We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restoration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rocks Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Rocks Albany to your Saves list
The Rocks Albany
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   182-188 Grey Street West, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Albany B&B and Inns
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent restoration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

What a wonderful job has been done with this building. Every detail has been carefully considered. Attentive and charming hostess Noelene, is also a wonderful chef, and could not have been more helpful. Couldnt ask for more. Pity its so far from our home in the Western Cape, South Africa.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    4
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
32
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We have stayed at The Rocks a couple of times and loved it every time. The old house is full of character and beautifully restored, the gardens are so meticulously managed and the breakfasts are to die for with all needs catered for including baking a loaf of gluten free bread especially for me. My father-in-law said "this is the place you visit are remember for the rest of your life"....cute.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

This magnificent stately home is a must-do for anyone planning a trip to Albany. There is a charm and elegance here that you can only experience in such a high quality, true-to-period, building, with its fine furnishings, and magnificent surrounds.
The gardens are an absolute delight, and it would be easy to just find a patch of lawn, and a good book and lose yourself in the charm of by-gone days, without wanting to venture out to the fabulous sights that Albany has to offer.
Each of the suites at the Rocks are well equipped with high quality teas and coffees, and if you're lucky you may find a piece of home-made rocky road chocolate in the fridge!
Noelene is a truly magnificent host, and effortlessy makes you feel welcome in her beautiful home. Nothing is too much trouble; and her knowledge of the Albany area and its sights and attractions is amazing.
The fresh start breakfast is a must-do! In fact all of Noelenes breakfast options are to die for. We tried all of them through our stay, and wish we lived closer so we could come for breakfast on a regular basis!
Mac and Esky were perfect four legged companions, and gave us a great happy welcome whenever we returned 'home'.
We'd love to have been able to stay longer, and certainly plan to return to The Rocks when we next visit that part of the world. We highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Princess Royal was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Our stay of four nights was in a very comfortable spacious room. The tranquil setting of the hotel in beautiful gardens created a relaxed atmosphere. Each morning there was a choice of delicious innovative breakfasts made with fresh local ingredients. Noelene is a gracious and extremely attentive hostess which added to the pleasure of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

The Rocks in Albany, Western Australia is one of those special places you find once or twice in your lifetime. If you are looking for a bit of history, comfort, view and service you really can't go passed this excellent hotel. We had the Princess Royal suite that has a balcony overlooking Princess Royal Harbour. You really do feel 'Royal' staying in this room. Breakfast by Noeleen was to die for and our welcome from Vicky and her two little dogs Mac & Esky gave everything that special welcoming touch. Try a tinkle on the grand piano and a wander through the gardens...you won't want to stay anywere else in Albany after you have tried this historic executive mansion.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We recently booked The Rocks Albany for my husband's 40th birthday party. We had decided to have a murder mystery party and thought The Rocks would be the perfect place to have it and we weren't disappointed! Noelene was a wonderful host and even helped us choose a game and sort out all the extras that were needed for the night.
Throughout the evening we used different rooms for different rounds of the game and enjoyed a delicious meal in the formal dining room which was laid out beautifully. The atmosphere on the night was perfect and all the guests thoroughly enjoyed the evening. I can't thank Noelene enough for all her efforts to make sure the night was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

This five star b and b was perfect. The old mansion is restored to the highest standard with a taste and elegance that is truly impressive. If you love old houses this one is sure to charm. We had a gorgeous room with stunning views over the town and harbour and the run of the house. Our biggest problem was choosing which beautiful space to spend our time in; a glass of champas playing games in the billiard room , a quiet read in the library, a tinkle on the grand piano in the music room etc etc? Gorgeous views are to be had from every room - and then there is the two acres of garden. Breakfast options were innovative and delicious. Best of all, our hostess was warm, funny, welcoming and relaxed - we felt right at home. Could not recommend The Rocks more highly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevanswa, Manager at The Rocks Albany, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am SO PLEASED you had such a wonderful time with us and in Albany and we (includes Mac and Esky) would love to see you again soon!

Noelene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rocks Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Albany

Address: 182-188 Grey Street West, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rocks Albany 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rocks Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rocks Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.