We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to stay!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palms Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palms Resort
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   8 Albert Street, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where to stay!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Can't swing a cat anywhere!! So pleased our children didn't travel with us.. Would not have been enough room even though advised there would have been. Would hate to be larger than average as would not be able to fit in bathroom (whole thing no bigger than double shower) OHS - microwave cord had to go across hot plates to reach PowerPoint. No tea towels or coffee cups. Sign on washing machine "not for guest if staying less than three days. If staying more than three days contact reception to have connected" ?!? WT
the 'lounge' is THE most uncomfortable.
Carpets dirty. TV in bedroom not connected to aerial. Overall - we'll come back to Busselton but won't stay here again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Qld
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I just stayed here for 3 days it was a great location.Nice and quiet.Apparently it has just been bought by Woolworths .the heating was great up stairs no heating downstairs where the kitchen was so very cold downstairs.I was happy would stay again if the prices are right. .

Room Tip: It's not luxury but it's fine . definately not the worst place .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at the 'resort' last weekend - the room absolutely stank of chemicals. Bad location behind a drive in bottle shop and very difficult to find. Not kid friendly - quite the opposite. Dangerous stairs, no covers for power points and hot water system tank exposed and accessible. Washing machine virtually impossible to use and excessively noisy. Parts missing from laundry and bathroom. Don't bother going to the toilet unless you're under 5'6 - at 6' I could barely sit down with my knees up against the bathroom cabinet. Very uncomfortable bed - worst night sleep in ages. Apparently it's under new management as of last week, so maybe wait for another couple of months for it to hopefully get better.

Room Tip: Centre rooms seemed to be the quietest - best of a bad bunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. In addition, it is equipped with a washing machine and dryer. Absolutely value for money. Location was decent with a bottle shop, restaurants and cinema within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Being the Easter weekend it was never going to be easy nor cheap to find accommodation in South-West of Western Australia, but we got lucky with this one. Below are my pros and cons:

Pros:

* Close by to shops and restaurants, pretty much walking distance, the hotel is situated in the middle of the Busselton CBD so to speak.
* The room we had an upstairs and downstairs area which were fairly well equipped. Downstairs had a full kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, fridge, utensils, cooking pots and pans, plates, bowls, glasses, mugs, toaster and kettle. Ideal for us because we did not want to eat out, so we bought our own supplies from the supermarket nearby and cooked our own meals.
* There is a decent sized dining table and also downstairs we had a sofa bed and small lounge table.
* Upstairs there was a large wardrobe, queen size bed which was reasonably comfortable and also pillows and blankets. There is also a nice balcony :)
* The bathroom and toilet was all in one, the shower itself was quite big and we had no issue with water pressure or hot water.
* Parking was no problem, there is a massive carpark right next door, which we thought was not part of the hotel but was surprised to know it was.

* There is a pool and BBQ area, we didnt use these since it was a bit chilli.

Cons:

* Either the guests next door were loud or the walls were thin, either way when they were downstairs talking we heard them all night, no problems however when we were upstairs, but that can mean they never spoke when they were upstairs.

* The toilet in the bathroom is in a very awkward position, for such a large shower area they could of done a better job or put the toilet downstairs.

* Parking did not seem all that secure, so dont leave your valuables in the car.

* The sofa bed is uncomfortable and with the thin walls it can be a bad nights sleep if you slept on it.

* Although they have kitchenware bring some of your own stuff or buy stuff down there.

* There is no restaurant, just a bar, if thats your thing then this is a pro because they have sports on which you can catch up on.

* Dont expect to sit back and watch TV, the small TV was upstairs in the bedroom, suited us because we didnt really want to watch TV.

Overall:

Its good value, although dont be misled by the name, its a nice central area to stay, its basic and it suits travelers who want to stay long term and make their own way with food etc. I wouldnt mind staying there, but not if I want to be pampered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar and the pool area over the more busier times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed here for 3 midweek nights and were quite happy with the standard of accommodation given the rate that we paid. The 'townhouse' was clean, functional and well kitted out and all the staff that we encountered were friendly.

The Royal Palms doesn't seem to know where it wants to position itself - the accommodation is very acceptable but also on the same compex is the local drive thru bottle shop and a pub which seems to turn into the local nightclub at weekends.

However, as we stayed midweek, the only downsides for us were that our apartment overlooked the back end of the pub/restaurant so relaxing on the balcony wasn't an option. If you stay here make sure you request a poolside apartment! There were also some strange night time noises and a dawn chorus of crows screeching outside the window.

If you needed to stay in Busselton midweek i'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

I found this hotel on wotif and fortunately got a pretty good rate. Thats the upside. No one mentioned that the 'resort' ( and I use that word loosely) is in the middle of a pub car park!! A pub that had a DJ blasting away until one on the morning, with the bass on overdrive, the doof doof vibrating through the room and patrons coming and going until all hours, car doors slamming, yelling, you get the picture. Rooms are quite nice and clean, although not as roomy as the pics suggest. The bed was a killer, I had back pain for 3 days afterwards.
I was hugely disappointed as we had planned a nice weekend away but it was spoilt by no sleep and way to much noise.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Busselton hotels
3.7 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#9 of 14 in Busselton
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
4.0 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#1 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#2 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
3.6 mi away
Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort

Address: 8 Albert Street, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.