We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, private and very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments on Spencer Boutique Accommodation

Apartments on Spencer Boutique Accommodation
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Apartments on Spencer Boutique Accommodation to your Saves list
Apartments on Spencer Boutique Accommodation
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   63-69 Spencer Street, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Albany B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Quiet, private and very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in Room #1, which features a comfortable queen bed, with electric blankets for the winter, and reverse cycle air-conditioning above the daybed by the window, a step down to a small sitting room with comfortable chairs, coffee table and mini fridge and wall mounted TV, plus a doorway thru to a robe and dressing area. Outside of our room was a vestibule, and our own private bathroom with deep clawfoot bath, with old fashioned overhead shower, a very pleasant bathing experience. The door from the vestibule leads onto the lovely breakfast dining room (the door is key lockable). Superior tea and coffee facilities, plus biscuits for afternoon tea (and chocolates on your pillow in the evening) are a nice touch.

Downstairs is a communal sitting room with comfortable chesterfields, a rear area with chairs and table should you perhaps wish to play cards or board games, plus a "library" where you can borrow a paperback or two, in exchange for one you have read on your travels. A decanter of port beckons during a winters evening.

We were the only guests staying at the time, and were made very welcome by Adrian and Alison. Both love to have a chat while you breakfast, and have helpful local knowledge of Albany and its attractions. Breakfast features homemade mueslis, cereal, yoghurts, seasonal fruits, juices, toasts and condiments, plus your own pot of tea, or plunger coffee. The breakfast room also boasts a beautiful view over the City of Albany and the Princess Royal Harbour to the Peninsula, wind farm and Torndirrup National Park. In the winter time, you can really watch the weather rolling across the Southern Ocean.

A lovely, cosy and quiet place to stay, with private off-street carparking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
21
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

High quality B & B with great atmosphere and ambiance, not to mention a great breakfast. Nice hospitality from the owners and in a great part of Albany with a very easy stroll to the city centre and Earl of Spencer hotel. A highly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Our hosts made us very welcome without being intrusive. Amenities and appointments were spot on. Clean, comfortable and mix of old and new. Perfectly located for an easy stroll to town. Lovely character residence. Beaut home made breakfast, port, chocolates, and the like. We will return again. We stayed Anzac Day and nothing was a bother for our hosts. Thank you Adrian and Allison.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A very charming place with helpful and and pleasant hosts. The rooms were well appointed with an eclectic mix of old and new, comfortable and spotlessly clean. A pleasant stroll from the city area and an excellent run down from Adrian on the reataurant experiences. We loved Albany. I may just retire there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed for business, and my husband came down to visit me at the end of the trip. Alison and Adrian are such a pleasure as hosts, and you can tell they care a lot about providing a quality experience for you. Alison toasts musli in the mornings and they offer a very fresh, delicious, and healthy breakfast.

The rooms are beautiful. Modern, clean and luxurious. And if you love animals, the cats are a real treat. They stay out of sight for the most part, but they know when to come cuddle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Hosts Alison and Adrian have put a lot of thought into the way they run this charming quality heritage establishment. Great attention to detail with loads of appeal for period lovers. Lovely breakfasts (yummy stewed fruit e.g. Figs in coffee) and comfortable self-contained accommodation. Very well located. And a bonus if you are a cat lover - as there are resident friendly furry felines!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Travelled from Perth to Albany. 1st impression of the house was WOW. Great location. Very clean and well decorated rooms with a lovely mix of modern and antique styling!! Greeted promptly by Adrian and Allison who were fantastic hosts. So knowledgeable when it came to recommending 'touristy' things to see and do- thank you for recommending Frenchmans Bay. It is by far the best beach/scenery we have seen in OZ!!!! Brekky was a delicious selection of wholesome muesli, cereal, toast and lovely homemade stewed fruit. Can't praise this b&b highly enough. Thank you Allison and Adrian for your hospitality and kindness which made our holiday so much more enjoyable :). We will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.6 mi away
Beach House at Bayside
Beach House at Bayside
#1 of 21 in Albany
5.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Foreshore Guest House
0.5 mi away
Dunmoylen House
Dunmoylen House
#5 of 21 in Albany
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Albany Harbourside Apartments and Houses
1.2 mi away
Banksia Gardens Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments on Spencer Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments on Spencer Boutique Accommodation

Address: 63-69 Spencer Street, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartments on Spencer Boutique Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments on Spencer Boutique Accommodation in the heart of Albany on the slopes of Mount Clarence, overlooking the western end of Princess Royal Harbour an easy stroll to businesses, local attractions, restaurants. These four Victorian era workers row houses, have been refurbished to provide a unique guest experience in four well appointed rooms. Hosts Alison and Adrian extend a warm welcome, wonderful hospitality, service and accommodation for business, holiday or that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Apartments on Spencer Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments on Spencer Boutique Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.