We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emu Point Motel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Emu Point Motel & Apartments to your Saves list
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   Corner Medcalf and Mermaid Avenue | Emu Point, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed in April and first time ever in a motel having travelled from the UK. Owners friendly and welcoming and full of local knowledge. Lovely location and we stayed in the executive room. Couldn't have hoped for a more comfortable stay and hope to return one day. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Emu Point Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We can't take the credit as it was the managers before us, Lynne and Brian, who were here when you were, but we hope to emulate their high standards. It most certainly is a lovely spot - for us to work, and for anyone to stay. Hope to meet you someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    43
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
61
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Great unit at the back of the motel, full on kitchen ( even had grater ) with good size fridge, beds greats, beach 5 min walk, quiet room, was told about this motel by local in Perth, as we had no idea where to stay in the Albany area, this was great as it was away from the centre of Albany

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Manager at Emu Point Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We love to get feedback and it's really great to hear our guests enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Having driven for 3.5 hours we received with a big smile and the offer to upgrade the room to one with air con as it was hot. Room was perfect (27) with room for both children to play and do drawing. Kitchen unit and bathroom spotless and perfect for our needs. A 200m walk to the Emu Point Beach which was white and beautiful gentle waves for body boarding. Some seaweed but didn't spoil the fun. Had swings and ping pong; tennis spiral and gym bar. Really lovely place.
Would have liked a laundry for washing towels and suimsuits.

Room Tip: One at the back gets the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Manager at Emu Point Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Wow. Sensational revue. Thanks so much.
It's really great to hear you and kids enjoyed and it was great to see the kids persuaded you to return :)
Ummm, didn't we tell you about our guest laundry and broadband? Oops! Sorry.
Can we make it up to you on your next visit...
Brian and the Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I was only at this motel for one night. It was easy to book online and the unit had a very reasonable tariff. I had an end unit and the parking was good at the front. The unit was simple in a seaside sort of way and I thought it looked inviting after a long day driving. But...getting no sleep that night will be my lasting impression. It may have been the military hardness of the beds and the austere one sheet and thin duvet. It may have been the dripping of the shower all night that a towel placed underneath couldn't dampen (the washer needed replacing urgently). It was definitely the reticulation starting up and hissing and wheezing at 3am. I assume the roses at the end were being watered, or maybe the grass. The timing wasn't good though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Manager at Emu Point Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our property. I do regret your disturbed sleep. We've not had the noise of sprinklers mentioned before and no our priority certainly isn't "the roses" when it comes to watering. Unfortunately the coastal winds ensure that there are only a few hours in the early morning for us to water efficiently to minimize wind drift and evaporation. I will be looking at alternatives to that though - thanks for drawing it to my attention.
On bed comfort: The room bedding is set up for summer comfort and there are additional blankets in the robe should it be needed. The majority of our guests do speak highly of our beds so I perhaps its really a matter of personal preference.
Thanks again for staying with us, good luck on your travels and if you are ever in this area again we'd love to show you our Deluxe and Executive rooms.
Regards - Brian (Mgr)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Recently stayed in Albany were only going to stay 1 night but ended up staying 2. Motel clean, excellent in room internet availability staff very friendly and best value for money accommodation we had on holiday, upgraded at no extra cost. Grounds great for sitting in and enjoying a glass of WA wine. Missed the Squid and Shack as was closed Monday and Tuesday. Thanks for making our stay so memorable

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Manager at Emu Point Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review Sue. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you enjoyed your travels here in WA. We'd love to see you again and hope to get a chance to better explore your part of the world - the sun, the wine and the beaches.
Beast wishes from us at Emu Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We booked in this motel for only night and regretted that we did not book for another night or two. The rooms were clean and complete with cooking/heating appliances and utensils that we could use during our stay. The location is just walking distance from the beach which is excellent.
Very friendly owners/staff. In our next visit, we will stay here again. :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Manager at Emu Point Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thanks very much for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Albany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The motel was very basic but we found it to be clean and it had everything we needed. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and gave us some good suggestions as to places to eat and places to see. For dinner we went to the the 'Squid Shack' down at the Emu Point marina..it exceeded all of our expectations. The fish is fresh and tasty and there are wine glasses in the fridge if you take your own bottle of wine. The Emu Point Cafe at the end of Mermaid Avenue is great for breakfast and the 'Hangover' breakfast will fill even the biggest of appetites.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Manager at Emu Point Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Looks like you had an enjoyable time down here - that's great.
Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
4.0 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Avenue Holiday Units
3.9 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
3.3 mi away
Dog Rock Motel
Dog Rock Motel
#8 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
3.8 mi away
Banksia Gardens Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emu Point Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emu Point Motel & Apartments

Address: Corner Medcalf and Mermaid Avenue | Emu Point, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emu Point Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emu Point Motel is situated in a lovely quiet area, 200metres from the beach, cycle paths and walkways very close by. Just a short drive to Albany city centre. All our apartments have fully equipped kitchens including Microwave ,Large fridge/freezer, 40'Digital TVs, WIFI , En suite bathrooms, hairdryers and Free Private parking and all rooms have Reverse Cycle Airconditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Emu Point Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emu Point Motel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.