We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP PLACE!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earl of Spencer

Earl of Spencer
60 Earl Street, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
+61 8 9847 4262
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 81 restaurants in Albany
Price range: $14 - $33
Cuisines: Australian, British, Bar, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Here at the earl of spencer, we see ourselves as a family friendly venue. We have a large beer garden that is non smoking, kids play area which will be updated this summer, live music every friday from 8pm & Sunday from 5pm and an all day menu that will be starting the second week in December. We have great selection of bottled cider and imported English, Scottish and French beer. We only sell Local Wines, which are all from the Great Southern Region. All of our meals area cooked to order, so our moto is, great food takes time.
Albany, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“TOP PLACE!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

LOVE the new menu & style of the Earl...things are slowly comming back...what a FABULOUS little place to pass time GREAT FOOD GOO SERVICE & awesome little drinking hole

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    36
    47
    16
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sweeet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere, great staff very friendly. Generous portion sizes for the money. Good family environment. Definitely return there!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porongurup, WA, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Awesome every single time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Fantastic food, brilliantly fast service, and a cosy fire in winter or the beer garden at the back in warmer months. Their panco prawns are to die for and the Finger Bites tasting plate is superb! The menu is very extensive and the staff always friendly. Parking at the door is also a bonus. This is the place I always bring friends to when they visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The dining room was clean, spacious and well set out.
In respect to the menu, not a big choice but sufficient to suit most tastes.
The only complaint was the price of beer, $10.00 per pint (schooner) which to be honest I found a bit over the top.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittering
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A bit too full of themselves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We did realise that this was an upmarket pub. I would have expected that for the extortionate pricing they would have at least served you at a table instead of standing in a queue.
My main meal at $31 for 2 pork chops and potato bake did not include another vege. I could have purchased a side of salad but not hot veges available. Eating salad with a hot meal and the log fire ranging just didnt appeal somehow.
I understand that food is prepared earlier and reheated but our dishes, while tasty, were very dried and crusty.
Since when has Sticky date pudding been a slice of cold cake and cold sauce? Yucky and once again not in keeping with the weather and atmosphere.
For the first time in my life I actually sent back a simple black coffee - just too bitter to drink.
Very very disappointed in the whole evening at a "pub".

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earl of Spencer also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Earl of Spencer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earl of Spencer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.