to making a booking to ensure that special requirements can be catered for. Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Bay Holiday Park

Address: 2 Norman Road Busselton, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy Bay is a quiet, shady, grassed beachfront park located 4.5km west of Busselton town centre. It is seperated from the beach only by a cycleway which reaches past the towen centre, Busselton's famous 2km wooden Jetty and the Underwater Observatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sandy Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.