We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ivy on York

The Ivy on York
135 York Street, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
+61 98414626
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 89 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: French, International, Pub, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Ivy on York is fully licensed. Great food and a relaxed atmosphere.Good for groups. We serve gluten free food.
Wyndham, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Had a great dinner. The poor waitress spilt champagne all over me and was mortified but it was quickly sorted. Thanks for the dinner we will never forget. Food was great too

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    2
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Salad and chips with everything”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

While the decor and staff are great, the menu needs a fair bit of work before I'd come back. It seemed everything came with chips and the same salad. My steak, though well cooked, came with the same salad as my partner's chicken salad (without the chicken of course). A little work this place will be good.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin M, Owner at The Ivy on York, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We have only recently bought this place and the staff where still finding your feet. You will be pleased to know that our new menu was implemented last week, with different options as sides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“different ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Went here for lunch VERY SMALL and simply menu. Food was ok but have had better. Very chatty waitresses. Wouldn't be back in a hurry

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin M, Owner at The Ivy on York, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We only recently bought the place. The staff where finding their feet. You might be interested to know that the new (longer) menu was launched last week. Thanks for being candid. It stings, but there you are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent service with good food and a quirky atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent night out in Albany. We had dinner with friends and we were blown away by the service. Being wine snobs we were amazed and extremely impressed by our waiter Reece who had a great knowledge of wine and wine service - which is very important for us! Food was great and we loved the quirky atmosphere. Great place for a casual meal while on holidays :-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
“best meal in wa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great service and first class food. The best oysters Kilpatrick that I have ever had. If your in Albany you need to go to this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ivy on York also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to The Ivy on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ivy on York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.