We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dog Rock Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dog Rock Motel to your Saves list
Dog Rock Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   303 Middleton Road, Albany, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at this motel for one night and were totally disgusted by the service and attitude of the staff. We had some dog hair on a blanket and a small amount came off on the old dirty carpet, and we were charged $250 for cleaning!!!!!!! When we asked for a copy of the carpet cleaning invoice they refused to give us one. Totally unjustified cost and purely revenue making. My suggestion would be to drive straight past.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
35
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you want to feel like you are staying in a spacious donga from the 1970's then this is the ideal place for you! (see photos)

Ive stayed at Dog Rock three times and despite requesting a renovated room, always get the outdated accommodation.

The restaurant here is tip top! And make the outdated decor almost worth it..... ALMOST!

Good for a laugh, but thats about it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Our room had a comfortable bed with quality linen and the bathroom was adequate and plenty of plush towels provided. The decor was original 70's which was obviously dated (although almost quaint) but there was a promissory note of an update soon. Free WiFi and Foxtel movies more than made up for this. The restaurant (Lime 303) was a complete contrast - a modern funky bistro (maybe a little expensive for dinner) but the breakfast was excellent and reasonably priced at $11.95 for continental and $17.95 for full.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in the new superior suite - the room was worth every penny! They have thought of everything with a big spacious room, big bathroom, nice lounge area and there is also a small sink too. The rooms are also serviced every day which i was surprised to find and thee is complimentary wi-fi. The staff were great and very helpful. We were provided with complimentary breakfast - for a motel the breakfast was quite good. Ate at the Lime 303 restaurant - great ambience, decor, service of staff was great and the food was great too! Definately a comfortable stay and I will be back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Average at best. Have been told that the hotel has been renovated but a lot more work needs to be done to bring it up to a decent standard. The restuarant however, was quite pleasant and the food was quite nice. Breakfast ordinary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

great room, very clean with comfortable bed. definitely the best breakfast I have had delivered to my room for years.
Needs a microwave in it.
The meal at the restaurant was very good and the staff very polite.
The out side of the dog rock motel looks a bit dodgy but very happy with the insides and i am very fussy. Always bring my own pillow and tea pot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is across the street from the Dog Rock! Albany has left lots of the big boulders around teh city as it has been developed and really adds to the distinctive feel of the town. The motel is comfortable, well located with good service albeit a little country town light and slow but not in a bad way. The restuarant has good local food and wine. I enjoyed every meal. I can't comment on value much as someone else was paying but it was a great base for a business trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dog Rock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog Rock Motel

Address: 303 Middleton Road, Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dog Rock Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run business with friendly service in the heart of the city, just opposite the famous local icon, the natural granite Dog Rock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dog Rock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dog Rock Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dog Rock Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.