We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - nicely furnished” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dog Rock Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dog Rock Motel to your Saves list
Dog Rock Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   303 Middleton Road, Albany, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good location - nicely furnished”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Dog Rock Motel is located within an easy walk to the centre of Albany (ie 3 mins to the top of York St).

The double rooms are spacious and nicely decorated in neutral tones. The room contained a couch, desk and chair, bed and side tables, generous sized built in robe with mirrored doors, iron and ironing board. An alcove between the bedroom and bathroom houses a fridge with mini bar, and toaster, and kettle. There is a good sized flatscreen TV, and free movies are shown on two channels. Paid internet is available via a network cable.

The bathroom is compact, and finished with neutral tiles. The shower has a fixed glass screen to partition the shower from the toilet. The entry to the shower is open, ie no door, or curtain, therefore the splashes from the shower make the bathroom floor a little wet.

Toiletries are provided in the bathroom, eg shampoo, soap, moisturiser, toothbrush.

Staff are very pleasant and helpful.

The rooms are a little pricey - a discount may be obtained if you are a Golden Chain member.

We found the mattress and pillows a little uncomfortable.

Overall the Dog Rock Motel is clean, comfortable, and well situated. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
35
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed one night in one of the newly renovated rooms over the easter weekend. Room is spacious, comfortable and clean. A little pricey for a night's sleep but would still recommend it.

Bathroom is also clean and new. Only problem is that there's no shower curtain or door to close the shower area, only a screen which is about half the length of the shower area and hence the floor gets very wet. However, not a big problem, just have to be more careful when showering.

Staff was nice and friendly, no problems at all with check in and check out procedures.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Spent one night in an un-remodeled room at the Dog Rock Motel. It was like going back in time -- dark paneling, plastic chairs, a bar with barstools and a very long carpeted bench back by the refrigerator. Also some soft of pass-through that may have been used for room service at one time? It felt like vacations with my family back in the 1960s in Holiday Inns in the southern U.S. It sounds like the Dog Rock is between eras these days -- the remodeled rooms are lovely, and the LIme 303 restaurant is stunning, with a menu to match. We opted to go for the cheaper rate (we reserved sight-unseen from a tourist office down the road in Denmark) and in hindsight I would have paid for a newer room instead. There's a laundromat across the road in a strip mall, and an excellent Indian restaurant on a neary street. Not a bad choice for Albany.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed 5 nights after vehicle problems. Was concerned about the name until I saw " The Dog Rock":) Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff. ate in the Restaurant 303 one night. Very nice food and friendly staff.
Well located within walking distance to many shops and supermarkets.

Would happliy stay here again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

After a long days driving we decided to stay over rather then going home and had to chase down a hotel in Albany, this one came up and we rang and booked a room for later that evening.

We didnt really know what to expect, the hotel looks a bit average but still ok. The room on the other hand was huge with a big bathroom and a kitchenette with everything we could need. I liked the fact that we could park the car right outside the room rather then having to carry everything up the hill.

And the beds... the beds were so comfortable I cannot believe it :) First nights good sleep in a long time... would go back for the beds alone :) Also, even tho there was a huge truck parked right outside that left early morning, we didn't hear anything in the room.

When we go back to Albany we would definitively stay here again, next time with breakfast :D

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed at the Dog Rock initially for 2 nights as we weren't 100 per cent sure on whether we were going to like it but once we checked in we decided to stay a third night.

The hotel photos showed old TVs and so that made us wonder how well the rooms could have been renovated. Low and behold when we walked in all concerns washed away with a nice 32 inch flat screen TV sitting on the cabinet! Maybe not essential for some but it enhances the stay for us!!!

Anyway, it was warmer than expected in Albany and we had mainly come down to escape the Perth heat. Played a couple of rounds of golf and spent a lot of time relaxing enjoying the abundance of new release movies available on the in-house movie channels for free!! Awesome!

Rooms were well appointed, comfortable beds, good quality linen. The only thing that was perhaps a little disturbing was the noise from other rooms - either next door or above. Although we couldn't hear actual conversations as some reviewers had noted, you could get a little distracted, particularly if your neighbours were early risers or night owls. As it's a motel you can park at your door and this is both a convenience for loading and unloading your car but also a slight inconvenience if your neighbours are out and about excessively early or late. If you are a light sleeper then I would advise ear plugs although we slept really well all 3 nights.

Another point worth noting is that although the shower and water pressure was awesome, if we didn't have our shower before the people next door then we had to wait for the hot water to heat up again. Was OK as it was summer but in winter would be annoying.

The reverse cycle air con is a very welcome addition! Heaps of storage, massive room and a very well done modern renovation! I'd definitely pay the extra to stay in a renovated room (which is not much more).

The motel is very centrally located near to the Dog Rock shopping centre and main shopping/cafe strip.

We'd definitely stay here again on our next trip to Albany.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Huge room, excellent and cheap breakfast buffet - how can you go wrong

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dog Rock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog Rock Motel

Address: 303 Middleton Road, Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dog Rock Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run business with friendly service in the heart of the city, just opposite the famous local icon, the natural granite Dog Rock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dog Rock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dog Rock Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dog Rock Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.