We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House at Bayside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beach House at Bayside to your Saves list
Beach House at Bayside
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   33 Barry Court, Bayside Links, Albany, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Natl. Anzac Centre Opens
Ranked #1 of 22 Albany B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Beach House and could not have asked for a more friendly welcome or comfortable stay. Sally and Craig made us feel extremely welcome, as others have said they go the extra mile to ensure your stay is perfect, even offering to extend the breakfast serving time to give my husband time to get back from his early morning bird watching trip! On the subject of breakfast - what a spread! The choice and quality was amazing, I don't think I have ever had so much choice at breakfast. Our room was large and air and the little touches of cakes left in the bedroom for afternoon tea and port in the evening were very much appreciated. . If you are in Albany and looking for somewhere to stay, I can thoroughly recommend the Beach House, it may be further out of town, but if you both want to have a drink and not have to drive, Craig very kindly drops you off at your chosen restaurant in the evening and then you can get a taxi back. Thank you Sally and Craig for giving us such a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHAB, Manager at Beach House at Bayside, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear lizl020
We're so pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and your stay with us in general. Thank you for sharing your experience with other potential guests from around the world.
We are lucky to live in a bountiful region with wonderful produce and try to use local produce where ever possible, while also offering a generous selection and options suiting our guests from all over the world. As breakfast is cooked to order you never need to decide advance what you think you might feel like in the morning! Just wander down to the dining room and we'll cook fresh to your morning whims!
We know we are a long way from your home but hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back at some time into the future.
Warm regards
Sally & Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    16
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
129
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a fabulous place to stay: wonderful quiet rooms, comfortable bed, great food, fabulous location. What makes it really special is the welcome from Craig and Sally, who go the extra mile to make anything possible. It combines the best features of a 5 star boutique hotel with the warmth and personal attention of a smaller B&B or lodge. I couldn't recommend this highly enough. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHAB, Manager at Beach House at Bayside, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear JeanneM
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We were thrilled to see you exploring all the wonderful "out of the way" walks and natural experiences around our beautiful town and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You have described the experience we strive to offer our guests and we are grateful to hear we "hit the spot" for your stay in Albany.
Warm regards
Sally & Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

From our arrival both Craig and Sally went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. The accomodation was everything promised on the website and more. It is rare to stay somewhere where people are prepared to go that extra mile to ensure that their guests enjoy their break/holiday. Thank you for all your help and advice on what to see and do, due to this first rate service we will definitely return again. Oh and the food was amazing, especially the cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHAB, Manager at Beach House at Bayside, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Michele
Thank you for your review of The Beach House at Bayside. We're so pleased to you enjoyed your stay and the ambience of our property. It was great to see you both winding down and relaxing and enjoying the Albany food and wine. Its always a great sign to us when guests decide to stay an extra night - glad you could take the extra time.
We look forward to seeing you again some time soon.
Warm regards
Sally and Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Beach House and truly enjoyed our stay. Everything was as we had expected. As others have mentioned, the Beach House at Bayside does not necessarily fall within the category of a boutique hotel or a B&B or even a guesthouse, as it is probably a little bit of all three. We were not disappointed with the end product and will be more than happy to stay here again when next in Albany.

Our room was fairly large (Garden Suite, which is over two storeys), clean and well equipped, with many nice touches (port, cakes, chocolates). The included breakfast was very good and would keep most people going for the day without the need for much lunch. We ate out both evenings and the Beach House temporary managers (the current owners parents were covering, as their daughter and husband were away) were more than happy to recommend restaurants, make reservations and even drive us into town, so that only a taxi was needed on the return.

Compared to other available accommodation options in Albany, this should be your first choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHAB, Manager at Beach House at Bayside, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear FrozenAussie
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Beach House. We're sorry we missed you and glad to hear the family "relief team" looked after you well.
It's always a pleasure to hear feedback about our guests' experiences and we hope we may be able to welcome you back again personally some time into the future.
Warm regards
Sally and Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights at the Beach House after reading all the positive comments on trip advisor. I must say I am confused at their descriptions in the advertising of their establishment. Is it a 5 star boutique hotel, B & B, lodge or guest house. I would hardly call it a 5 star boutique hotel, to me it is a bed and breakfast in a housing estate near a golf course and near the beach. Our room was ok, like a tired upmarket motel, and one of the weirdest bathroom layouts I have ever seen. The bath and especially the shower have no privacy whatsoever. One of my pet hates is the size of the soap, absolutely tiny. Afternoon tea advertised means two pieces of cake left in your room, no tea or coffee, however one was made upon my request. Port and chocolates means two small glasses and a carafe of port outside your door with two very small commercial chocolates in a commercial wrapper.
There is a fantastic bike path nearby. On requesting the bicycles (as advertised) we were dismayed to see both had flat tyres and the brakes on one were not working. My husband fixed one side but really, both bikes should have been in top working condition if you advertise bikes to your guests.
The plus side of the Beach House is the breakfast, it is indeed 5 star!!
To be fair, The Beach House is pleasant enough and probably the best in Albany.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHAB, Manager at Beach House at Bayside, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Linda
We’re glad to hear you really enjoyed your breakfast at the Beach House during your recent stay. We pride ourselves on building a rapport with all our guests to ensure the best possible experience for everyone, and it is sad to hear in this way that some other aspects of your stay were not to your expectations .
As well as the Colonnade Room you had booked, we do have rooms with very traditional bathrooms (without open plan spa) which may have been more suitable for your needs. Alternatively, screens can be added to the Colonnade Rooms for more privacy if required - unfortunately we were unable to anticipate this was an issue during your stay.
As we are a purpose built property with a full Hotel reception service, laundry service, transfer services, room service meal options seven days a week, and a liquor license, we offer services and facilities beyond a typical Bed and Breakfast - which is more often a converted house with hosts offering breakfast only. We also find that although “Guest House” is the term used in some parts of the world and in some websites, this is a very old fashioned term which our guests do not necessarily relate to, and we therefore do not use this term in our own marketing. Your feedback is valued as it is very important to us that all our future guests arrive expecting the services and facilities we offer which is why we have a very specific website, review our online listings regularly and try to respond to all TripAdvisor reviews - this allows us to ensure the best possible experience for all our guests.
After a long wet winter without use we are pleased to advise the bikes are currently under a spring service and certainly apologise that you were inconvenienced during your stay.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife & I plus our 2 friends arrived in Perth we decided to start our tour via Albany I just picked it out of the travel brochure.The write up was a match and is certainly a 5 star rating. The staff from my first call to our departure were just so friendly and made us feel at home. The place is so clean it was a pleasure to stay, shame they were booked out as we would have stayed another night. The breakfast & service so enjoyable we all loved it. Next time I visit Perth we will head for Albany pre book a longer stay at the Beach House congratulations to the owners & staff our stay was mid September 2013 Thanks Richard&Shirley

Room Tip: All would be good we had 5&6 cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHAB, Manager at Beach House at Bayside, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Alanf
Craig and I are sorry we missed your stay with us but so thrilled to hear you and your friends enjoyed yourselves with Janet & Keith and Rachael here to look after you.
It's always wonderful when friends travelling together take the two Main House Rooms (5 & 6) as they are so conveniently adjacent to one another and the little landing sitting area between the rooms is a nice private spot to share time together.
We very much look forward to your next visit and to meeting you in person next time.
Warm regards
Sally and Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed for one night over a weekend. We had a wonderful spa room and had chocolate brownies waiting in the room for afternoon tea - delicious. Sally and Craig were wonderful hosts, they helped us pick a place for dinner that night, rang on our behalf to book us in and then dropped us off so we didn't have to drive. Breakfast was outstanding as well, would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHAB, Manager at Beach House at Bayside, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Melski28
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Beach House at Bayside - we're so pleased you enjoyed your short stay.
We sincerely hope you will have time to stay longer next time you come to Albany, and we will enjoy seeing you again and offering lots more great things to see and do around our beautiful town.
Warm regards
Sally and Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House at Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Bayside

Address: 33 Barry Court, Bayside Links, Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beach House at Bayside 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House at Bayside is a purpose built, seven room luxury Guest House / Boutique Hotel conveniently located beyond the dunes along beautiful Middleton Bay and a chip shot from the historic Albany Golf Links. The Beach House offers discerning travellers an intimate, relaxed ambiance, gracious service, privacy, comfort and warm hospitality. Hosts Keith and Janet Hillam and their daughter Sally welcome guests from around the world to Albany’s luxurious haven by the sea. The experience is true hosted country hospitality enabling to you make the most of your time in this precious region of Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach House at Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Albany
Beach Hotel At Bayside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House at Bayside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.