We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly welcome by the sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Bay Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sandy Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list
Sandy Bay Holiday Park
2 Norman Road Busselton, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here in February 2012, and it was lovely and perfectly placed for exploring the area. The cottage had a well-equipped kitchen and was exceptionally clean and comfortable, and very private. We also benefited from being able to catch up on all our washing while we stayed here! It was about a 5 minute walk from the beautiful beach and about a 10 minute walk to restaurants and a food court.

I can't praise highly enough the ladies who ran Reception, don't know if either were the owner, but they were so very friendly and helpful. We would definitely return here if we revisit the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Swiss Chalet style cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Front Office Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Hi Claire. Thank you for your review, we really enjoyed having you to stay too! We are glad that our laundry was well equipped for you and that our office staff were friendly and helpful. We really hope that you are able to return one day. Kind regards, Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    37
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

3 nights for the price of 2, what a deal. Step out onto tranquil beach and amazing turquoise waters as calm as a lake. Magnificent beach walks and winding bicycle tracks. A must each day to enjoy the peace and serenity. The park is well laid out with all the amenities for families and couples. The chalets and cabins well equipped neat and clean. The staff helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Front Office Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Hi Eric, we thank you for your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Sandy Bay Holiday Park and our unique location to the beach, and that you enjoyed the beach walks and the cycle track which runs along the foreshore. We hope that you can return to stay soon! Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongara, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

My husband and I took our three year old son armed with his Thomas the Tank engine pillow and blanket to stay in a Swiss Chalet during Feb 2012 for 3 nights.
All we can think is when can we go back, it was perfect.
The chalets are excactly like the brochure photo with neat little garden beds and very green lawns. Inside we found it very roomy and extremely clean with all the usual mod cons, ours even had a rice cooker which i used.
The staff were really helpful and friendly and booked us chalet No. 9 a perfect location for our son for the playpark, and beside the bbq area.
We would recommend this park to everyone especially those who like a 2 min stroll to the beach!
We will be back soon to Sandy Bay,
The Thomson Family

Room Tip: This park is so nice and quiet any chalet is suitable. excellant location to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Front Office Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to having you all (Thomas the Tank Engine pillow included) back to stay soon. Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

I just spent 3 nights on a kids bunk bed. We were celebrating my and my twin brother's 57th birthday with our wives. We travelled from the UK to visit them in their new home in Australia and decided to go to Busselton for a few days. What was meant to be a great few days away turned sour as we discovered on our arrival the promised bungalow with 2 double beds was no longer available. A non existent email was apparently sent to us about this. The space between the bottom and top bunk was about 2 foot so that bed was no good. The top bunk all of 2 foot six inches wide was a struggle to get onto. I suggested to the management that removing the top bun, only 4 screws to undo, would sort the problem. They were not interested as according to the maintenance man these beds had been there for a long time and it was not possible for the top bunk to be removed. It would have taken all of 10 minutes on each of the 2 bunkbeds. I know because our kids slept on similar bunk beds. Unfortunately I never had a screwdriver to hand as I would have done the job if allowed to.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Front Office Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make your comments and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. It does seem for some reason that you did not receive our email advising you of the bedding layout. As you booked online the last remainging chalet was all that could be offered and this was the one with the bunk beds. Due to the size of the room the bunk beds are not possible to be disembled, and an offer of a futon bed was turned down. We hope that giving you free linen and not charging you for the extra people did help you to enjoy the remainder of your stay. We encourage guests to phone our office prior to making a booking to ensure that special requirements can be catered for. Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Purchased two nights through a Living social deal.. Excellent value for money. We checked in the following morning as we arrived late Friday evening and this was no drama at all so much appreciated. The booking process was smooth and easy. At check out the receptionist was busy and unattentive so we simply left the key in the room and that seemed fine enough.. Clean rooms and was a great touch that the firewood was ready and waiting and refreshed the next morning.. Great location not being too close to city and on the beach, perfect for walks and a morning jog... the chalets are close together however private enough..would def go again!

Room Tip: A few chalets face towards kids playground so if this is not ideal book ones in diff spot..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sandy Bay Holiday Park and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sandy Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boddington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sandy Bay over the weekend 29th and 30th July and found the stay to be very nice and homey. The staff at Sandy Bay were very nice and made sure we had everything that we wanted. The room we stayed in was a Swiss Chalet and it was so warm and cozy especially for this time of year! There was a fireplace which we both loved and they topped up our wood for us each morning :)

We liked it so much that we would definitely recommend it to everyone- there is also a playground area for the kids but obviously we did not use.

Thanks to the staff at Sandy Bay for making our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as it was. Our next trip will be a bit longer then a weekend for sure! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to stay again soon. Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Great location, just next to the beach and very close to the supermarket. The morning beach walk is a must!

The room is quite big for a family of 4. The only thing is not as ideal is the toliet - quite dark and cold.

The garden is lovely and we wish we can stay there for a bit longer than one night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Bay Holiday Park

Address: 2 Norman Road Busselton, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy Bay is a quiet, shady, grassed beachfront park located 4.5km west of Busselton town centre. It is seperated from the beach only by a cycleway which reaches past the towen centre, Busselton's famous 2km wooden Jetty and the Underwater Observatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sandy Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.