We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT...FANTASTIC...LOVE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mean Fiddler

Mean Fiddler
132 York St, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
08 9841 1852
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 83 Restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: Barbecue, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bunbury, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT...FANTASTIC...LOVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Myself and a grilfriend visited Albany, we came across the Mean Fiddler and thought lets give it a go!....it was close to their closing time for lunch but the waitress said take your time no rush...the food was gorgeous, fresh and the restaurant was nicely decked out. Would recommend to all to visit and enjoy the amazing food for lunch & dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    47
    15
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Great food, service is fun but really had no idea about appropriate table etiquette. For a resturant that has great food the service needs to step up to meet the standard of the resturant. I usually over look this and visit when in Albany.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family and I have been several times. It's really great. Peter bends over backwards to ensure the special dietary challenges my daughter and I have are catered for. He's a really switched on Chef. It's a gorgeous menu anyway with local produce such as fresh seafood and beef. Yes it's a bit pricey but on a par with other restaurants. The dessert menu is lovely too. The other staff are very good. Professional and efficient. We have been twice now, with a large group, and on a busy night. They coped wonderfully. Sorry if some don't agree. I would say give them another chance. Take the trouble to talk to them about the problems you encountered. It is a service provider and anyone would want to know how to do things better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Over rated, poor service and very expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We were recommended to eat here by a man at the tourist bureau. We made a booking and ate on a Saturday night. The prices for food were high, and many of the top end restaurants in Perth were better value.
The big problem was the service and the time it took to get our food. It was over an hour between when the entrées were served and the main courses came. The main was only grilled fish which would not take long to cook. The staff did not seem to care about the delay and were annoyed when I started asking how long the food was going to be.
Overall it was a high priced disappointing night.
I'd never go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful food served pleasantly and friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

After looking on Trip Advisor for a restaurant in Albany we decided to give Mean Fiddler a try - we didn't have a booking as it was a last minute decision so rocked in just after opening time and was greeted very pleasantly. Explained we didn't have a booking but wondered if they could accommodate us (just the two of us). They very kindly said that if we were happy to eat and be completed by 7.30pm that yes we could have a table. We accepted with pleasure and noted that a couple of other diners seemed to have just walked in like us and were offered a similar option. It suited us as we were quite tired and were happy to eat early and get back to our accommodation. At no time did we feel we were being rushed or treated differently to a booking. We had two beautiful mains - presented exquisitely, lovely fresh ingredients and prepared with care. My husband had the pork belly - which was melt in your mouth. And I had a lovely chicken in creamy sauce with vegies - delicious! We succumbed to temptation and ordered a dessert to share, I think it was called No 4 Raspberry and it was presented so beautifully as a sort of fun dish the waitress explained - it was yum!!! We also enjoyed some lovely Rickety Gate wines and coffee. Definitely recommend this restaurant - lucky Albany - wish I lived closer to enjoy it on a regular basis. Will certainly return at the next opportunity.
PS. Some might think the prices are a little high but for the quality of the food you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mean Fiddler also viewed

 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Mean Fiddler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mean Fiddler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.